We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
citizenM New York Times Square
Ranked #22 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Amazing View”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I had our anniversary trip here and we really loved the hotel. The rooms are small but we knew that going into it, plus we didnt spend a whole lot of time in the room anyway. The bed was AMAZING, seriously. The shades make it completely dark and the room is soundproof so you get some good sleep. The shower is amazing because of the rain shower and the mood lighting that's all adjustable from the samsung tablet. We are in our late 20's so we liked going out to the night life but when we discovered the rooftop bar we just kept going up there. The view was beautiful and a lot of comfortable seating. The staff is very nice and accommodates extremely well, but if you are looking for someone to wait on you all the time then look elsewhere because you have to be somewhat self sufficient when staying. The only issue we had was some tech glitches that made us have to get a new card for the room and the fan not working until i reset the tablet. In my opinion they should switch from the samsung tablet to an ipad mini and they may not have the issues with having to reset the tablet. (because the tablet controls EVERYTHING). I would def recommend staying here and it will absolutely be one of my top choices when we come back.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and the view was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chase T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello Chase T,

I am grateful you choose citizenM to celebrate an important occasion such as your anniversary. Thank you. I was also very happy to read you had a great time and would recommend us. The rooftop bar, cloudbar, is a favorite of our guests. New York is a wonderful place, but it is also nice to escape and recharge a bit. Glad you enjoyed.

We look forward to your next visit, special occasion or not!

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,032
    602
    95
    32
    17
See reviews for
350
1,534
240
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel was exactly as the pictures depicted on the website. Excellent staff, décor, quality, food, cleanliness, location for an affordable price. It's bang in the middle of Times Square. I'm looking forward to trying the other hotels in this chain. The only con (minor one) is that the room is tiny, just enough to fit 2 large bags, but then who stays in their room in New York city!!! :-D I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SerenaRayani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello SerenaRayani,

I am very happy to read that our hotel and what we offer connected so well with you. Thanks for choosing us and thanks for taking a moment to write this review. We have 6 other hotels (all in Europe) and 6 more under development (Europe, Asia & USA). I know you will have a similar experience at our sister properties.

Looking forward to your next visit.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol Stream, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed a weekend in july, it exceeded my expectation, centrally located to most attractions, it is literally 2 minutes walk from times sqaure,. best value for the money especially for a new york hotel. I love that you can control everything from lighting, temp, to the television with an ipad(moon pad). very convinent. the 24 hr gym and bar on the roof is definately a plus, highly recomended

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi jojo o,

Thanks for telling us about your visit. Love the title of your review! I was happy that you appreciated the value. New York is an expensive city. Our rates compare favorably to many other hotels nearby. It was nice to read that you will recommend us.

See you next trip,

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

CitizenM is a very modern hotel with a great location in Times Square. I enjoyed controlling everything(curtains, lights, and tv) from the tablet in the room. The bed was so comfortable and taking a shower was just the needed touch to help you relax for the evening. Rooms are so clean. Staff is helpful. The location is within walking distance of everything you want to see and do in Times Square. There is also a Metro station with steps of the hotel. Central Park is only 7 blocks away.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a view choose a room on the upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi Charmain D,

I was glad to read you had a great time at our hotel. Thanks for sharing your review with us & others. I will share your comments with our housekeeping team. They will be happy to hear them.

We look forward to seeing you back here soon.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel is exactly the same as described on their website, the photos are completely accurate and reflect the atmosphere of this wonderful hotel.

Super staff, eager to please and welcoming!!

Rooms are clean, comfy and the showers exhilarating !!!

Breakfasts - such choice and good quality food.

A great location, good value and the place of choice to stay for future trips to NYC.

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor, quiet and little, if any street noise!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 241anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Hello 241anon,

I appreciate you took some time to review your visit with us & others. Thanks. It was very gratifying to learn you would choose us again. Appreciate that you mentioned the staff...it is great when they get recognized.

Until next trip....

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a 5 night work trip (conference in Times Square). Firstly the location was handy for my situation, but I found midtown lacks atmosphere and the dining/drinking options of downtown so leisure travellers may want to consider this their plans. However the hotel itself was well thought out, clean and seemingly always infused with great energy. In some respects it seemed like a very luxe backpackers (in the best sense of the term). Only criticism re room is that bed was big but too firm and better bedding sheets etc. would have made it more enjoyable. Loved the private rooftop bar for a sunset drink with friends.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank benchickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hello benchickens,

Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. Glad you had a good time and I like the luxe backpacker feeling you got. Sorry the bed wasn't to your liking. We generally get very good comments about that. I am happy you liked the rooftop bar. Hopeful you will choose us again.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife and I stayed between 24th and 28th of July to celebrate her 30th birthday. From check in to check out we were nothing short of impressed with citizenm. Room was exactly as described, comfortable, clean and cool. Couple of small issues with the moodpad (tablet) but nothing which couldn't be fixed with a quick reboot. I'd asked the hotel to have some wine and birthday cake waiting in the room for us on arrival and was a bit worried when we entered the room and they were nowhere to be seen. Had that forgotten? Within 5 minutes, a knock of the door and one of the hotel staff was waiting with a huge cake, wine and a birthday card for my wife. Cake was delicious and we could only eat a small piece before heading out to explore. Cloud bar is amazing and was the perfect end to each evening. Great views and great drinks.Location dictated that the price of the hotel was never going to be the cheapest however I'd still say we got value for money overall. We had an awesome time and the hotel was a big part of the overall experience.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinho1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello colinho1981,

I am honored that you choose citizenM to celebrate this special occasion. Thank you for sharing it with us. I am also very glad to read what a great time you had and that your experience at our hotel was a big part of your trip. Our guests are so enjoying the cloudbar; great that you did too.

We'll see you next time you're in New York.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#21 of 466 in New York City
2,357 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 466 in New York City
2,912 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#74 of 466 in New York City
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 466 in New York City
3,465 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 466 in New York City
962 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#73 of 466 in New York City
3,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM New York Times Square

Property: citizenM New York Times Square
Address: 218 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6702
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM New York Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in iconic Times Square, just off the corner of Broadway & 50th, citizenM New York offers 230 boutique rooms in the heart of the theater district. Come for a piece of cultural notoriety and stay for the anti-jet lag rain showers and free Wi-Fi, free movies, hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control every detail of your room, super chic lobby spaces designed as Vitra living rooms, an on-site MENDO library for perusing or purchasing, 24/7 dining and cocktailing at canteenM, a quiet mezzanine terrace, fully-equipped gym and yoga terrace, and the skyline showstopper: an exclusive rooftop bar, cloudbar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing