We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel I have ever been to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
citizenM New York Times Square
Ranked #21 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best hotel I have ever been to”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I've been to many hotels, some of them much more expensive, but this is the best one:
a. perfect location - midtown, but quite corner. subway 20 meters far.
b. perfect room - small but exactly what you need
c. very modern - everything is free - internet, movies.
d. cool and well designed
and above all the team is amazing, they do everything to help you with a smile. never seen such a team and commitment.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi Nir D,

That was very kind of you to write such a glowing review. Thank you. I am so happy you loved everything. I also appreciate your comments about the team. It is so nice when they get recognized for what they do...it's very motivating!

Look forward to your next visit.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,939
    577
    93
    31
    15
See reviews for
324
1,474
229
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

What a fun place to stay! I went with my friend and our kids and we all loved it for different reasons. The kids truly enjoyed the contemporary style and the cheeky signs, My friend and I liked the outdoor seating in the bar, and we all loved how convenient is the location. The staff is so genuinely friendly and enthusiastic that it was hard to believe we are in NYC. Check in and check out is super easy. Staying at CitizenM definitely improved our vacation experience a lot. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olena51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hello Olena51,

Thank you for your very nice review. I am so pleased to hear that citizenM made your vacation better. The team is focused on your experience and it will be my pleasure to pass along your compliments of their performance. So excited you will choose us again.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on 4/5/2014 as well as 6/14/2014. Both times we were impressed with this hotel. I love their modern artistic decor and lounge areas. The staff is warm and inviting. Check in is quick using their computers and activating your own room key. The rooms are small, enough room for two people max. The bed is comfortable and there's a flat screen right on the wall above the bed. Everything is controlled by a tablet. You can change the color of the bathroom lighting, which I couldn't get enough of;) you can also use the tablet to open the shades, change the channels, cut the lights on and off, listen to music which is convenient. The shower is awesome with good pressure. Our first room had a full mirror and a division between the shower and toilet (room 506). The second room we booked didn't have a full mirror and there wasn't a division between the shower and toilet which made a big difference (room 1903). I would request the room with the full mirror and division. The bar area and outside seating is a big plus. Bartenders were friendly and made some good drinks. The area is perfect, close to everything. I can't say enough great things about this hotel. I appreciate this hotel even more after staying at Lowes Regency on Park Ave in Manhattan due to this hotel being booked. We recommended this hotel to all of our friends and family already! Definitely will be staying here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Yosi212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi Yosi212,

Thanks for sharing your experience(s) with us. We have been open just over 100 days and it's great to have repeat citizens! I was so glad to hear you enjoyed. Of our 230 rooms, there are 4 on the top floors that are slightly different (the building changes shape slightly). Next time you stay, we'll be sure to give your our regular room.

See you then.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

What a great new option in NYC! I was only in town for 2 days and this place was perfect for my needs. It looks exactly as it does in the website pictures. The rooms are small but well-appointed and very comfortable (especially for one person). Plenty of space to store luggage and I appreciated having a mini-fridge in the room. The tablet to control the lights and blinds was really easy to use but there are wall switches if you aren't tech savvy. The location is perfect - close to subway stations and within walking distance to many of the major sights. And the rooftop bar is a great place to relax and take in the city. The staff was so friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veggie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Veggie78,

I really appreciate that you took a moment to share your stay with us. Thank you. It seems like you enjoyed your time very much...great. I see one of your favorite cities is London. We have a citizenM near the Tate Museum and more opening next year at Tower Hill and Shoreditch. Hopefully we will see you back here or one of our sister hotels.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The CitizenM hotel is brand new, cool and high tech! There is no reception but a set of computers with several young guys helping you. Quick, simple, and never an issue. Rooms are well equipped, small but functional and everything is controlled through a tablet, enabling to define your preferences for your room, tv and Internet. Wifi is free. Personnel is always friendly and available. The hotel is very well located. Really a great place to stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Franck92200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Hi Franck92200

Thanks for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed and love the title of your review! I'll be sure to pass along your comments on the team. See you on your next trip to NYC.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

By far, the most incredible space in the city. The Euro style and class shows from walking up to the building, then only gets better. Staff 100% awesome, everyone we met was friendly, smiling, helpful and professional. Breakfast offerings were perhaps the best around for the price, coffee service to die for......do not stay anywhere else if they have rooms. Only open since April, they nailed it!!

Room Tip: Simply does not matter. Very quiet, all rooms have electric shades and blinds, eclectic amenities an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Hey TNC19390,

Thanks for sharing your review and the other comments we shared via email. We are looking forward to your return. PS - I got a note from one of our wine suppliers who was so appreciative to receive your comments. Thanks!

See you next time.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I was in NYC for business and stayed at this hotel. It is only a block from Broadway (Times Square, and Theater district) and in a perfect location if you are going to site see. The rooms are VERY unique with an Ikea feel. Mood lighting, rain shower, samsung tablet to turn on lights, and adjust blinds. The rooftop bar is a great getaway for guests only. The room is very small, so two people would feel cramped but honestly you shouldn't be spending that much time in your room. When I arrived my room was completely made up. The housekeeper had to come in to finish making the bed. Then the first night the tablet wouldn't shut off the picture frame (digital) on the wall. The light was annoying so at 1am I had to call someone to shut it off. They came right away but the technology could be an issue down the line for them. Great security with your room key only allowing you up the elevator. I would probably stay here again because its just got a cool vibe to it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Hello Elaina E,

Thanks for choosing us and taking a moment to share your visit. Glad to hear you liked our location, roof top bar and some of the design features. My apologies for the technology problem and the confusion with housekeeping. We are addressing.

I was pleased to read you'd come back on a future trip. We look forward to it.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,363 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#67 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM New York Times Square

Property: citizenM New York Times Square
Address: 218 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6702
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM New York Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in iconic Times Square, just off the corner of Broadway & 50th, citizenM New York offers 230 boutique rooms in the heart of the theater district. Come for a piece of cultural notoriety and stay for the anti-jet lag rain showers and free Wi-Fi, free movies, hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control every detail of your room, super chic lobby spaces designed as Vitra living rooms, an on-site MENDO library for perusing or purchasing, 24/7 dining and cocktailing at canteenM, a quiet mezzanine terrace, fully-equipped gym and yoga terrace, and the skyline showstopper: an exclusive rooftop bar, cloudbar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing