We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Hotel in New York”
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bowery Hotel
Ranked #79 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My review is 18 months old, but felt the need to post my fantastic experience at this hotel.
We stayed here for 3 nights. 1 of which were spent in the corner room and 2 in the suite.
The rooms are very tastefully designed and offer a high luxury feel.
I proposed to my wife their, and the hotel couldn't have been more helpful in helping to arrange everything.
The location is great, the staff are excellent.
This will always be my first choice hotel when staying in New York.

Sam & Anneli Bush

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for a purely fun weekend getaway, and the Bowery Hotel was perfect! The lobby--dark, book-lined, and cozy--was lovely for a drink before starting an evening out (and there are tables reserved for hotel guests). The bar itself gets a bit crowded at night--seems a bit on trend--but it was still a nice place to have a nightcap after the evening out.

The room had spectacular views. The dark wood was cozy, the Bowery bear on the bed charming, and the 1930s vibe was fun. There was a treat waiting for us when we arrived, and at night, a bottle of water and a plate of cookies appear for you. The staff is friendly and had great recommendations on where to go out to eat.

I need to comment on the bathroom: Normally hotel bathtubs gross me out, but the bathtub at the Bowery was so spectacular, I had to indulge with the provided Bigelow bubble bath. The view from the tub was of lower Manhattan and you could really sink into the bath--it's a huge marble tub.

There is a fitness room but we were there for a fun weekend so I didn't even peek in. The wifi was a little slow, but it is free for guests. Plenty of plugs in the room for charging electronics and an iPod docking station as well. There's a list of games you can borrow from the front desk and movies you can watch, but you're in New York, right on the edge of the East Village. Go out and enjoy yourself! You'll be happy you're coming home to sleep at the Bowery Hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbrown68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I enjoyed The Bowery and its contrasting features. The public areas are dark and mysterious while my corner room, although small, was very bright with huge windows.The terrace is a sociable area where food and drinks are available - met some interesting people there.The staff were mainly great and fellow guests were largely young creative types (unlike myself) who brought a vibrant energy to the place.
The Bowery is for those who like something a bit different in a neighbourhood that is in the process of transformation but not quite there yet although there are lots of interesting bars, restaurants and shops nearby.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are light with good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sagittarius_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Bowery Hotel is a relatively new hotel in the hip section of Lower East Side/Bowery.
We celebrated there our wedding anniversary and the staff could not have been nicer.
We loved the bar and the adjacent restaurant Gemma (great food).
Many outstanding restaurants can also be found in the neighborhood (walking distance)
A rare find

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPL936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Not only is this hotel situated right beside where the legendary CBGB used to be, it has the authentic lower East Side vibe to boot. The cozy feel blends cocktail bar with jazz lounge . The rooms are very comfortable and if you have higher floors you'll be in for a treat. The service is exceptional and the food equally amazing. It is also a great place to celebrity spot.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I visited The Bowery Hotel in conjunction with a wedding. The rooms as well as hotel was well appointed and charming. Hotel staff was very courteous. Hotel has a vintage feel, but is only 7 years old.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed 6 nights at The Bowery. We had very clean, spacious bedroom. Staff was very friendly + location is great close to centre. Lovely breakfast. What more you could ask for? Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#239 of 473 in New York City
731 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#62 of 473 in New York City
712 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#117 of 473 in New York City
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#90 of 473 in New York City
1,074 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#76 of 473 in New York City
1,058 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#7 of 473 in New York City
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003-7138
Region: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#66 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#77 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £269 - £521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bowery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing