We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like waking up in space!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM New York Times Square
Ranked #25 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

So high tech and cool, I thought I was aboard a futuristic space craft when I woke up. The lighting, in room tablet control panel. Amazing decor and staff. Really, really fun. They put it all together perfectly!! Good job!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank ottotolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hello ottotolen,

Thnaks for sharing your stay with us. Glad you had fun. I assume you used one of our wilder wake up settings...maybe the one where the TV goes on or the countdown!

I look forward to seeing you back here soon.

citizenLance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,150 - 2,156 of 3,176 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I've just returned home from 6 fantastic nights in this great hotel so now it's time for my review. First , Hotel Location - couldnt be better! 2 mins walk from Broadway and less than 10 mins stroll from Times Square. Two nearby Subway stations within 300 feet of the hotel helps you get wherever you need to go , once youve mastered the art of tranferring between Subway lines! Now onto the hotel its-self and what can I say that hasnt already been said - cool , trendy , young , funky , different - call it what you will , you wont find any stuffy old fashioned bell hops or doormen here , just young friendly attentive staff that can't do enough for you. Checking in is painless and easy via the computer terminals , if you need a hand theres always a staff member there but I found it really easy. Onto the rooms , I was in 607 which is a corner room (I think) so it is slightly bigger and has the wash basin in the conventional place in the bathroom. I loved the mood lighting , the electric blind and shutter all controlled from the Samsung tablet (there are switches on the wall also if thats easier) you control the temperature of the room , the fan speed and the TV via the tablet as well. Theres a room phone which works like Skype and is really cheap , I phoned England for five to ten mins every day for 6 days and I paid just over $4 for my calls - contrast that to my cellphone company who wanted $1.70 A MINUTE!! The bed is so comfortable too , I had a great nights sleep every night , a few mornings it was only the amazing "rain" shower that perked me up , NYC is certainly tiring! I loved the great big drawer under the bed , perfect to store my suitcase , backpack and assorted cables and chargers! A nice touch in the room is the 2 free bottles of Evian water in the fridge every day , great for when you come back to the room after a hot day sightseeing , again , some well known hotels could learn a thing or two here. Always lile having a room safe too and the model in the CitizenM will be familiar if youve ever toured Europe. Now , my favourite subject FOOD! And beer lol. Breakfast - A choice of Granola , Yoghurt , Fresh Fruits , a selection of pastries , fruit juices and hot food - excellent crispy bacon (just how I like it!) pork sausages , applewood smoked chicken sausages , roast breakfast potatoes (loved those and never had them before!) , frattitas and roasted tomatoes were usually available every day , all top quality and very tasty - plus a complimentary coffee of your choice - add it at check in and save 3 bucks a day (16 instead of 19) trust me its worth it! The lobby bar does a cracking pint of Warsteiner too , although I didnt partake at breakfast time lol!

To sum up , if I am ever back in NYC I wouldnt think of staying anywhere else - the only downside is eventually you have to go home!!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Duncan1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hi Duncan1969,

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here. Your review really touched on everything and I was so glad that our concept connected with you. citizenM is different than most hotels. I am excited that you would stay with us again.

Also, mastering the subways is no easy feat...well done. Most life time New Yorkers still use their phone app...including me!

citizenLance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My family and I stayed at CitizenM, a Scottish chain, recently and were very pleased with our time there. The rooms were attractive and looked small and European on first view, but the arrangement of fixtures and furnishings was such that we did not feel crowded after being in the room for a while. The room was clean and well-kept. The mattress on the bed, an extra-long king, was quite comfortable. As far as I know, all the rooms in CitizenM are the same, so if two stay in a room, they will share the extra-large bed.

The en suite bath was sizable, with no tub, but a spacious shower equipped with both a rain shower and and a shower with a detachable head. Since the hotel is European in style, no washcloths are available, and we ended up buying our own sponges for use in the shower.

The lobby area was attractively decorated in a cool but inviting style, with comfortable seating and a bar adjacent to the seating area. The food was very good, from breakfast to light snacks, and hot dishes for dinner. Since we didn't eat lunch at the hotel, I'm not sure what was served.

The rooms had working wifi and a tablet with access to the internet for the use of guests. The lights, shades, and curtains operated through functions on the tablet. Very high tech, but user-friendly.

Several computers were available for use by guests on the mezzanine, and there were a sufficient number so that a computer was always available.

My one complaint was about the public restroom, which was not clean and well-maintained. I complained to the staff, but I did not rate the hotel down because everything else about the hotel was so satisfactory.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GrandmereMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hi GrandmereMimi,

Thank you for giving us such a detail review of your family's stay. I was very pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We are of course biased, but agree that the functionality of the room outweighs the size. Please accept my apologies about the restrooms. We will be more diligent.

See you soon.

citizenLance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Beautiful, funky hotel. Love the Times Square location and the rooftop bar. The guest room was modeled similarly to a mass market cruise ship room, with a frosted glass encapsulated bathroom that left little to the imagination. Aside from the visual privacy concern, there is a two inch gap at the bottom of the bathroom door that ensured a total immersion experience for other guests in the room. I'd definitely stay here again if traveling solo, but not as a couple.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ImNotCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hello ImNotCandy,

Thanks for sharing your visit with us & others. I was very happy to read you felt the hotel was beautiful and you enjoyed our location. Sorry our bathroom experience was not to your liking. We do have a curtain in the room to add a bit more privacy but understand your other comments.

Glad to hear you would return as a single traveler...we look forward to seeing you then.

citizenLance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Modern, very European hotel, in a great location. Near Times Square and the theatre district....Price was affordable for NYC. Room is the size of cruise ship room, but with a great shower and large comfortable bed. If your goal is to go out and do things in the city and just use your hotel to sleep in, this place is perfect. Staff is young and eager to please.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hi Kathy S,

Thanks for your review. Giving our guests an affordable luxury experience is our goal and glad to read you found our price was such. I am especially happy our team did well. I hope to see you on your next trip.

citizenLance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed at CitizenM Time Square; NYC on July 8th-10th and I wish I could have stayed longer!
My flight back to the U.K flew from JFK and I had arrived in New York after a month of an awful business venture in Orlando... CitizenM made my last two days in the U.S completely worth while!
I'd read the reviews of the comfy beds and free WiFi and had short listed this hotel as one of my possible stays... I am so glad I chose to stay here!
The Bed is insanely comfortable and Huge!! I had to try my hardest to get out of it for a day of shopping, but it was perfect after a long day to fall asleep in! Yes, it is wall to wall but I don't see why anyone would complain! Easily spacious for a couple also! Falling asleep watching the city lights was a nice little touch!
Controlling the room via the tablet was amazing, mood lightening, which could be personalized and switching lights on/off, along with curtain and blind control made sure you didn't have to leave your pillow once comfortable.
The room was perfect size for me and really gave a home away from home bedroom feel! Perhaps, anymore than two people in there would be way too crowded to really enjoy it but for me it was great.
There is a variety of storage options for luggage and clothes and everywhere was spotless throughout my stay. Also, there is a room safe to leave valuables and a mini fridge with complimentary Evian water bottles inside.
The bathroom was amazing, a handy sized 'pod' like shower and toilet combo and the different options of the shower made it convenient for a quick shower or relaxing one after the gym, with the rain fall shower head and the normal.
My room was right by the elevator and I was never awakened by any sounds of that or any neighboring guests.
The Gym and the Roof Top bar were just right, The gym had all you really needed for a quick workout, with complimentary towels and water. I enjoyed a complimentary cocktail on the Roof Top Bar,which I was given a voucher for upon check-in, it was delicious, with great views!
The Staff... are AMAZING! The management should be really proud of who they have working for them! Everyone was friendly and made me feel welcome straight away, even sorting me out a higher level room, when the one I was mean't to stay in was having its tablet updates.
I wish I had met Brie right at the beginning of my stay, on my last day she helped me redeem my luggage where we spoke for ages about my trip and what sounded like an amazing time she was having working for and at CitizenM. Brie helped me with my luggage and even hailed a friendly cab for me to take me to JFK.
Overall, I loved my time staying at CitizenM New York Time Square! I have stayed at the Ritz Carlton Central Park and The Waldorf Astoria Towers many a time when in the city but I really have found a home away from home at this hotel! It is uber modern and everything a hotel should be in this generation! I just wish I had stayed here during my birthday trip in January! I cannot wait to recommend it to more friends and family when they visit!

Thank You to Everyone at CitizenM! See you soon!

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahJP21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hi SarahJP21,

Thank you so much for sharing your feelings about citizenM with us & others. We too believe a hotel should be your home away from home and have designed citizenM that way. Not so much in how we look, but more how it feels. The way you are treated, the ability to customize things like lighting and music in your room and the variety of different common areas to fit your mood or needs...that's what we think makes people feel at home. I am glad you were happy. Thank you too for your comments about the staff. Brie will be excited to read her name (again) in a guest review.

See you next time.

citizenLance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A colleague and friend recommended this place to me, boy is he a better friend now! Yes the rooms are small, but they have everything you need. Fridge, wardrobe, shower, massive bed, working air con etc etc. the staff are amazing, I met Lance, the manager. Awesome. He really does care and that filters through to his team. Each and everyone of them smile, are polite and engaged, brilliant. He found out my room was a tad noisy, we are in Manhattan, so it's understandable, but in 3 minutes he'd fixed me another, much quieter room, with a drink on the house as compensation. Breakfast is fresh, tasty and very reasonable. Free chips and nuts with drinks. Great gym and rooftop bar. I'm a frequent visitor to NYC and I will not stay anywhere else right now, for the very reasonable rates they offer. Book it now, before word gets out!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vickiandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hi vickiandrich,

Thanks so much for sharing your visit (so far) and your kind words with us & others. I am glad I was there to help. And thank you for sharing your other experience today when we spoke. It was very rewarding to hear the team was so attentive.

citizenLance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#102 of 470 in New York City
479 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 470 in New York City
1,100 reviews
Midtown
LUMA Hotel Times Square
LUMA Hotel Times Square
#24 of 470 in New York City
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 470 in New York City
3,181 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#28 of 470 in New York City
2,438 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM New York Times Square

Address: 218 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £139 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM New York Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in iconic Times Square, just off the corner of Broadway & 50th, citizenM New York offers 230 boutique rooms in the heart of the theater district. Come for a piece of cultural notoriety and stay for the anti-jet lag rain showers and free Wi-Fi, free movies, hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control every detail of your room, super chic lobby spaces designed as Vitra living rooms, an on-site MENDO library for perusing or purchasing, 24/7 dining and cocktailing at canteenM, a quiet mezzanine terrace, fully-equipped gym and yoga terrace, and the skyline showstopper: an exclusive rooftop bar, cloudbar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your citizenM New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing