We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service!!! No exaggeration”
Review of Dave & Buster's

Dave & Buster's
Book In Advance
More Info
US$339.00*
and up
Washington DC to New York Day Trip by Rail
Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service!!! No exaggeration”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I sat with 4 other people in the dining area & the service was the worst I've ever experienced.
The staff was rude, especially the hostess who told us to wait when there were only a few other parties in the room & forgot our silverware when seating us. The table was dirty; food still on the table, chairs & floor. Waited 10 minutes just to order beverages. The waitress never even brought out my WATER, of all things. Waited over 30 minutes for just our apps. Called another waiter over & he claimed our waitress was busy. She had 2 tables! I went to the bathroom & saw her on her phone. Really? Try working in a REAL restaurant having an entire section to yourself with no breaks. Been there, done that. When the bill FINALLY got to us I noticed an ADDED GRATUITY. They claimed that was stated in fine print on the bottom of the menu. No wonder this chick was NOWHERE to be found! Then they have the nerve to put space for a tip! I wrote NA YOU GOOD & walked the [--] out. I made sure to save the receipt with her name on it so I could fill out that survey for her. Never again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DominicanGiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    47
    35
    19
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“fun for kids”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

we live in New York and take the kids there regularly for the games. the food at the restaurant isn't bad, but even on a slow day, there is a long wait for food. i can only imagine what it's like during peak times. we usually had really nice wait staff, with an occasional surly one. i don't mind the 18% mandatory gratuity, but i can see why customers who did not receive appropriate service would be ticked off by it. the game room is great for kids on a rainy or cold day, but i would say go elsewhere for food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tribecamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Poor Service!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I am not even sure I should give this restaurant this high of a rating! We went to this restaurant after 9:30pm on Sunday, August 25th. The problem started immediately upon sitting down (seat was wet). Okay, not a big deal. told the waitress, who immediately got a towel to dry the booth. At this point we are thinking we will have a nice time. WRONG! She disappeared. After about 20 minutes, the manager came over to inquire if the waitress had been to our table. He ended up taking both our drink order and our food order. TOOK FOREVER FOR THE FOOD TO COME TO THE TABLE! WE ALMOST WALKED OUT! We were compensated with two $5 game cards, which I can assure you will not be used anytime soon because we simply do not want to remember how long we had to wait for anything.

Food was very good!

Did not like the fact that an 18% gratuity was added to the check. Quickly paid and left. Waitress didn't deserve a dime and needs other employment.

I am still wondering what she was doing during our visit. Go elsewhere!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
1 review
“Feeling Swindled at Low Budget Place”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

A terrible experience.

A group of us brought a colleague from overseas to experience something different. We sat down for a drink and a bite before gaming. The service was painfully slow.

While we waited for drinks, we saw that the bartender never poured from the name brand liquor we requested (which was sitting at another bartending station). We questioned the wait staff who argued that we received the correct brand. We asked to see the bottle-- which could not be produced. At this point they sent the manager to deal with us who changed the story and said they didn't understand our request. Their fix was to give us another server -- this was it. We were not compensated in any other way.

The games were just so-so. We won 500 tickets on one game and a lower amount of tickets printed. We had to ask for the correct amount. Towards the end of the evening there was a long line to exchange our tickets and the register closed mid-line telling us to come back the next day. We attempted to explain that our colleague was leaving and it wasn't possible to return. The staff was rude, uncaring, and threatened to throw us out when we wouldn't accept this treatment.

We felt swindled and could have used the money for better gaming at home.

We dropped over $300.00 in less than two hours and Dave & Buster's will never see revenue again from this group of five - nor members of our friends/family.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank creccord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Steaks”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We ate dinner at this restaurant. Good service and atmosphere. Try the New York Sirloin served with crispy onion rings and a side of mash. It was a generous serving portion.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dave & Buster's also viewed

 

Been to Dave & Buster's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing