We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All in one, what you can ask for in NYC for a good price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #272 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
PR
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“All in one, what you can ask for in NYC for a good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

Excellent hotel. Good price and includes breakfast, which is enought for starting your day. The rooms are big, clean and comfortable. The service is great. They easily helped me change my room from a king to a double bed and gave me great service on a couple of occasions. They have wireless service and a computer on the lobby and coffee on the lobby 24/7. The location is great because it is really close to 2 train stations which is all that you need on NYC.
On my stay on NYC i also stayed on Hilton Garden Inn and here. I have to say that Hilton Garden Inn (times square) is very centrally located and the room is big and luxurious but you have to pay for it. Even with a great deal I got I payed more for the hilton than this hotel and without breakfast or anything, so I think this one is a good deal

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PR_Young_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    903
    306
    72
    61
See reviews for
625
531
133
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

I stayed at this hotel with my friends over the Christmas holiday. I booked it on hotwire and I was skeptical. After reading many reviews on this site and going there myself, I am happy to say that I enjoyed my stay there!!! The room is SMALL. check out the pictures that they provide on the site. The staff was great and polite. We got free breakfast for each night we stayed and they have water and tea for us in the pantry. We also came in earlier than the check in time. They allowed us to store our bags and we got to walked around the city. Great stay!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lvtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

Had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel is nice and central. A little expensive, but I guess everyone hikes their prices for New Year's.

One note: if you're planning a New Year's visit to New York, TICKETS are required in order to gain entry to any area that can see the ball drop in Times Square. We didn't know this, so celebrated midnight in a restaurant.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gh0ti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

This is a new hotel and it is very nice. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Each morning there is a full continental breakfast and coffee served all day long. The rooms are very nice and housekeeping does a great job.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pookyjen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

Stayed here for 6 nights between Christmas and New Year. Took a taxi to Hotel which took 45 minutes and only cost $55. Check In was very quick (5 mins). Hotel room was fine, good size, king sized bed and large Tv with 30+ channels. Bathroom decent size with bath and shower.
Breakfast was not great. The breakfast items avaliable are very good but there breakfast room is simply too small for a 15+ floor hotel. We arrived the first morning at around 8am and there were no seats. It was stuffy, overcrowded and not great first thing in the morning.
We never had breakfast again - we went to Fresco 2 mins round the block which was very fresh, healthy and cheap.
The service by the staff was great and it was good to be able to leave luggage at the hotel after checkout on our last day.
There are also 3 Pc's in reception which are free for guests to use. Wi-Fi is also free throughout the hotel. It was fast, efficient and was always able to get a connection straight away.
Local phone calls using room phone was also free so great for making restauraunt reservations.
We paid $850 for six nights which is half the price of other places of a similar range located in Manhattan close to times square.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tobietrice86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

Hotel itself is fine, staff are friendly, rooms are a good size, the free Wireless Internet works, etc. Breakfast choice was good, but rather than scrabble to find a table we went down, picked up what we wanted and took it back to our room. Location is a short walk from Penn Station. We didn't want or expect luxury so for us this was just fine. A word of "caution" - avoid any room on the "C" floor near the Gym, we had no choice for 1 night and it was noisy as the Houskeeping is also in that area. They moved us quite happily to the 10th Floor which was much quieter.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinerFan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

I'd ready many positive reviews of this Hotel before booking but was skeptical till I reached. The staff were so efficient, they'd checked me in 60 seconds flat and handed me my room keys. The room is small by Holiday Inn Express generally, but come on... this is Manhattan. The room is very decent sized by Manhattan standards. The location is tow blocks from Madison square and Penn station with lots of nice eateries nearby. What surprised me was the first included breakfast i've had in Manhattan. Generally most hotels in Manhattan don't include breakfast, here it's included by default. Should again add that Free High Speed WiFi is free in this property.
Did not feel like a hotel chain at all, more like cozy mom-n-pop hotel where they really care about you as a guest. Nice...

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bhaviksoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#170 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#334 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#118 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#115 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#156 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#175 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Green Hotel in New York City
#148 Business Hotel in New York City
#183 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#196 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our hotel is a new 15 story high-rise hotel with amenities to include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing