We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #259 of 473 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for a one night stop over, and were very pleased. A good nights sleep with quiet A/C, the room was very modern and fresh, breakfast was good (though very busy) and very close to amenities and Penn Station.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Would recommend for short stay overs but as the rooms are quite small not for long holidays.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you Andy!
I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed breakfast slept well. We've just upgraded our bedding and have added some new products (Greek Yogurt, Turkey Sausage, Gluten Free Bread). So It's rewarding to hear your feedback. Thank you for complimenting our staff. We all try very hard to give you a great hotel experience and make it easy to enjoy NYC.
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

585 - 591 of 2,105 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Many thanks to Shelly,Sheila, Anais, Indira, and Rapheal. We felt very welcomed when we arrived, and enjoyed staying here. They were always quick to help and guide us to our destinations. Wonderful staff!

Room Tip: Close to Penn Station. Nice patio in front of the hotel. Quick check in and check out. Location al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TRACEY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank You Tracy!
It's alway great to hear the names of our associates in reviews. Our staff is very dedicated to providing a great guest experience and they're genuinely caring people.
It was very nice of you to take the time to mention them. I will make sure they are advised.
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights during the week. It was located close to Penn station so we only had a block and a half walk with our bags. The staff was very welcoming and found rooms close together for us. ( we were 4 people, 2 rooms) The complimentary breakfast was wonderful and generous. The rooms were small though, but we just chalked it up to being New York. The rooms were comfortable however. We would definitely stay there again on our next trip to the city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank doliva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you Doliva!
We're very pleased to hear that you will "definitely" stay with us again.
We're happy that you enjoyed breakfast and our proximity to Penn Station.
Please feel free to contact me personally, when you plan to return to NYC. Boston is not that far away.
Gary Desoiza, General Manager
gary.desoiza@hhmlp.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The staff was very friendly and courtious. Ms. Indira was the front desk agent who greeted us. All I can say is, she was very helpfull and kind. There were so many people in the lobby trying to check in and the staff was great. Other than the rooms being small it was quite cozy. My family and I will definately stay there again if we get the chance. Parking was not far from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for the 5 star review Ed B!
Indira is fantastic! and we're glad that you found the staff friendly and courteous. Many guests are surprised at the size of typical NYC guest rooms. It's a good thing that there is so much to do to tire everyone out.
Please consider staying with us again in the future
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
gary.desoiza@hhmlp.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I chose this hotel because it was affordable and located near Penn Station. Its also a block from a subway stop which makes it rather convenient to many locations (same line gets you to the 911 Museum, Times Square, and Central Park). Its not very far from the Empire State Building too, as well as my new favorite spot in the city, the High Line. The hotel rooms, though small, were well appointed, and the location was relatively quiet (I enjoyed a sound sleep both nights I stayed). The biggest surprise was the quality of the breakfast included; I was expecting continental but they went above that. This hotel definitely provided a great start and finish to a busy day of sight-seeing and entertainment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you Brian!
I can tell that you did your research, because you got got exactly what you wanted and we're still pleasantly surprised.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again. Please feel free to contact me when you do.
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
gary.desoiza@hhmlp.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We visited NYC on a family holiday ( kids were 9 & 11) and stayed for 6 night s at the hotel in room 1210 from 10- 16th June. The hotel is located close to Penn station and within walking distance from major Manhattan attractions. The staff at the front desk are polite and eager to help. The complimentary breakfast service is awesome with a very good variety of choice. The 24 hour complimentary coffee and tea service at the reception area is also nice. The size of the room and bathroom is small but keeping in mind city location its acceptable. Cleanliness of the room and bathroom is satisfactory however the furniture is a tad old and the hotel could think of replacing some of the drawers. The selection of TV channels is also nice with channels for kids being included. The A/c worked just fine and the internet was also satisfactory however a faster speed would be welcome. Overall i have no complaints and would definitely recommend this hotel for family holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hgoradia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you so much for you review.
We've just recently upgraded our internet service. I will double check the access point near the guest room you stayed in and also take a closer look at the furniture. Perhaps there was a repair that was overlooked during our inspection.
We love when families enjoy themselves and when our guests use terms like awesome.
Please contact me if there is anything I can do for you in the future
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
gary.desoiza@hhmlp.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel has a great location the rooms were very clean offering free breakfast.The staff was friendly and helpful. The lobby and the staff was very welcoming. Parking was also reasonable for hotel guest.

Room Tip: Room was an excellent value of Saturday and Sunday nights. The only thing I was not satisfied with w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you maze916!
I really glad that you enjoyed almost everything about the hotel. I apologize about the crowds at breakfast and the elevator crowding. We encourage most of our guests to beat the crowds, get and early start on the day and enjoy our front and back patios (when weather permits).
I hope that you will consider us again when you come to "the city".
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
gary.desoiza@hhmlp.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#288 of 473 in New York City
2,234 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#202 of 473 in New York City
1,222 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#335 of 473 in New York City
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#368 of 473 in New York City
536 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#113 of 473 in New York City
1,481 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Green Hotel in New York City
#93 Family Hotel in New York City
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
#177 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £87 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our recently refreshed 15-story high-rise hotel with amenities include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing