We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The rudest front desk service I've ever experienced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #215 of 467 Hotels in New York City
New Orleans
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The rudest front desk service I've ever experienced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

If you think you've booked a certain type of room, like two double beds in a non-smoking room, and you've called the hotel and reservations twice to confirm your reservation and told that you will indeed have the room that you booked, then think again at this hotel. We checked in tonight, and were sent to the 24th floor, a smoking floor. The rudest front desk clerk that I have ever encountered - and I've traveled extensively - told me that the hotel was sold out, she didn't care that I had allergies, the room that was confirmed by the hotel in my reservation was not available, and hung up the phone. I called HIlton corporate customer service, who in turn called the same person at the hotel, and she was rude to her own corporate office. The only other hotel that I've had similar types of problems in New York with not getting the room that I booked was the Millennium Hilton, so I canceled my Hilton accommodations for my next trip. There are many wonderful hotels in New York that provide good customer service with quality rooms. We checked out, walked across the street to the Fairfield Inn and Suites, and Daniel at the front desk could not have been nicer or more accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JennyNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    787
    217
    64
    47
See reviews for
621
496
146
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

My wife and I spent two great days in this comfortable, no-nonsense hotel. It was our second visit to the HGI Chelsea within 5 months... this time to celebrate my mom's 90th birthday. When we got out of the taxi the bellman said "welcome back!" He recognized my wife and me from our earlier visit. This is just one small indication of what a good job this hotel does of hiring staff. Everyone in the hotel is accommodating, from the front desk to the wait staff in the breakfast room which serves perfectly cooked-to-order omlettes and eggs. The rooms are clean and modern with very comfortable beds. They are a bit tight on space - not unusual in NYC. The location of the hotel is excellent, just a short walk to either the subway or PATH train. There are only a couple of quibbles: While 28th St. has a number of charming plant and floral shops, there are no interesting restaurants within the immediately vicinity. Secondly, the lobby and public spaces in the hotel (with the exception of the sun-lit breakfast room) are on the small side. Still, the place is well run, the rates are fare for NYC, the rooms and bathrooms are modern and the staff cares. What more do you want from a Hilton Garden Inn?

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvj24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

I loved the hotel.
Great rooms, location and service.
I booked the room at the hotel's web site. Good deal on the pre-paid rooms. Great winter rates. Got a nice room at the 17th floor.
Room with microwave, cofemaker, small frige, great bed.
Close to Empire State, metro lines, Whole Foods. You can walk or metro to any where.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renatofalzoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

This was my first trip to New York and I had previously booked a double room elsewhere not taking into consideration that my husband and I would fit comfortably on a double size bed. The Hitlon Garden Inn Chelsea offered a comfortable double room with queen beds and private bath within a reasonable price range. The staff was polite, helpful and courteous. All that a hotel staff should be. The rooms were clean as the workout facilities, the business center, the lobby and the hotel entrance. It could use some curb appeal but overall it is a nice hotel. When our small group arrived early, our friends' room were available but not our room. Nonetheless, we left our luggage in their room and by the time we got back from brunch our room was ready. The beds were comfortable and it was pretty quiet at night. The room was smaller than I thought it would be but so is everything else in New York. I'm from Texas where everything is big so my scale is slightly skewed. Overall, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

This hotel was surprisingly pleasant. I stopped in early just to see if I could drop off my luggage, but a room was ready so they checked me right in and gave me several bottles of water. Everyone was smiling and very accommodating. Nice part of Chelsea on a smaller, quiet part of 28th street. Will return!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwcress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

My wife and I went into Manhattan to see a Broadway play and decided to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn/Chelsea. The hotel was fabulous. The staff was friendly from the moment you pull up to the moment they say good bye. They were extremely knowledgeable of all the attractions/stores in Manhattan. The biggest bonus was you could literally walk to any one of a 100 different places or take a quick cab ride. It was centrally located.

If you stay here don't miss the breakfast buffet. It was excellent. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalDi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

Clean, comfortable, modern room in a great location. Free wifi. We were able to park for free on the street, even, on the same block as the hotel. Plenty of restaurants in the neighborhood. We would return again if we ever need a place in the Chelsea area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#159 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#197 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#318 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#123 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#167 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Family Hotel in New York City
#195 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#201 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy's, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing