We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
citizenM New York Times Square
Ranked #23 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Middlebourne, West Virginia
1 review
“It was awesome”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel is sleek, modern, comfortable, and welcoming. I wish I could've taken the pillows home w/ me. They also have free computers, Wi-Fi, and printing if you wish. I was able to Facetime w/ my family while I was away. They are good about giving you directions to places and the pad that comes in the room doesn't just make different color mood light it also controls the blind and curtain, lights around vanity and on ceiling, and television. The housekeeper leaves you 2 mini bottles of Evian which are complimentary every day. They've got a good sense of humor and don't forget to try the little restaurant called PURE really close to Citizen M. Everything's fresh, a wide variety of things to choose from, and the yummiest frozen yogurt smoothies ever! Have a nice trip and enjoy it by not packing too much stuff together unless you don't plan on walking then plan as much as you want! Have a great stay at CitizenM

Room Tip: All rooms are basically the same with an XL King so it could fit 3 skinny adults or 2 of larger size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tush_the_rocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hey tush_the_rocker,

Thanks for letting us and others know your liked citizenM. Love the title of your review as one of our goals is to evoke a response. PURE is a staff favorite as it is only a few doors down and freshness is their creed. Your "room tip" is spot on - the rooms all have the same XL bed and the room sizes are basically the same. See you next time.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,071
    617
    96
    32
    19
See reviews for
358
1,568
245
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Our hotel stay was fantastic. The hotel was really modern and cool but also had a comfortable feel about it. The sofas in the lounge were nice and cozy and a special floor just for going on the computer or go out in the sun. The staff was super friendly and alot of staff working there so there was always someone you could turn to for help. The roof top bar (on the 21st floor) was extra nice you could spend time there inside or outside and the bartenders made us some really nice coctails. Inside the hotel bar you could sit by the fireplace. The breakfast should be complementary though but wasn´t, but was really good. You could sit outside to eat breakfast or inside which we did. Check in and out was super easy. The rooms were small but cozy. The showers were fantastic, loved to have a shower in the rainforest showers. They cleaned the rooms very well but left out one day as we were in the room when they came to clean. And the location is really fantastic right in the middle Manhattan. Doesn´t get more great than that.
Over all the best hotel ever

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigurveigm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi Sigurveigm,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience. Sounds like you had an awesome time while here. Really appreciate the mentions about the staff. There are a lot of "wow" moments in the hotel, but the team is what makes difference!

See you again soon.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gharghur, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Very simplistic, clean and modern boutique hotel in the heart of New York; just off time square, one stop on the underground away we found the location of this modern, clean and crisp hotel very central and very easy to commute to/from. We bought a US$30 for a week of underground travel and didnt need to use any form of other transport.
Staff were extremely helpful, very courteous and very happy/pleased to see their guests. Room was cleaned every day without fail.
The roof top terrace beverages were on the pricey side so i suggest you ask for pricing before you go mad with your order.
There is nothing i can fault about this hotel; they promote it as a simple accommodation which it is however, it is very inviting and ever so relaxing.
Would highly recommend to anyone; will definitely look up CitizenM for next trips.

Room Tip: We were on the 15th Floor. EXCELLENT... Sirens are quite busy in this hectic city, so i'd recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi JCassar,

We really appreciate that you took a moment to share your stay with us and other readers. It seems you enjoyed your experience. The fact the you would recommend us is among the highest praise we can get...thanks.

Hope to see you soon.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel franchise is one of the best I have ever experienced! Every hotel you go, you can expect the same great interactive hotel rooms with a little extra. In New York there was a roof top bar (only for guests) with a great view! The staff is amazing (super friendly, interested and helpful) and check in is always easy.

Room Tip: Every great is great because they are all the same. If you a room above the 2nd floor you will probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevindeBruijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi KevindeBruijn,

Thanks for sharing your experience. Very cool to hear you enjoyed our New York, Times Square hotel as well as the other properties in the citizenM family. New York is a wonderful city but we can't take credit for that! Glad you appreciate that the roof top bar, Cloud Bar, is not open to the general public.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is perfect. Especially if it's your first time in New York and you want to suck up all the lights. You can do that just perfectly at the rooftop bar. The room was clean, there's complimentary water in de mini-bar and best of all; everything in the room could be adjusted to your taste: de lights, de blinds, de artwork, tv and music. All with the tablet in the room. Staff was supernice. New York is expensive and so is this hotel but if you can afford it, I would absolutely recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sladjana1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi (again) Sladjana1977,

It was thoughtful of you to correspond with us directly and through TripAdvisor too. So glad to read how much you enjoyed our hotel. Our favorite thing to read though is when the staff makes an impact..."supernice"...thanks for saying that.

See you back soon!

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Britain, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I checked in Saturday June 7th for one night. The Hotel was very modern and clean in décor.
The staff was very friendly and gracious especially Marco. We spoke at length about the décor of the lobby (living room). It was great to get insight into the design.
In the Evening, I ventured up to the 21st floor Rooftop bar, 2 of the friendliest and funniest bartenders were working. I wish I remembered their names, There was an amazing view of the City and I met some of the friendliest European people also taking in the view and enjoying libations. At check out time, I spoke with a young man from Albania who worked there as well. His name escapes me but I left with a feeling that the staff here completely enjoyed working here and having guests and looked forward to welcoming them back. The bed was huge, comfortable and the tablet with a personalized welcome was excellent. The Gradual wake up option was very cool too, the light went on and a few minutes later sounds of the rainforest wafted through the room, what a wonderful way to wake up. My only 2 complaints: I had to leave and I wish the room included an iron. I look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: I think the rooms are all the same. I stayed on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Eva M,

Enjoyed reading your review thanks. Thanks for mentioning the Ambassadors (that's the job title of the employees you encountered). It's really cool when they get recognized. And we too look forward to seeing you back here!

The rooms are all the same. All the same beds. All the same size. We are building an ironing room on the 19th floor and researching an ironing/board that would work in our room.

See you soon.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Having stayed several times at the CitizenM London Southbank location and thoroughly enjoying our stays, we were anxious to experience the recently opened Times Square, New York location. We were not disappointed in the least. Same great concept as in London with in-room computer tablets which control lights, heating and cooling, blinds, tv etc. Free WiFi and on-demand movies are a real bonus.
Since the hotel has only recently opened, the young staff are still going through some minor teething issues, but their enthusiasm and willingness to provide great service can't be beat. The rooms are what we are used to from our London experience. European style or small and compact but well thought out and just a touch larger than what we had become used ti. The bed while massive (literally wall to wall) and super comfortable may not be to everyone's taste as you have to climb into bed from the front. I am in my mid sixties and it is not difficult for me and I get a great nights sleep. It's a matter of whether or not you have a bit of adventure in your spirit or not. The hotel lobby is designed with that same great CitizenM funky look. Vibrant and full of colour. The lobby bar gets very busy at times and is a great place to meet for cocktails. Speaking of bars, there is also a wonderful roof top bar it you are looking for something a little less lively and the views are outstanding. We spent a great evening watching lightning strikes over the city. Both bars are tended by warm, lively young staff who provide a great experience. The hotel itself is yards from the 50th street subway station and perhaps a block and a half from Times Square proper so there is a bit of a buffer from the madness of Times Square. At no time did we feel we were in an unsafe area. We like to take the airport express bus into town when we are in New York and in the past this has worked out well when staying at other hotels. This time it worked out not so well as the bus drops you off at around 33rd Street and it is a good 20 minute walk up to Times Square. This is the only negative that I can see with CitizenM New York. Otherwise the hotel is a exciting experience with wonderful staff, affordable room rates for New York, clean, quiet and comfortable but compact rooms, good food and drinks and that European feel we really enjoy. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacktarToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi JacktarToronto,

Thank you for taking time from your schedule to share you stay with us and other readers. We continue to train and work with our Ambassador team and agree fully with your assessment. I am confident on your next visit, you will notice their development.

Look forward to seeing you again in New York.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#24 of 466 in New York City
2,377 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#73 of 466 in New York City
384 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 466 in New York City
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 466 in New York City
2,986 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#44 of 466 in New York City
3,525 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM New York Times Square

Property: citizenM New York Times Square
Address: 218 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM New York Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in iconic Times Square, just off the corner of Broadway & 50th, citizenM New York offers 230 boutique rooms in the heart of the theater district. Come for a piece of cultural notoriety and stay for the anti-jet lag rain showers and free Wi-Fi, free movies, hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control every detail of your room, super chic lobby spaces designed as Vitra living rooms, an on-site MENDO library for perusing or purchasing, 24/7 dining and cocktailing at canteenM, a quiet mezzanine terrace, fully-equipped gym and yoga terrace, and the skyline showstopper: an exclusive rooftop bar, cloudbar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing