We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
citizenM New York Times Square
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Soho Grand Hotel(New York City)
US$381
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$364
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$320
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Novotel New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$274
Novotel
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$334
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,585)
Filter reviews
3,585 results
Traveller rating
2,653
745
119
39
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,653
745
119
39
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscitizen mrooftop barrooms are smallfree moviesmood padcontrolled by a tablettimes squareroom controlsnew yorkhuge bedrain showercool hotelliving roomgreat showeramazing hotelperfect locationloved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
2,576 - 2,581 of 3,585 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I spent one night here on May 21 and found the reviews on here to be pretty accurate. Rooms are impeccably clean and small. The bed is designed to fit wall to wall at the window end of the room. The room reminded me of being on a cruise ship, small size sink, great use of space. But comfortable for a single traveller or a couple. There is a drawer under the bed for your suitcase. If you are planning a long stay or if you don't travel lightly, you may consider looking elsewhere.

Our flight home was in the evening and we were very happy to see at check-in that there was an option for a 4pm check out (for about $50). This worked well for us as we had a place to freshen up before heading to the airport after a day in NY. WIthout this checkout would have been 11am and while the hotel offered to store our luggage, we preferred the late checkout option.

Controlling everything in the room through the tablet was neat. We especially liked some of the mood settings (business, party, romance, relax, etc) that automatically adjust the lights, music, etc to suit your selected mood.

The staff were over the top friendly (in a good way). You could not walk through the lobby without a staff member saying hello. It was threatening to rain as we left in the morning for our day in NY and a staff member insisted we take a hotel umbrella---without even asking which room we were in.

The rooftop bar was very nice with some interesting drinks, but we would have liked the option of buying appetizers or a light meal. The staff suggested we could buy something from the lobby (which did have a variety of options) and bring it up. As the rooftop bar is newly opened, perhaps the hotel will look at adding the option to order food.

Given the friendliness of the staff, ideal location, cleanliness of the hotel, and the very reasonable (for NYC) price, we will plan on staying here again for our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

DarrenP

Thank you for sharing your visit with other readers. And thanks for detailing some many things. We have gotten some nice comments about our late checkout policy, which guests can arrange when they check in. We are looking to expand what we offer in our roof top bar. Our space (behind the scenes) is limited and we want to have an offering that is in keeping with what we do...and of course do it well. We will come up with something soon.

Look forward to seeing you back here again.

citizenLance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have stayed a few times at CitizenM Schiphol Airport when passing through. So, I thought, as I was taking my lady to NYC on a surprise trip for her birthday, why not try CitizenM Times Square. So glad we did. The location is excellent, right in the heart of everything, excellent access to theatres, shows, subway, etc etc etc. And the hotel itself? Fabulous - as expected. Ultra modern without being pretentious about it. Welcoming lobby area. Love the self-serve check-in/out procedure. Lots of helpful staff if you need them. Good bar and lounge on lobby level, with outdoor courtyard. In a thoughtful move, for smokers there is a mezzanine level outdoor smoking area - smoke drifts upwards and not down to the lower level. The rooftop bar is also worth a visit. Again, friendly staff plus a great view of the city. The rooms themselves are small - but this is a CitizenM and this is NYC - but larger than those at Schiphol. Basic premise is the same - huge, very comfortable bed with comforter; automated room systems with touch pad control of television, blinds, curtain, temperature, lighting, music, mood lighting; top end Hansgrohe vanity and shower fixtures; Duravit and Geberit toilet system. Fully enclosed shower/toilet unit with privacy curtain - nod to American prudishness I sense. An extremely comfortable room with adequate closet space and under bed storage.

This hotel works and is competitively priced for the area. Will definitely stay here again on out next visit to NYC.

Room Tip: Higher floors quieter of course but even lower floors quite well sound proofed.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger61Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Roger61Texas,

Thanks for sharing your stay with other readers. And thanks for outlining so many of our unique features. Schiphol was our first hotel (2008) and based on feedback from our fans (like you) we have made changes to have an even better experience. New York opened just two months ago and we hope you surprise your wife more often!

I noticed you have reviewed many hotels and appreciate that you considered us among the select group to receive a top rating.

See you back here soon,

citizenLance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Location is great,hotel is new ,prices are workable ,luxury is ok for 4 star hotel,the rooms are very small but we stayed in the corner room which is larger than the others.rooms have great mood lights and the blinds ,which you can control with a tablet .Very modern and clean.You can sleep well,great silence.On the top they have nice roof with great city view.But the greatest thing is the hospitality of the hotel stuff,which you can not buy with your money!!Specially Chris Botte,Max McCartney,Zach McGrath is making your life fun and easy during your visit.It was our wedding anniversary and they send a bottle of wine to our room.It was great gesture from them.They have great experience about the restaurants& bars so you can really enjoy the best trend places with their recommendation.!!We will stay again in this hotel to feel at home!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bigger than the others.Big difference.There is no much hanger for the clothes.Clothing place is small.Ask for more hangers and don't bring so much hanging stuff:))
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sale k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

sale k

Thanks for your review of your experience here. We have a great team and it was wonderful to read that Chris, Max & Zach went above & beyond. A belated happy anniversary from me too!

It was especially nice to read about your feelings of "home". That is a big goal of ours. We even call our lobby "the living room" as is functions more like a giant family room than a traditional hotel lobby.

Hopefully celebrating your anniversary at citizenM will become a family tradition!

citizenLance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

At first I wasn't sure what to make of the CitizenM Hotel. The hotel breaks away from what we consider to be the 'norm'. There is no check in desk. We were greeted warmly by the staff who showed us how to check in using one of the self service machines. Technology is king at this hotel. We would not have fully appreciated what the hotel has to offer if we weren't tech savvy.

You use a self service check in machine which prints out your hotel key, All aspects of your room are controlled by a Samsung tablet. From the television to the mood lighting. The room wasn't big but it was exactly what we needed. At first I did think the room size was a disappointment but what I love about this hotel is that the room is an extension of the bar/lobby area on the ground floor. We didn't spend much time in the room anyway. Instead we spent most of our time on the ground floor sitting on the comfortable sofas enjoying free wi-fi and enjoying everything the bar had to offer. After running around New York, the bar area was the perfect place for respite. We could chat, watch TV and converse with others staying at the hotel.

The staff were very friendly. When they heard my fiance was pregnant they left a gift for us with a special note which welcomed us when we entered the room. The little things make a big difference. By speaking to the staff we could tell they were very happy working at the hotel. It was refreshing to see how proud they were to work for CitizenM.

The cocktails were fantastic. The service was great. The location is brilliant as it located just off the corner of Broadway and 50th. Right by Time Square. Once you walk into the building, you are (figuratively!) transported away from the hustle and bustle of the city streets.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the CitizenM Hotel. Yes it does require a bit of adjusting to initially but it is great to try something different.

If you are social by nature and like technology then this is the hotel for you. You won't find anything else in New York quite like it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Steve M

Thanks for telling us & other readers about your visit. It's ironic that you called us unconventional, which we absolutely are! But that wasn't our goal. We designed an experience that met the needs and priorities of what we see as what today's traveler wants. Check in is a great example. We have found our registration process to be generally quicker than the traditional process. And from all the travelers we meet, they feel the best thing you can do to make check in better is make it faster.

Also appreciate the nice shout out about our staff. They are an enthusiastic group and when you combine them with our design, we think we are on the right track.

Unconventional...that sound good to us.

PS - congratulations, soon to be dad!

citizenLance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel was brand new very clean and has a great location. Hotel had some computer issues everything is wifi based in room so when Internet is down everything is down. Rooms are very small but excellent for a business trip,

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffmartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Jeffmartha,

Thanks for sharing your visit with other readers. Our apologies for the technical issues you experienced. The opening hiccups with our systems have been corrected.

Look forward to seeing you back soon.

citizenLance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews