We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome hotel to stay at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #259 of 473 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 June 2009

my friend and i were going to nyc for spring break and didn't book our hotel until literally right before we left. it was more than we wanted to pay for a hotel, but we decided in the end that it was worth it. our room was very clean, there was a complimentary breakfast in the morning that was kindof crowded but had a nice selection. the employees were friendly, and they had hot tea and coffee in the lobby all hours of the day. it is also very conveniently located with tons of attractions and penn station nearby if you want to commute further. would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to nyc!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leynaleynaleyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,283 - 1,289 of 2,106 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2009

This hotel is conveniently located and only 2 blocks from the subway. We never felt unsafe walking back to the hotel from the subway because the area is vibrant. This is a newly built structure so everything is modern and clean. We got an excellent rate and we stayed for 4 nights. The first night was a disappointment because the room was near the stairway and all night the doors open & shut which kept us awake. We asked to have the room changed the next morning and Indira(?) at the front desk was kind enough to arrange for us. We had no noise problem with the new room and we slept very well on a comfortable king bed. A decent hot and cold continental breakfast was included but at times the dinning area is crowded -maybe because of March Break? All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timbuk2Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

We found this a good value hotel and a great location for exploring New York. The rooms are small but when you are in a city like this you spend very little time in your room anyway. That said they are clean and the bed is comfortable. The only complaint we would have is breakfast. While there was a good selection to choose form the breakfast room was just to small for the amount of people there and it became a bit chaotic there.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paudbrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Nothing outstanding about the rooms, small but the location, value, breakfast, NYC....all made it a great choice.
The staff are top notch, some of the best I have met.
Location is everything here and you are right in mid town Manhattan, two blocks from the Garden. Great Breakfast too!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John200102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Excellent location
Very quiet room, nice beds,but as mentionned in previous posts,a bit too small for a family of 4..
Good Housekeeping
Cool bathroom with tub, but very bad hairdryer
Nice and helpful staff
Great breakfast, but be down there before 8 AM, otherwise, you will have to stand in line and queue for a while until a table gets available...

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2009

We paid $110 USD a night for 9 nights and found the hotel to be great. It was about a 2/3 minute walk to 28th street subway which was 2 stops to time square. Hotel room was very small which is expected for New York. Very quiet street which was good as halfway between 7th and 8th avenue. Free breakfast was good but got very crowded best to head down early. Breakfast consisted of hot cinnamon rolls, bagels, muffins, coffee, juice, cereal, fruit, yoghurt. Small but good gym which had 2 x treadmills, 1 x bike and free weights. 3 x computers offering free internet.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank essendon2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

Good hotel near Madison Square Garden, Penn Station and all kind of places.
Greate room, greate people that work in the hotel.
It could be small for more than 4 people with lot of baggae.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josean_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#288 of 473 in New York City
2,235 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#202 of 473 in New York City
1,228 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#335 of 473 in New York City
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#368 of 473 in New York City
536 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#113 of 473 in New York City
1,483 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Green Hotel in New York City
#93 Family Hotel in New York City
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
#177 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £87 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our recently refreshed 15-story high-rise hotel with amenities include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing