We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Service in NY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #216 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Fl
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Location and Service in NY”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I recently stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea, for a quick family vacation. The hotel location is very good, at walking distance of time square and very close to the Madison Square Garden. The metro stations are just one block away. We did not have the Breakfast included, and at $17 each it was a little bit too much, any way there are plenty of places to eat around the hotel. From La Guardia to the hotel is a quick 20 min drive @ $37 dollars including tolls. The private taxi from the hotel to La Guardia is $45 + Tolls around $52 dollars. The area is very safe. The rooms were very clean and had a decent size for a party of four (2 Queen Beds). The price was on the high side, but NY is expensive especially during the holidays. The Hotel has free Wi-Fi which is very convenient when traveling with teenagers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank elector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Soxfan401,

Thanks so much for the very nice review of your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location pleasing. Our staff does a wonderful job assisting guests and offering personal attention. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice, and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    802
    222
    66
    47
See reviews for
632
506
147
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
raleigh
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed 2nights in Dec. using a combo of Hilton points plus a paid stay. The front desk seamlessly recognized both so we didn't need to change rooms, nice! Well situated between 6th and 7th Avenues, there are numerous restaurants within walking distance, also easy to grab a taxi. As for the rooms...well, it's New York so think small! We had to take turns getting around the chair/desk up against the bed. The room itself looked remodeled, had nice city chic décor; bathroom was ample size but only room for 1 at time. Again, it's New York! Bed was SUPER comfortable, high quality mattress! For the money/revenue night, it was much less ($128/nt) than other hotels in comparable areas. We needed this neighborhood/ this visit so it worked for us. We had noisy neighbors which we reported to the staff; they urged us to call Security any time disruptions occurred. The elevators (2) were often slow; plan ahead for exiting. Breakfast was $17.95pp so we went elsewhere. They did offer apple cider and cookies in the evenings, nice touch for the holiday season! Overall, it's a recommendable hotel - only with an upper floor to get above the constant street noise.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor, lots of street noise/construction in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soxfan401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Soxfan401,


Thanks so much for the very nice review of your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location pleasing. Our staff does a wonderful job assisting guests and offering personal attention. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice, and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed in Hilton in for few days during us open, hotel staff was very friendly and welcoming, rooms were very nice and clean, with cozy lobby and bar. Location and price were excellent. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marta t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Marta T,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you had a great experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. We find our location and room amenities to be very convenient for our guests. Our employees do a great job of welcoming and taking good care of our guests as well. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We're a family of four with 2 teenagers. We found the hotel staff very friendly & welcoming, always ready to help. The rooms like all NY hotels were not very big but definitely very clean & comfortable. The complimentary warm cookies & hot apple cider in the afternoon were a lovely treat especially in the cold of December! It is located in a quieter part of town which means you can have a good nights sleep without all the traffic noise. Traffic noise can be a real problem at night if you're staying in the heart of the city. Breakfast isn't included although there is a small restaurant downstairs where you can buy it, otherwise there are plenty of place close by if you want to go out. Subway is very close, the Flat Iron district & 5th Ave are only a couple of blocks away. The gym was also well equipped. Overall, its a great hotel to stay at. Would recommend it to family & friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank detravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Detravellers,


Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us! We are so pleased to hear you had a great experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. Our staff does a wonderful job assisting guests and offering personal attention. We agree that our rooms are nicely sized in NYC and clean. Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Just returned from a "girls trip" to NYC. One of the husbands made our hotel reservation as he travels to NYC a lot and wanted to make sure we were in a safe and convenient location. I had wanted to stay in the Times Square area or Theater District as that was the extent of my NYC knowledge, the three of us were very pleasantly surprised with the hotel and its location. We seemed to be convenient to everything - we walked to the theater, Times Square, and Union Square and everything in between. Close to restaurants, pastry shops, coffee shops, etc. We felt very safe in this hotel and the staff were very accommodating - the few times we needed a cab, the doorman would go out of his way - including walking us up to 6th (less than 1/2 block away) to help us get a cab, as the street in front of our hotel had been temporarily blocked off. I seriously doubt there is another employee at any hotel that would go to that much effort for their guests! The room of course was small .... very typical of any hotel in NYC - plus there were three of us females with all our stuff, most notably, the room was VERY clean! We would purchase wine on our way back to the hotel at night, however, we had no corkscrew. Not only did the young lady in the bar open our wine,she sent us up with wine glasses so we didn't have to drink out of paper cups! On a last note, we have decided to make our NYC trip an annual one, and plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retreatowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Retreatowner,

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location convenient. We also agree that our location is ideal and located on a beautiful street lined with fresh, seasonal flowers each day. Our staff does a great job of welcoming and offering personal attention to each guest. Thank you again for your kind words, and we are looking forward to seeing you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Very happy worth our recent stay. Rooms are std New York size (on the small side of course) but provide good comfort.

The on site gym and free cookies were welcome

Only downside is the lack of a guest laundry but you can get same day service at $1 a pound from the R&C laundry in nearby 26th St.

Very friendly staff made for an enjoyable trip to NYC

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Serpico66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Serpico66,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you had a great experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. We find our location and room amenities to be very convenient for our guests. Our employees do a great job of welcoming and taking good care of our guests as well. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Intimate hotel, convenient location, friendly staff. Well kept hotel in the heart of the city. Remodeled lobby with fireplace, bar and reception area. I have stayed there for the past two years during a trip. Easy in and out and lots of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Brian H,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us! We are so pleased to hear you had a great experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. Our staff does a wonderful job assisting guests and offering personal attention. We hope to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 468 in New York City
775 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#157 of 468 in New York City
1,848 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#217 of 468 in New York City
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#323 of 468 in New York City
1,951 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#118 of 468 in New York City
815 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#181 of 468 in New York City
3,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Family Hotel in New York City
#195 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#201 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy's, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing