We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best part of New York City.....”
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bowery Hotel
Ranked #80 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Bowery hotel over the past weekend and were overwhelmed by the warm hospitality and cofort provided by the team at the hotel. The staff at the desk could not have been more professional and welcoming.... the room very quaint and perfect for the quiet weekend that we desired... the room service arrived almost before we hung up the phone... our questions anticipated prior to request..... Just so refreshing as compared to the "industrial" feel of the large chains or discount properties. Mario in the lounge area creates a "club" like feel where your membership does indeed have privilege! the chance to meet and interact with others or recluse by the fire is wonderful at any time of the year.... the private terrace under glass is also very welcoming... GEMMA next door serves a great breakfast ... the hotel just has it all and is priced very reasonably. i look forward with great anticipation to my next visit to this urban oasis....

Room Tip: for extended stays request larger room size. it will be provided if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globalnomadMontbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed here last year with my son for 2 nights and we both really enjoyed it.
The location is great , very close to Broadway but just far enough away to escape the madness.
I really loved the decor both in the bar and reception area and also in the rooms.
The only problem that I have with this hotel is that I can't get a room for my next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I had the pleasure of spending 3 nights at the Bowery in June of 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. My room was a standard queen and felt perfect in size. More than enough room for two people. The bath was outstanding. The bedding wonderful. The hotel has a classic, old-world Bohemian style. If you like sleek and modern this isn't your place. However, if you love antiques and a cozy vibe you will be more than pleased with the Bowery. Staff was excellent! The neighborhood it is located in feels safe and is within close walking distance to some of NYC's coolest neighborhoods like the East Village and Soho. It isn't cheap to stay here, but I think the value was outstanding given the fact you are in one of the world's most expensive cities. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterBespoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The Bowery is our favorite place to stay in NY. We have stayed here twice - the first time was for one night while we were moving out of NYC. We instantly fell in love with it and couldn't wait to return to the city to stay here (not to mention that it was much more luxurious and comfortable than our tiny Manhattan apt!). We used to live just a few blocks north on 3rd ave and this was the area where we spent our weekends. It is the perfect location for downtown shopping and east village nightlife. Being near a Whole Foods helps as well. Nota Bene: if you are a first time NY visitor and looking for the disneyfied NY (Times Square, Broadway shows, upper 5th ave), then this might not be the location for you. But if you avoid midtown like the plague, I highly recommend this hotel. We will be staying here again.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank ADSGWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

When our family first discovered The Bowery, it was a gleaming new hotel in a gentrified neighborhood. Now, some of the patina has worn off, but the hotel has stood the test of time and is still a good place to stay. Staff is efficient, friendly, but not too much, and helpful in an of hand New York kind of way. Our room was quiet and kept clean, we even had turn-down service each night, which many hotels in NYC have abandoned.

Room Tip: High floor away from the elevator. Corner king rooms are best, but are taken quickly. Windows actual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband and I only stayed one night at The Bowery Hotel, but it was wonderful. First off, you can walk to some great neighborhoods like NoLita, Soho, and the West Village from here. The hotel itself features a gorgeous opulent antique-style decor and has lush touches in the rooms like oriental carpets, marble sinks, plush bathrobes and slippers, and ipod docking surround stereo systems. Our room was a corner room, which was small in size but seemed large enough with the floor-to-ceiling windows exposed (great views of downtown, too). The bed was very comfortable, and the room was quiet despite the active Bowery bar crowd on the street below at night.

The staff was friendly, helpful and savvy. Everyone from the front desk to the bellhops recommended bars and restaurants with that hard-to-find mix of hipness without snobbiness. If you feel like staying at the hotel bar, though, you'll find it and the adjoining lounge area a great hangout for you and the trendy LES locals. There are few resources for genuine business travelers, and there's no pool or copy center here, but for the visitor who'd like to stay in a cool luxury hotel without staying in the big midtown chain ones, this is a great choice.

I'd recommend this place to everyone visiting New York City. You'll experience the best of lower NYC here, guaranteed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Msphoenixb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

In one word: the best place to stay when in Nyc (ok, I love the city and I love the Bowery, but the hotel is really a wonderful place)

Pros:
- perfect style in every single detail in room (from linen to bath towel)
- location (if you love the Bowery and the East Village near the Lower East Side)
- free wi-fi
- free boarding pass printing
- smiling and easy service
- super customer care (some noise from the A/C, they upgraded us to a suite)

Cons:
- expensive

Room Tip: If you can afford it, ask for Empire State Building view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marco_mazzei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#241 of 473 in New York City
731 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#57 of 473 in New York City
712 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#119 of 473 in New York City
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#90 of 473 in New York City
1,074 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#77 of 473 in New York City
1,059 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#7 of 473 in New York City
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003-7138
Region: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#67 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#77 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £270 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bowery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing