We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in good location on Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #264 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel in good location on Manhattan”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Family of four stayed for a week early July and were very happy with the hotel. The two youngsters had a separate room across the corridor from the adults. The rooms were nice and clean. Excellent staff that helped us with everything we needed. They also kept the environment clean and tidy. Breakfast included a wide range of good food, however in "Express" style (disposable tableware and no room service). That's all right by us. The location on 29th Street between 7 and 8 avenue is great for exploring Manhattan - walking distance to Empire State, Macy's, Madison Sq Garden, Penn station and Highline. Taking into consideration that all hotels on Manhattan are expensive, we feel that this hotel is reasonable priced compared to what you get at other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbrtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank You mbrtraveller!
It sounds like your family had a great time! We try really hard at the hotel to be sensitive to our environment in areas like donating recycled soap products, using energy efficient lighting and thermostats, reducing unneccesary laundering and recycling. Regrettably, the "Express" brand still requires us to use disposable utensils; as most pantrys are not equipped with the proper equipment to wash and dry the volume of tableware that our properties require in a 4 hour breakfast period.
In any case, we're really glad you enjoyed yourselves.
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
gary.desoiza@hhmlp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    940
    321
    76
    61
See reviews for
656
548
140
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for a one night stop over, and were very pleased. A good nights sleep with quiet A/C, the room was very modern and fresh, breakfast was good (though very busy) and very close to amenities and Penn Station.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Would recommend for short stay overs but as the rooms are quite small not for long holidays.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you Andy!
I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed breakfast slept well. We've just upgraded our bedding and have added some new products (Greek Yogurt, Turkey Sausage, Gluten Free Bread). So It's rewarding to hear your feedback. Thank you for complimenting our staff. We all try very hard to give you a great hotel experience and make it easy to enjoy NYC.
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Many thanks to Shelly,Sheila, Anais, Indira, and Rapheal. We felt very welcomed when we arrived, and enjoyed staying here. They were always quick to help and guide us to our destinations. Wonderful staff!

Room Tip: Close to Penn Station. Nice patio in front of the hotel. Quick check in and check out. Location al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRACEY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank You Tracy!
It's alway great to hear the names of our associates in reviews. Our staff is very dedicated to providing a great guest experience and they're genuinely caring people.
It was very nice of you to take the time to mention them. I will make sure they are advised.
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights during the week. It was located close to Penn station so we only had a block and a half walk with our bags. The staff was very welcoming and found rooms close together for us. ( we were 4 people, 2 rooms) The complimentary breakfast was wonderful and generous. The rooms were small though, but we just chalked it up to being New York. The rooms were comfortable however. We would definitely stay there again on our next trip to the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doliva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you Doliva!
We're very pleased to hear that you will "definitely" stay with us again.
We're happy that you enjoyed breakfast and our proximity to Penn Station.
Please feel free to contact me personally, when you plan to return to NYC. Boston is not that far away.
Gary Desoiza, General Manager
gary.desoiza@hhmlp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The staff was very friendly and courtious. Ms. Indira was the front desk agent who greeted us. All I can say is, she was very helpfull and kind. There were so many people in the lobby trying to check in and the staff was great. Other than the rooms being small it was quite cozy. My family and I will definately stay there again if we get the chance. Parking was not far from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for the 5 star review Ed B!
Indira is fantastic! and we're glad that you found the staff friendly and courteous. Many guests are surprised at the size of typical NYC guest rooms. It's a good thing that there is so much to do to tire everyone out.
Please consider staying with us again in the future
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
gary.desoiza@hhmlp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, MI
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I chose this hotel because it was affordable and located near Penn Station. Its also a block from a subway stop which makes it rather convenient to many locations (same line gets you to the 911 Museum, Times Square, and Central Park). Its not very far from the Empire State Building too, as well as my new favorite spot in the city, the High Line. The hotel rooms, though small, were well appointed, and the location was relatively quiet (I enjoyed a sound sleep both nights I stayed). The biggest surprise was the quality of the breakfast included; I was expecting continental but they went above that. This hotel definitely provided a great start and finish to a busy day of sight-seeing and entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you Brian!
I can tell that you did your research, because you got got exactly what you wanted and we're still pleasantly surprised.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again. Please feel free to contact me when you do.
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
gary.desoiza@hhmlp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We visited NYC on a family holiday ( kids were 9 & 11) and stayed for 6 night s at the hotel in room 1210 from 10- 16th June. The hotel is located close to Penn station and within walking distance from major Manhattan attractions. The staff at the front desk are polite and eager to help. The complimentary breakfast service is awesome with a very good variety of choice. The 24 hour complimentary coffee and tea service at the reception area is also nice. The size of the room and bathroom is small but keeping in mind city location its acceptable. Cleanliness of the room and bathroom is satisfactory however the furniture is a tad old and the hotel could think of replacing some of the drawers. The selection of TV channels is also nice with channels for kids being included. The A/c worked just fine and the internet was also satisfactory however a faster speed would be welcome. Overall i have no complaints and would definitely recommend this hotel for family holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hgoradia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you so much for you review.
We've just recently upgraded our internet service. I will double check the access point near the guest room you stayed in and also take a closer look at the furniture. Perhaps there was a repair that was overlooked during our inspection.
We love when families enjoy themselves and when our guests use terms like awesome.
Please contact me if there is anything I can do for you in the future
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
gary.desoiza@hhmlp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#158 of 466 in New York City
1,939 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#330 of 466 in New York City
1,304 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#168 of 466 in New York City
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#113 of 466 in New York City
846 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#119 of 466 in New York City
1,341 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#291 of 466 in New York City
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Green Hotel in New York City
#143 Business Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#190 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our recently refreshed 15-story high-rise hotel with amenities include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing