We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of citizenM New York Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM New York Times Square
Ranked #23 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights, and absolutely loved it! Greeted with a warm welcome as soon as we arrived, the hotel/rooms are extremely modernised, all the room functions are controlled by a hand held device pad, very easy to use. very clean room, more than enough space, comfy bed. as you can expect times square is extremely crowded, right in the heart of it, and within walking distance to everything. did not hear a thing once we was inside the room, so don't be put off because of noise levels. surrounded by restaurants and shops, can be pricey for food, but what city isn't?! overall a fantastic experience, cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: use the computer and printer in the hotel to print of maps of your chosen destination
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthew789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi matthew789,

Very kind of you to take some time to write a review and share it with us and other readers. Especially happy that you enjoyed your citizenM experience. Next year, we will be opening a fantastic new citizenM at Tower Hill in your home town. Hope you get a chance to visit there.

Look forward to seeing you on your next visit to New York.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,821
    556
    90
    30
    15
See reviews for
303
1,388
218
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights Last week, i can honestly say it's a fun and modern hotel within the heart of New York. Located just off times square it makes the perfect place to experience the city that literally never sleeps. The rooms are compact, modern and full of everything you need. All room accessories such as lights, tv and air conditioning are controlled using a small samsung tablet device, which is great and interactive. You can set lights to your desired mood, and change the art work on the walls.

The hotel has a small reading area on the ground floor, a gym, Mac computer suite and rooftop bar. There is bar located on the ground floor with a lounge area to watch tv if you wish and a small canteen. The staff at the hotel are always there to help, they take notice of every guest entering and leaving the hotel, always wishing you a good day in the city.

Location wise you couldn't ask for more, there are theatres and restaurants everywhere and your very close to the Rockefeller centre, central park, 5th avenue, empire sate and many more attractions. There is a subway located just next to the hotel, which will take your direct to downtown, where you will find the ground zero memorial/museum and the statue of liberty ferry port (south ferry).

I would highly recommend this hotel if your looking to be in a busy and fun part of new york!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jade e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi jade e,

Thanks your review. It's important to know how we are doing. So glad you enjoyed your stay. We are very fortunate that not only does our location offer so much, but it is so easy to get to other places from here too. Your recommendation is valued & appreciated. Thanks.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We just spent 4 nights at the Citizen M. From the moment we walked in, we felt comfortable and pleased. The staff were all wonderful whether at the desk, at the breakfast counters or the rooftop bar. I told the waitress I didn't like a lot of liquor in my drink and it was perfect! By the way, we got a voucher for 2 free drinks upon our arrival. The bed was huge and very comfortable. I loved the pouffy duvet and puffy pillows. The room was small but it didn't matter. Location was great! Walking distance to everywhere. Close enough to Times Square to enjoy and far enough to have a quiet sleep. My only "complaints" are that the shelves for our clothes etc. were all open. I would have preferred closed drawers. Also, the only amenities were soap and shampoo. I would have liked some conditioner, body lotion, shower cap and Q-tips. But, we definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again. It is a fun place and the staff were all terrific.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back so it was quiet. The view wasn't great but it didn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi skymark,

Thanks for giving your feedback to us & others about your visit. Sounds like you enjoyed your time here and that's great. Thanks too for the nice compliment about the team.

Look forward to seeing you next trip.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for 6 nights at the hotel. The location is very good with convenient transportation close.
The rooms are small, but very nice and clean and with a good use of the space.
The best is the big and extremely comfortable bed. And the rooms is well sound isolated.
A practical small refrigerator in the room, with fresh water each day.
A nice sky bar during summer.
The price is of course high, but not compared to rest of Manhattan.
Would definitely stay here again if we return to New York.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello H L,

Thanks for your review. Your feedback is so important. Glad you enjoyed your week here and so happy you felt we are a good value. New York is an expensive city. We price ourselves so we can honor our creed of "affordable luxury". As you noted, though the prices are high compared to other destinations, we are generally positioned well (price) compared to our neighboring hotels.

See you back soon

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Firstly good things- Comfortable bed- huge built in bed, lovely big room and lovely big shower.
Great roof top bar although wasted on my husband who is afraid of heights. Bar is quiet as it is residents only.
Great impression as you walk in the Lobby- airy and cool with a mezzanine floor.
Staff were poorly trained and inexperienced. We asked one how far FAO Schwarz, the famous toy shop was as we wanted to pick up some presents for our kids back home- he had no idea what it even was! Husband met the Cocktail Consultant (Mark?!) and he was very knowledgeable and totally helpful- the rest of the staff seemed like children compared to him!
However, if you don't want to be in tourist central and surrounded by crowds and fast food joints and hustlers offering tours etc, don't stay in Times Square! We hated the area and just wanted to be either in Brooklyn or in Chelsea/Tribeca/the West Side the whole time.
It had a feel of a kind of sex hotel overall (not that I have ever stayed in one!). The red and black colour scheme, garish nylon carpets, the anonymous service and the 'mood lighting'. When we clicked on 'Movie' on our mood lighting page on the tablet room controls, the blinds closed and about 8 different porn films came up on the Wall mounted TV- with graphic pictures. We are not prudes in any way, but this wasn't what we expected for our romantic weekend in New York at $780 for 2 nights. We also had breakfast one day- it was GROSS. The frittatas were okay, but the 'Applewood Chicken Sausages' were a complete insult- dry, synthetic and horrible. Overall, this place is like a slightly cooler version of a hostel, not at all budget luxe as billed. We will be returning to NYC in a few months but would rather spend a bit more if necessary and stay somewhere like the Standard in Chelsea or the Wythe in Williamsburg and be in a neighbourhood where we could just walk out and grab a drink or dinner somewhere cool rather than having to Uber or subway everywhere. Incidentally Uber is an amazing way to get round NYC.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMCLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hello Maudey,

Thanks for taking some time to share your experience with us. I am very sorry that you didn't feel comfortable while staying here. We are not a sex hotel. Yes, there is a bit of irreverence in our art & decor and we do tend to poke fun at the hotel industry's norms sometimes. But we never intended to offend and if we did, our apologies.

One of the great things about New York City is that each neighborhood has a particular character. Times Square is busy and bustling with shoppers and theater goers, as well as business people and tourists. Our location on West 50th is a block or two up from the heart of the area. Many guests find our location desirable as you can take advantage of what the area offers, without walking out the door and being inundated. But it is not what everyone wants. We are building a 2nd New York citizenM in the Bowery/Lower East Side and that experience will be influenced by that community.

Maybe you will stop by there if your travels bring you back to the area.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed in the citizenM New York last week and just loved the place. Easy self check-in and check-out, fantastic location, free properly working wifi and a very welcoming atmosphere.
The rooms are great - comfy beds and a nice toy called mood pad. I even got excited about the shower gel as it didn't leave me smelling like an old man's after shave. Quite the opposite actually!
The breakfast was great and even the coffee pretty good. :)
The roof top bar is worth a visit too - watching the sunset there was quite a treat. Just stay clear of the chocolate covered bacon. I know... ;)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NM133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi NM133,

Thanks for your recap of your visit. So nice to read you "love" us...we loved having you stay here! We are experimenting with some new snacks in the roof top bar. Watch for some other interesting treats!

See you on your next trip to NYC.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

thank you citizenM for a great 4 night stay - super sweet staff, free wifi, close to all theatre, great snacks and Most Comfy Beds Evah in the whole land! the kids actually could not get out of bed and slept all day (which was fine by us) - a great trip was had by all. only complaint? the bathroom is kinda weird and made for men - no place to put all my lotions and potions or shave my legs. plus when using the privy i had to ask my husband to stand in the hall - just a little too cozy for my comfort!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeiRow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi LeiRow,

Thanks for letting us and others know about your visit. We appreciate you taking some time to share. As you probably noticed from other reviews, our beds have been popular. Glad your kids liked and hope their enjoyment didn't mean you missed out on the relaxation.

The bathroom is a different concept and sorry to put out your husband.

Look forward to seeing you soon.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,250 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,867 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM New York Times Square

Property: citizenM New York Times Square
Address: 218 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6702
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM New York Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in iconic Times Square, just off the corner of Broadway & 50th, citizenM New York offers 230 boutique rooms in the heart of the theater district. Come for a piece of cultural notoriety and stay for the anti-jet lag rain showers and free Wi-Fi, free movies, hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control every detail of your room, super chic lobby spaces designed as Vitra living rooms, an on-site MENDO library for perusing or purchasing, 24/7 dining and cocktailing at canteenM, a quiet mezzanine terrace, fully-equipped gym and yoga terrace, and the skyline showstopper: an exclusive rooftop bar, cloudbar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your citizenM New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing