We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VALUE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #259 of 473 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Well located, small but comfortable clean room, large TV, good hot breakfast. All of the many staff that we dealt with were helpful and friendly. Clearly the management here make a point of training staff well. For 99 bucks/ night, what more can you want in Manhattan?

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trisheeOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,233 - 1,239 of 2,106 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2010

Great location right round the corner from Madison Square Gardens. Macy's, Empire State Building, Times Square, Metro are all within easy walking distance. The breakfast was fantastic - juices, toast, hot breakfast, cereals, fruit, great to fill up and then not eat until early evening. Tea and coffee is available all the time. The hotel was good, staff pleasant and helpful. The room sizes were OK considering we were in NYC, we had two queen beds in our room. We found ripped and dirty mattress cover sheets on one of them, which is not very nice. Apart from that we had a great stay there and would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeHappy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We reserved six nights at this hotel because of a special sale on a web site. We checked out after one night and relocated to another hotel. For starters the doorknob to our room had to be jiggled up and down to operate. The room itself smelled of urine, overlooked a very busy street and seemed to have zero soundproofing since we could clearly hear conversations, even distant ones, from the hallway. The bed had a crinkly plastic cover over the mattress which could be felt and heard through the sheet. The desk staff was polite, the breakfast okay, but with so many other hotel options in New York I'd give this place a pass.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mainewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We arrived at 930am, check in was 4pm. They checked us into a room. If a room wasn't available they would have held our bags for us. The next day we checked out and left our bags there. The staff was very accommodating and friendly, not to mention very helpful. I would recommend staying here and will look into this hotel when i return to the city again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTtraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

This was our first time in New-York City and this hotel was the perfect choice. We didn't know what to expect when we first booked but we were extremely happy when we arrived at the hotel. We got an early check-in and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had an awesome view of the empire state building from our room and the hotel was in a perfect location (10 blocks from times square, 2 block from madison square gardens...)! We will definetly be booking at this location again! Great first visit to NYC!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank live_y0ur_life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

this hotel is spacious, free breakfast, clean clean and staff is friendly and helpful. It is not on the prettiest of streets, but 2 blks from Penn, which is why I chose this hotel. Two blocks to the subway #1 line....This was my first time away from midtown and would stay again, tho maybe in the warmer weather,,,,

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillian29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Excellent hotel. Good price and includes breakfast, which is enought for starting your day. The rooms are big, clean and comfortable. The service is great. They easily helped me change my room from a king to a double bed and gave me great service on a couple of occasions. They have wireless service and a computer on the lobby and coffee on the lobby 24/7. The location is great because it is really close to 2 train stations which is all that you need on NYC.
On my stay on NYC i also stayed on Hilton Garden Inn and here. I have to say that Hilton Garden Inn (times square) is very centrally located and the room is big and luxurious but you have to pay for it. Even with a great deal I got I payed more for the hilton than this hotel and without breakfast or anything, so I think this one is a good deal

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PR_Young_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#290 of 473 in New York City
2,238 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#199 of 473 in New York City
1,230 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#335 of 473 in New York City
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#117 of 473 in New York City
1,482 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#369 of 473 in New York City
537 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#211 of 473 in New York City
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Green Hotel in New York City
#93 Family Hotel in New York City
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
#177 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £89 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our recently refreshed 15-story high-rise hotel with amenities include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing