We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bowery Hotel
Ranked #192 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

There is something to be said about a good location and this little gem in the heart of the lower East side is exactly that. The perfect location

We could move around, go shopping, eat out and in and enjoy drinks in the outside bug under roof patio.

Really enjoyed it
Thanks guys

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThabangSkwambane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    132
    28
    5
    18
See reviews for
59
286
72
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We had a week at the Bowery on the recommendation of friends and were not disappointed . The staff were fantastic particularly the team on reception who booked restaurants and trains for us and were extremely accommodating . Our room was large by US standards and the views great . The hotel is near a fire station so many fire trucks on the move with sirens . Not an issue for us but some may find frustrating.For any one exploring New York this is a great base . We walked with ease to the South and shopping galore . Uptown was accessible with ease .Good cafes and restaurants nearby.Would stay again .

Room Tip: We had a cormer room which was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolD538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

An excellent hotel. The staff are amazing, gracious without being subservient or annoying. The suites are amazing, and the DVDs of NYC movies a nice touch for those who have travelled. I will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma201106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Not only is this a truly lovely boutique hotel but more importantly so is the staff - really! I have never been treated with such genuine relaxed hospitality - unaffected and gracious. The rooms are spacious with lovely views and the fitness center is vintage edwardian charm. Drinks or breakfast in the atrium off the lobby is divine.

Room Tip: Definitely book a King on the highest floor available but room 504 was very nice with a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Located on the Bowery in NYC, The Bowery hotel is well located if you plan on spending your time downtown, Soho, LES etc. We stayed here for a night in the winter as we were in town for a show at the Bowery Ballroom (a great venue to see live music). This was most convienient to us and it served its purpose and we paid a fair price ($300 i think). In high season, this hotel could be $400-$500 and not worth it in my opinion. The rooms are quite small and basic (although the shower was great as were the CO Bigelow toiletries) and the overall style of the hotel is sort of shabby chic and is lacking in amenities (good gym, spa etc). The Greenwich hotel in Tribeca is much better and has become our go to place in NYC.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TTTraveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I just had to take a moment to send a review for this awesome hotel. My husband and I just returned from a 3 day trip to NYC (our first ever time going there) and we decided to stay at the Bowery Hotel to get a more 'neighborhood' feel for our trip instead of staying in the Times Square or Midtown Manhattan area. I am so glad we decided to stay here as it was one of the best hotels we have ever been to! When we arrived to the hotel we were early (10:30 AM) so they had no problems stowing our belongings until the room was ready. We booked a queen room and in the comments I requested a corner room with a view as some other viewers had mentioned. An hour later we were contacted to let us know we could check in. We received some helpful assistance in getting our bags to our room and I must say that I was so impressed with our room and my husband was also. The entire hotel decor is very old english library type. Lots of wood, clean lines and colors and very luxurious. Our bathroom was gigantic with a huge sunken tub and rain shower with lots of high-end toiletries. The bathrobes were very nice as was the cute teddy bear that every one has mentioned. Our view was gorgeous and with the floor to ceiling windows we really enjoyed the experience of viewing the city at night and during the day from our room. The turn down service with cookies and bath slippers was a very nice touch too. Also nice is the fact that room service and eating at the neighboring Gemma Restaurant is inclusive on your hotel account. We really appreciated that being there and enjoyed the restaurant immensely. Also nice is the evening drink service on the patio and lobby bar area. This was such a peaceful place to hang out and get an evening happy hour. I have to say that even though all of that was great, the staff themselves were the best part. The gentleman that run the door are very helpful and are always there should you have a question or need assistance. The desk staff are great too, I was able to e-mail my boarding passes for my return flight and within an hour they called me to let me know that they were printed out for me, which was very helpful. Also my husband hurt his back on our last night and one of the room service staff didn't hesitate bringing us a bucket of ice with some bags so he could have an icepack...WOW! All in all we had a wonderful time in NYC and a big part of that was staying at the Bowery Hotel. I know anytime we return to NYC we will stay there.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a corner room, it makes all the difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandoram920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We have 25 yrs of NY concierge experience between us. We now live out of state, but travel to NY for business at least 10 times a year and will not stay anywhere else.
The staff is professional and friendly.
Gemma is their fantastic northern Italian restaurant. The lobby/atrium is perfect for business meetings or delicious cocktails made by true mixologists!
You will not be disappointed..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minervaprod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#197 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#4 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#77 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#120 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Property: The Bowery Hotel
Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003-7138
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#78 Business Hotel in New York City
#137 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#154 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bowery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing