We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premium See It All Tour ... and we did”

OnBoard New York Tours
Ranked #74 of 603 Tours in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Type: City Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: OnBoard New York Tours operates the Only Comprehensive Guided Tour of New York City. Our tour guides hop off the shuttle bus with you at each attraction, showing you the city in detail. Smaller groups make better tours, so we limit group size on our tours and use smaller shuttles that allow more interaction with your guide.
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Premium See It All Tour ... and we did”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were met by Dave at the arranged collection point. He warned us there was to be a fair bit of walking and had to reiterate this to a family with young children who kept wanting to use the bathroom which reduced our times at a couple of the attractions. There is a lot of walking initially, so if you do have young children or have difficulty walking long distances, this is not the tour for you. We started off on the air conditioned bus and were shown where water was available on the bus and were advised to stock up which was great as it was a very hot day. There are two boat trips on this tour; the first took us down to Battery Park where we could see One World Trade Center. When we docked, we were taken to the financial district, Trinity Church and the 9/11 Memorial. Back on the second boat, we were taken within 30 feet of the Statue of Liberty and took some amazing photos, then it was back to dock and a quick stop at a lovely deli shop where we could sit in or out and eat our purchases. Back on the bus, we were shown the Flat Iron Building and other attractions, then the Dakota Building and a short trip inside Central Park to see Strawberry Fields. We were then taken on to the Rockerfella Center but we'd been up in that the day before so we rested our feet and had a nice chat with our driver. Dave was fantastic; a lifelong New Yorker and able to answer all our questions and more. It's a long day, but we'd never have covered what we did if we'd tried it on our own and it gave us ideas of places to return to during the remainder of our stay in New York. Can't recommend this tour highly enough, but again, it's a long day and there's a fair amount of walking. Having covered what we did in just one afternoon/evening, we were able to visit Grand Central Station, The Chrysler Building, The Empire State Building and spend more time there taking photos. We didn't need to return to the financial district as doing this tour got it all covered and some.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank andie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    967
    212
    77
    57
    104
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great Tour of New York City”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Our tour was Sunday, August 10th. Our tour guide was Jay and driver was Anthony. We took the 12:30pm tour and it was a great tour around new York and a ferry over to Staten Island. Jay was very informative and funny. He would offer to take pictures of you or your group and answer any questions you had. it was my husband 50th birthday and first time in NYC and my husband and I both thoroughly enjoyed the tour. If you are every trying to make a decision on what tour to go on, you won't be disappointed with OnBoard New York Tours. Thank you again Jay and Anthony :)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best money spent”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just returned to the UK after 2 1/2 weeks in the US. We began out trip in NYC before moving on to Cincinnati and finishing in Chicago. I can honestly say this was the most worthwhile money we spent on our whole holiday.

Our tour was on Monday 21st of July with Gary our tour guide and a lady driver who unfortunately name has slipped my memory. We were last to board the bus as we found it difficult to find the pick up as it being our first time in the city and not knowing our way round. As soon as we boarded,Gary asked where we were from and instantly made a bit of a fuss of us for being from England.

The tour started at 10 am and concluded at 330pm. I can honestly say we would have never have seen the things we managed to see and learn the things we did if we had tried to find our way around ourselves.

We visited all the important sights including central park,the rocker fella Centre and stopping off at another park to catch the amazing views of the Empire State building,before heading off for the ferry over to Staten Island. The views looking back towards Manhattan were amazing and all the while Gary talks and mingles with the people on the tour. He learns where everybody originates from and uses this to remember how many he has within his care.Anybody who wonders off he manages to track down brilliantly.

After grabbing a quick bite to eat in the ferry landing shopping and restaurant area at Staten island it was back over to Manhattan to visit ground zero,wall street before heading back to the Drop off area (pick up area) through a very scenic route. all this time Gary is still telling you exactly what you are passing along with some great little stories.

I couldn't recommend this tour enough,and judging by all the tour members reaction at the end,i don't think i was alone on how impressed we were.

I would like to end by saying a special thank you to Gary for his professionalism and Knowledge and our excellent lady driver for getting us around so safely and smoothly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank micknufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great overview!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was a wonderful overview of NYC. Just the right amount of riding and getting out at the attractions. Our guide Altivese was warm, funny, genuine and knowledgeable. We definately got the feel of what it was like to be a tourist and to be a regular New Yorker. I would have left out the Staten Island Ferry and spent time at the 9-11 area. It was fun to walk on Wall Street, especially during Holiday time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowgirlvjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Onboard Tours - See It All Tour”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

An OUTSTANDING tour today, August 10th, with Gary the tour guide and Ricardo the driver. Our family of 5 people ranged from 14-71 years old. Each person in our group enjoyed the tour and learned a lot about NYC. Just the right amount of walking and riding. Gary is a wealth of knowledge and engaging for audiences of all ages. We highly recommend this tour!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Flynnsfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed OnBoard New York Tours also viewed

 

Been to OnBoard New York Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing