We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #273 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Value”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Been here several times. Hotel s clean and comfortable. Staff has been nice. WIFI and computers in the business centr are terrible ~ I am told they are being upgraded. I. Was told that six months ago also. We'll see. Bath is clean and modern, but small. HAVE TO PUT SOAP ON COUNTER~no soap dish! YUCK! "Closet" is small and cumbersome - truly laughable design. If not for these fixable annoyances I could up the rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear JohnC33,

Thank you for writing a candid review following your recent stay. We thank you for your loyalty to our hotel, and acknowledging the service of our staff is a huge motivation for us. We are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities, therefore, it is very troubling to read that our bathroom amenities and business center fell below your expectations.

We will address these matters with the respective departments in order to these unnecessary issues in the future. We do hope you would consider staying with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    915
    316
    74
    61
See reviews for
637
538
136
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel is quite nice, very helpful staff, clean, nice size rooms, great breakfast in a crowded hall, great location between the 7th and 8th avenues (for busses) and one block from the underground (line 1). Relative to hotel price in midtown, this one charges reasonably, especially for what one gets. Highly recommended for middle class visitors.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mookie09_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you Mookie!
We're very happy to hear that you found us to be a value in NYC. We're very proud of our location and our complimentary breakfast. Thank you for mentioning our staff and our cleanliness.
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
gary.desoiza@hhmlp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Overall the hotel isn't that bad. It was clean, the staff was very helpful and friendly, close to Penn Station and downtown, and the breakfast was great. I guess I was taken back by the size of the room and the final cost to stay. I'm not one for staying in a big city and should have known that everything was going to cost way more than I'm used to. I'm very faithful, when I can be, to the IHG hotels because I can always expect quality. I just feel that this was a little too expensive even for being in Manhattan.
One major disappointment was that one of the 2 elevators was out of commission during our stay. It was a little challenging at times to get through the line to the tiny elevator that worked. Not sure if I would come back to this hotel simply because it wasn't a good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSUfan158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear PSUfan158,

Thank you for writing a review about our property. It is nice to know that our location is convenient during your stay here. We are also glad you liked the cleanliness of the hotel, the friendly staff, and the complimentary breakfast. We are very sorry for the inconvenience regarding the elevator. As for the rates, our prices may change based on the dates, and can be competitive in this area.

As a valued guest, please be assured that all comments will be acted upon, to ensure that similar situations are avoided. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more pleasurable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Me and my 2 friends stayed here for 6 nights from the 1st week of June and we thoroughly enjoyed the stay. I was skeptical as normally I stay in the more expensive hotels in NYC but I was surprisingly taken aback with this hotel. It was located in a quiet surrounding alas some noise to remind you your in NYC but that was calming for me. My room looked out to Empire State Building so I slept with an amazing view . The staff were absolutely great! So polite, so caring and so charming! Franky, Yenny, Anais, Indira, Shelly and Victor were so accommodating and made us feel so welcome. Thank you guys !! Will definitely stay here again and everything was within walking distance including the subway and Macys! Fab restaurants within walking distance ! Coffee, tea on tap which was so good as often I ended my day with tea and sitting outside watching NYC go by. Breakfast was very good and fulfilling , lots of choices , the only thing was that it was very busy and often little space for all to eat in, but we would take our breakfast outside and relax before starting our day.

They allowed us to check out a little later as we overran and they allowed us to store our luggage there til we left for the airport on the day for an evening flight . They left us cute teddies made out of pillows which was so cute !

I've recommended this to many of my friends as it's not often you find a good value hotel Central in NYC with clean rooms, comfy beds and pillows and amazing staff in a brilliant location .

Thank you guys !!!! You made our trip even more great!

Room Tip: If you don't ask, you don't get !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you Princess B!
We really appreciate you taking the time to review our property and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your recommendation and especially happy to hear that our staff impressed you. We will share your comments with everyone that you mentioned in your review. We're happy to hear that you will visit us again.
Sincerely,
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
gary.desoiza@hhmlp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
565 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

It was conveniently located just doors away from where I was working. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are nice and clean. The breakfast is very good, though a bit crowded with not enough seats at times. It is a great value compared to other NYC hotels. Easy walk to Penn Station and many stores nearby. I would definitely stay here next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you Stewart!
It's great to hear that we're in such close proximity to your work. We're pleased that you found our location so desirable, enjoyed breakfast and found comfort in our rooms.
We hope that you will choose to stay with us again; when you return to NYC.
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hethersett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
413 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Alighted on this hotel by chance really and pleasantly surprised. Arrived at 1300 but room with Jacuzzi not available until 1600 not a problem with Marys very close at hand. The room was very clean and was kept so throughout our 3 night stay. Bed was extremely comfortable and the pillows a dream, and our room 513 faced the back and was quieter than home and we live in the country. The jacuzzi was a bit weird as it's basically a air injected large bath that can also be accessed by sliding glass doors from the bedroom. Annoying if wife is in Bath getting massaged and you're trying to watch football, however after tramping the streets all day we both had a massaging bath before bed and it really did help those calf and leg muscles. Just off 7th avenue the hotel is not far from times Square and mad is on square. The breakfast has everything you need from toast and bagels to a pancake maker, porridge oats, omelette and sausages to lots of cakes and yoghurt and fruit. Coffee us also available 24/7 for free so never had to use the percolator in the room. Loads of eateries nearby and all very reasonable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jezz c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you Jezz!
I'm sorry that you had to wait for the Jacuzzi room, but it sounds like you made the best of it. It sounds like you enjoyed our new bedding upgrade. It's great to hear the reaction of the new and larger pillows that we've just placed in our guest rooms.
It sounds like you had a great stay.
Please consider staying with us next time you visit the states and NYC.
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Staff, Tenille, Shelly and Indira were fantastic as I checked in at the hotel. Indira worked so hard to accommodate my family and I that I will absolutely stay at this hotel again. I've never had a bad experience at a holiday inn express and this time was no different!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you Mike!
It's great to hear that you include us in the great experiences you've had with Holiday Inn Express. I'm please to share with you that our associates are rewarded whenever a they connect with our guests and get mentioned in social media.
We hope you find your way back to NYC in the near future and choose to stay with us again.
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#165 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#330 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#123 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#154 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#191 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Green Hotel in New York City
#147 Business Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#195 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our hotel is a new 15 story high-rise hotel with amenities to include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing