We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Ranked #185 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel, friendly staff”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Tribeca last February. It was probably one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in! The staff were all very warm and helpful. My room and the hotel overall were immaculate. I had a nice view as well. As it was February (and therefore not a high tourist season), I got an excellent rate under $200 - practically unheard of by NYC standards. It's in a good location but far away from the tourist madness around Times Square. I will definitely stay again on another trip to NYC.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaFleur1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJ G, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear LaFleur1979,

Thank you for rating your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn - Tribeca 5 stars! Thank you for all the positive comments. I have shared all of them with my staff and they were delighted with all of them. We do hope you stay with us again whenever you return to the city. We can't wait to have you back!

Kind Regards,
PJ Galang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    558
    132
    44
    31
See reviews for
423
364
85
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Spotless room with amazingly comfortable beds. Close to subway for easy travel. Walking distance from many attractions and restaurants. Staff was very helpful. Air conditioner helped block out street noise.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rnrncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJ G, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Rnrncan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about the Hilton Garden Inn- Tribeca via Tripadvisor. I'm very happy that you had a great stay. I'm glad that our location was of convenience to you while in NYC. I'm most proud that my staff has been very helpful with your hotel needs during your stay. I do hope that this brings you back to the Hilton Garden Inn - Tribeca in your future visit to NYC. We would love to have you back!

All the Best,
PJ Galang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludwigsburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Overall hotel stay was normal/okay, but several issues during my 3 day stay: - one elevator was out of order (of two), so the waiting time for the remaining one was several minutes in most cases - in the bar/restaurant one loudspeaker was out of order, which resulted in a permanent background drumming noise, not really the best for a quiet breakfast ... - one day the linens were taken off during room cleaning, but without providing new ones. It took 2 efforts/request until this got resolved (after several hours One other item: view from the room was ~ 5 meters looking at another house wall ...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Roland H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJ G, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Roland H,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our property's appointment and amenities and we will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience moving forward. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thank you,
PJ Galang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

my Dad & i Stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks from the 27th December 2013 - 10th January 2014. all i can say is how great this hotel is, great staff, great service, awesome location in nyc, will be wanting to stay here again when i visit new york again

Room Tip: ask for street view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovetoseetheworld81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJ G, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear ilovetoseetheworld81,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again! I'm very happy that you had a lovely stay! I have shared your comments with my staff and they are delighted to have read them. I do appreciate you taking the time out to rate us in Tripadvisor. We cannot wait to have you again for the third time.

All the best,
PJ Galang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel is nicely located in Tribeca, with Canal a street away, Mulberry street 10 min away (walking) and Battery park about a 20 min walk. The best attribute of this hotel was it's staff. Extremely helpful and polite. The rooms were nothing spectacular. A little run down, but still clean. Stayed over for two nights and really no complaints, had a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJ G, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear TheAnthony,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay via Tripadvisor. I'm very happy to hear that our staff made a big difference in your stay. I will definitely share this wonderful feedback with them to inspire them to work harder and better! I do hope that this brings you back to our property on your next vist to NYC! We would love to serve you again!

All the best,
PJ Galang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a clean, comfortable hotel located in one of the most desirable locations in America - right in the middle of Tribeca, at a convenient and pleasant spot in New York. This sort of location should demand a premium rate, and it does. But premium rates also require premium input from the property owners. In this case, it means staff and infrastructure. This hotel is bright and clean, but it lacks staff. It is the Hampton Inn model, with fewer staff asking more of guests, who, in return, should get a discounted price.

But the price here is in no way discounted. Instead, it is consistently at the high end of the range, making it at least as expensive as Hilton brands with ample desk staff, engineers, housekeeping and bell personnel that this hotel sorely lacks. $400+ per night rates are more the exception than the rule. This hotel has a serious infrastructure problem. Only two elevators serve the entire hotel and there is no service elevator, which means guests share the elevators with housekeeping and service, which virtually doubles their load. This leads to incredible wait times at elevators as cars meticulously stop at every floor on the way up and down. When one elevator is out of service, as it was during my stay, a simple trip up to and down from the lobby is a minimum investment of 20 minutes. Nothing is posted informing guests of this issue, it must be deduced. If a hotel were undergoing a major renovation that severely inconvenienced guests, the ordinary thing to do is announce it on the frontpage of the website, inform travelers in advance, and discount rooms accordingly during renovation. But in the case of this hotel, it seems simply to hope no one notices.

Housekeeping goes on all day, thankfully, but without service elevators, housekeeping is evident all day. Trash bags line the hallways. Service carts block halls on each floor all day and into the night. Loud radios crackle outside rooms. As mentioned, housekeeping must work hard and use guest elevators which leads to constant stops and trundling of service carts in and out of elevator cars. They do their job - the rooms are clean - but at what price?

Before you book here be sure to ask about the state of the elevators. When one car goes down it is a 50% loos of elevator capacity in a hotel already sorely lacking in such capacity and I promise, will lead to a frustrating stay. Staff are polite and hard working. But what chance do they have at pleasing their customers when the ownership is trying to skirt by without the capital improvements any "premium" hotel desperately needs?

Bottom line: Do not pay a premium for this hotel, it needs to be at a material discount to its peers in this part of New York. Any place would be better at this price. This property simply needs to invest, or else cut prices severely.

Room Tip: Ask for lower floors to mitigate elevator issues.
See more room tips
Green Features: Not evident or relevant. The hotel's job is to serve its customers, not use the environment as an excuse to cut corners.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJ G, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Tim B,

We greatly apologize for the unnecessary frustrations you experienced. Our goal is to meet and exceed every guests' expectations and we are terribly sorry we failed to do so on your visit. We would love the chance to further discuss your stay. Please feel free to reach out to us at your earliest convenience.

Kind Regards,
PJ Galang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Great stay. Got a great deal online, and spent 8 nights here. Great location. The Subway is 25 feet from the door. Short walks to World Trade Center, The Financial District, Soho, Little Italy, Chinatown, and Greenwich. The staff were all very friendly. We were early for check-in (by about 3 hours), but they got us in a room right away! Our desk clerk at check-in (Kevin) was very nice and made us feel very welcome. He suggested a few places to see in the neighborhood that I may be interested in (I asked him about live music venues).

The elevator to the room took a while, as they are operating on one elevator only (the other one is broken... apparently for some time), but when we did get to our room, we were very pleased. Although we didn't have much of a view, we did have a spacious room (by NY standards). Had a fridge, a king bed, and a reasonably spacious bathroom. Room was clean, bed was comfortable.

Restaurant was empty when we had our complimentary breakfast. It was okay, but probably not something I'd pay for (at $16.95/pp). Again, the waitress was very friendly and accommodating.

Not sure about the fitness center. Around 6 machines, weights and bench, and a couple of floor mat spots. On one hand, the equipment all worked great, and was very clean. Love that.. No ventilation or fans. Overheated pretty quickly! Didn't like that so much. A couple of fans in that space could go a long way. Did enjoy having the opportunity to work out just the same.

The staff (from the restaurant to the front desk, to the housekeepers), were all very friendly and helpful! I really liked this hotel and would recommend this spot to anyone travelling to NY and wanting to stay somewhere with easy access to everywhere. Thanks to the staff/management!!

Room Tip: Low floor if the elevator isn't fixed (I took the stairs a lot), View?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caltoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJ G, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear caltoth,

I'm very glad to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn - Tribeca. Thank you very much for the very nice and detailed comments written via Tripadvisor. I will make sure to share them all with our staff. We do hope that you stay with us again when you return to NYC. We would love to have you back!

All the best,
PJ Galang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#321 of 468 in New York City
1,891 reviews
Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
#298 of 468 in New York City
1,657 reviews
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#141 of 468 in New York City
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 468 in New York City
445 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#165 of 468 in New York City
2,936 reviews
TriBeCa
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
#241 of 468 in New York City
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Address: 39 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10013-2201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#86 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#123 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca located in Manhattan’s vibrant Tribeca neighborhood is home to the famous Tribeca Film Festival and features direct subway access to get you anywhere in Manhattan in minutes. Visitors can walk to some of the city’s finest restaurants featuring some of the world’s top chefs or shop at some of city’s finest boutiques.Guests will enjoy the property’s many amenities including onsite dining at the AOA restaurant, spacious rooms with HD TVs, complimentary WiFi and Garden Sleep System® beds for a relaxing night’s sleep. Business travelers will appreciate the proximity to major corporations in Lower Manhattan in addition to spacious desks in each room with secure remote printing through PrinterOn®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca Hotel New York City
Tribeca Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn Tribeca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing