We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for a week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Ranked #172 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Amherst, New York
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Stayed for a week”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband was in town for business, so I spent the most time in the hotel. We had the car valet parked (you have to park in front of the hotel and go inside to let them know that you have a vehicle). The hotel was pricey, but convenient to my husband's place of work. The beds were so comfortable! The mattress inspired us to buy a much firmer mattress than what we have now. Getting the room cleaned was often a challenge as the housekeepers spoke little English, but if you called housekeeping, you could get your room cleaned (or stand awkwardly at the door while it was cleaned when someone finally showed up). Once the room was cleaned, we were good to go. The room has a fridge and microwave, which was nice for leftovers. The location is GREAT! Subway is almost right out the door and connects to several lines, there are also plenty of places to eat close to the hotel. I got a subway map from the front desk. The pamphlet I got also had a local map of the area so I wandered around Chinatown and Little Italy. If the weather was nicer, I would have walked around a lot more. The room also had a coffee maker (the K-cup kind) and I wish I would have known that so I could have brought along some K-cups of my own. The AOA Grill connected to the hotel was convenient for dinner (with reasonably priced meals) with good food. It was a pain to use the elevator as only one was working. It was faster to walk down the stairs rather than wait for the elevator.

Room Tip: The thermostat has a fan function, set it to fan and you have some white noise to block out any &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJ G, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Kristi824,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to rate us on Tripadvisor. We are very delighted with your comments as I have shared them all with our staff. Thank you for sharing your feedback about our Housekeeping Service. Your feedback will help us as we continually work to improve our guest experience. I do hope that you choose us again when you return to NYC. We look forward to serving you again!

All the Best,
PJ Galang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    567
    134
    44
    32
See reviews for
439
368
89
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown CT, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The room is quite decent, the location excellent, and the staff is polite. However, one of the elevators was not working, the other had to be shared with the staff, and they did not clean the room until almost 7pm. Normally there are a plastic on the door nob informing the staff, "Yes you can clean now" or "No, let us rest." There was only the latter on both sides. The location is great but the management is not up to par.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJ G, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Ronald,

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize for our missteps in service and amenities. We will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience moving forward and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town and let us know how we are doing.

Thank you,
PJ Galang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have seen other people complain about the elevator for months and this is still not working. I do hope this is fixed soon as the waits for the elevator do take some time. Loved the location, very close to Soho with great shopping and restaurants. The subway is right next to the hotel, just a few feet! That could not be anymore convenient. I normally stay at the Hilton Garden Inn on 35th Street in NYC, the Tribeca locations rooms are definitely smaller. Great location and convenient for easy travel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank diachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJ G, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear diachris,

Thank you for your recent review via Tripadvisor. I do appreciate sharing your feedback about our elevators. We working hard to put in back in service the soonest time possible. I'm very glad that despite the small inconvenience, you found the location "great and convenient". We do hope you'll visit us again! We will love to have you back!

All the Best,
PJ Galang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lyme, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This was a great place to stay- very helpful staff. Good resteraunt downstairs and very convenient to get to. Room s might be a bit small- but overall great stay. nice views also and decent food in the surrounding neighborhood- close to Little Italy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank lexjustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJ G, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear lexjustine,

Thank you so much for rating your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn - Tribeca with 5 stars! We are very delighted that you had a great stay during your business trip to NYC! I do hope this gives us first consideration on future visits, may it be for business or leisure. We would love to have you back!

Thank you,
PJ Galang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We arrive on this hotel from France , all the staff was very comprehensive and helpful. if you need something you can ask and they find you an answer ( taxi , nail arts or other extravagant demand ;-) )
The bedroom is very calm but the air conditioner was noisy . The cleaning was doing too late some days , we returned at 5:00 pm one day and we need to find somebody to clean the room . One lift was under maintenance during our trip . But we loved to be on this hotel and we'll return to this one on our next trip in New York ...
The hotel is near Chinatown and Soho and one exit of the subway is at the exit of the hotel

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank wolfynapoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJ G, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear wolfynapoli,

I am pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. Thank you for complimenting our staff. I'm glad that you find them "helpful and comprehensive". I will definitely share this wonderful comment with them. Thank you for also sharing your feedback about our elevator and Housekeeping Service. Your comments will help us as we continually work to improve our guest experience as we look forward to serving you again!

Thank you,
PJ Galang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Our overall experience with this hotel was good. The beds are quite comfortable and the hotel rooms are clean. The location is perfect if you want to stay away from the hustle & bustle of Times Square. There are loads of great restaurants and shopping in the area, including the hotel's restaurant. Parking was $55/day which wasn't too bad compared to other hotels. We had an issue on our first night, too much noise since our room was near the elevator and stairwell. However after complaining the next morning our room was changed and we received complimentary breakfast passes. It was handled perfectly. Overall, we would recommend this hotel and stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Sabrina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is my second time staying at this hotel. I like the location. It's very easy to get to other parts of the city from here. The A,C,E lines are literally right out the front door and another set of lines are 1.5 blocks away.

I stayed here the first time largely because it was a good price and had gotten good reviews on TA and I had a wonderful experience. But this trip things seemed a little different at the hotel. The staff weren't quite as engaging as the first time, albeit still friendly. On my first visit the front desk staff always asked about the day's events, etc and would strike up a conversation if they weren't busy when you came in the front door.

The room rates were up nearly 50% since I last stayed in August 2013.

One of the two elevators wasn't working for the entire 3 days I stayed and the elevators are slow to begin with so you ended up standing in the lobby for quite a few minutes waiting.

I had trouble finding any breakfast at the hotel or even nearby. I probably didn't search hard enough and didn't bother to ask. I usually found something on my way to my destination anyway. AOA next door had a breakfast buffet of sorts but it was about $16 and I was just looking for a cup of yogurt, a coffee and maybe a waffle i.e. quick and inexpensive. AOA used to have an express area with those sorts of items but it was gone.

And the beds, well they're are still firm as ever. Even after dialing the firmness down to the lowest level I thought they were still fairly firm. Street noise was kind of bad this time too even on the 4th floor. Plus a garbage truck banging the dumpster up & down at 5am didn't make for very pleasant sleep.

And finally housekeeping seemed short staffed. I was periodically needing the room for work calls and my Spanish wasn't good enough to work out my coming & goings well enough to get our schedules aligned. I think I only got service 1 of the 3 days I was there.

Overall I still like this place but the rates seemed similar to a lot of other hotels and for that reason I'll probably try something different on the next trip.

Room Tip: get a room away from the street and away from the elevators/stairs. Noise travels down the halls qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkeye68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#317 of 467 in New York City
1,939 reviews
Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
#295 of 467 in New York City
1,690 reviews
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#242 of 467 in New York City
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 467 in New York City
488 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#170 of 467 in New York City
2,968 reviews
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#179 of 467 in New York City
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Address: 39 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10013-2201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#85 Family Hotel in New York City
#112 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#120 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca located in Manhattan’s vibrant Tribeca neighborhood is home to the famous Tribeca Film Festival and features direct subway access to get you anywhere in Manhattan in minutes. Visitors can walk to some of the city’s finest restaurants featuring some of the world’s top chefs or shop at some of city’s finest boutiques.Guests will enjoy the property’s many amenities including onsite dining at the AOA restaurant, spacious rooms with HD TVs, complimentary WiFi and Garden Sleep System® beds for a relaxing night’s sleep. Business travelers will appreciate the proximity to major corporations in Lower Manhattan in addition to spacious desks in each room with secure remote printing through PrinterOn®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca Hotel New York City
Tribeca Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn Tribeca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing