We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bowery Hotel
Ranked #123 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We love the Bowery Hotel. Above, I wrote "September, 2010" as my date of stay, but I'm not positive that's when I last stayed there. We've slept at the Bowery Hotel about a dozen nights a year for the past several years.

The rooms are beautiful in a stylish, tasteful, timeless way. The sheets are great, the assortment of tiny cookies they leave every night are delicious, the rooms are quiet. Some of the bathrooms have really awesome tubs with views of Lower Manhattan, but they all have wonderful showers and great lighting.

The service here is exactly what we expect from fancy hotels. Every member of the staff has been unfailingly friendly and helpful. Laundry is returned quickly, maid service is incredibly efficient yet invisible, room service is prompt, etc., etc.

We also adore the lounge area. It's true that the cocktails expensive. Of course they are! It's a very popular meeting spot in a 5 star hotel in New York City. Is it actually 5 star? I never pay attention to star numbers. It's certainly a very expensive New York City Hotel, so expect the cost of your cocktails to be representative.

Most weeknights and very late at night, the lounge/bar is elegant, yet super comfortable and relaxing, and the drinks are very good (I once received a disappointing Pimm's Cup, complained, and got an improved one immediately). At other times, the lounge can be crowded and a little crazy.

By the way, we're regular urban Adults who are not terrifically hip and stylish. I mention this because I noticed a few reviewers thought they were being discriminated against for being older or uncool or whatever.

Oh, and for the best coffee in Manhattan, go across the street!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Respilosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2011

This was a great hotel with lovely rooms and very good service!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lugageboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

I've never written a review of any of my many stays at The Bowery Hotel...I think perhaps it was because I didn't want to be responsible for any more visitors...I wanted it all to myself! It is, without question, my favorite hotel in the world. But instead of another glowing review, I write only to respond to those NON-GUESTS who have besmirched the Bowery's good name because they were turned away from the bar or the lobby even though there were seats available. If you are considering staying here, then you should REJOICE about this policy. The hotel lobby and bar are gorgeous--every detail is perfect. I think this is the only hotel lobby that I have ever wanted to actually spend time in, as opposed to rushing out to go eat and drink somewhere else. The first thing I always do after checking in, is to head down to the lobby or the terrace and wind down from my travel. And, every visit, I am overwhelmingly grateful to the hotel for doing their best to ensure that there is always room for me to sit down and enjoy the public areas instead of losing my seat to the hordes of people who would want to hang out there or who want to stalk the celebrity who is just trying to enjoy a quiet pot of tea by the fire. I don't care if the policy seems elitist or snobby. It's merely a policy meant to ensure an inviting atmosphere for those of us who have discovered the best hotel in the world and actually want to enjoy our stay there. THANK YOU, Bowery Hotel, for not turning your gorgeous hotel lobby into just the latest "hot spot" and ruining it for those of us who cherish what you've done with the place.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
7  Thank Garnet_Gyrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

I loved this hotel and the location was perfect. The rooms are very clean and the staff is super friendly. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennrose17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

The scene; A cold December night. The sparsely populated lobby of the Bowery Hotel.
The people; A group of well dressed, well behaved 50 somethings in search of a drink in the opulent, beautiful setting.
The way it went down: Upon arrival, the first 3 of the out of towners are approached by an unsmiling manager who asks if they are guests of the hotel. Upon hearing an answer in the negative, he promptly informs them of the hotel policy not to serve anyone who is not a guest. Eventually offers a table. As 5 more arrive, the manager flies over to them and insists they all move over to a frigid, empty terrace. Once there, they are allowed to sit
in the outermost part which is unlit. Requests to move closer to heat and light in the empty terrace are denied. The policy is again invoked. Feeling unwelcome and offended, the visitors quickly imbibe the $17 dollar drinks and head out. While putting on coats in the lobby, the manager stands by them ensuring that a nearby palm is unharmed.
Postscript: Eight prosperous, potential guests? The Bowery Hotel doesnt need them. Just ask the manager.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
5  Thank viajera59_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Having stayed in Chelsea, Soho, Tribeca, Midtown before we wanted to stay in LES and explore this area. After careful research we chose The Bowery and were NOT disappointed. Everything about this hotel is amazing, starting even before we arrived. The Front desk really took care of us by helping us with reservations, recommendations etc. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a fantastic corner room with a tub and a bottle of champagne greeted us on the table. Throughout our stay (4 days) we enjoyed the restaurant Gemma (really great italien food - do try the polenta fritters and the seared tuna), the bar (excellent service) and more assistance from the hotel staff. The area is amazing, tried a lot of the restaurants nearby: Double Crown/Madame Geneva - spot on, DBGB - great burgers etc...). We are returning to New York every year and will never stay anywhere else. Are already looking forward to our stay in June.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenaCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

I had friends in town from LA who were staying uptown at the Four Seasons. I wanted to introduce them to NY downtown and recommended The Bowery Hotel. So we stopped by after our dinner in SoHo on Saturday night to take a look around and have a drink in the Lobby. The Manager rudely told us that their was no room in the bar (though we saw several empty seating areas available). When questioning him further about the availabilty he became abusive and abruptly walked away. I have never experienced anything like this in my life. Noone should ever frequent this establishment.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Service
8  Thank IleneA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#194 of 469 in New York City
717 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#70 of 469 in New York City
683 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#106 of 469 in New York City
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#118 of 469 in New York City
619 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#89 of 469 in New York City
1,470 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#6 of 469 in New York City
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003-7138
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#78 Business Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#150 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £288 - £548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bowery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing