We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but needs new beds...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #203 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

For the past three years, this has been an extremely good combination of location, comfort and price when my wife and I visit NYC. But the beds are REALLY in need of new mattresses as this year they are seriously sagging.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Jay Alan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Jay Alan Y,

Thank you for the great feedback from your recent stay with us. You and every other guest of ours are very important to us. The entire staff works very hard to exceed the expectations of every guest. We are in the works of renovating all of our rooms and changing our beds so next time you visit we are sure you will enjoy your stay.
Thank you for staying with us, and we hope you will be our guest again in the future. We will do everything we can to ensure all your requests are met.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,040)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

814 - 820 of 2,040 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

Recently stayed in the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea for a family vacation. Room is spacious enough to accommodate 4 people so here comes the first plus. Given our preference of places and attractions, location is just great. Many of our destinations are easily reachable by foot, for the rest, several subway stations are close by. To complete the advantages add the free Wi-Fi and the in-room coffee & tea facilities. We didn't try the breakfast since we are familiar with several other options within a few minute walk which are quite cheaper. On the downside there are two main points. First is the elevators. With 20 something floors and only 2 elevators, you may find yourself waiting. The second is the price. Not the most expensive however not so cheap either. Would I come back? The advantages tend to outweigh the cons so most likely yes.

Room Tip: Higher floors keep you away from the street sounds
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ami130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Ami130 ,



Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us! We are so pleased to hear you had a great experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. Our staff does a wonderful job assisting guests and offering personal attention. We agree that our rooms are nicely sized in NYC and clean. Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The small room was clean, the staff was courteous and they had many amenities.
Their location is also close to various metro lines making other places in NY easily accessible.
They had free wifi and a nice gym.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Attar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear HrayrA,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and hotel rooms convenient. We also agree that both our location and hotel amenities in every room are ideal. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Hilton Gardens Inn for a family wedding. While the location was a little hard to find by car (the entrance is obscured by constrcton.) it appears to be a very central location. The rooms were clean, the front desk staff attentive. The down side of the place is that there is no food service other than breakfast and " snacks available for purchase in the lobby. The rooms have bothe microwave and fridge as well as coffee makers. They offer a "room service" menu from a nearby restaurant "Mustag Sally's". The concept is great especially if you have been traveling, it is winter and rainy. In reality, by the time the food arrived it was pretty cold... It was served on a large tray with silverware and glassware. The next day, when we came back to the room, the tray of dirty dishes was still sitting there, even after the room had been cleaned!
Also, I do not know if it is true of all rooms, but we literally sat in coats for nearly three hours waitng for the room to heat up. When we finally called the front desk,they sent up the "engineer" who told us we had to put the thermostat up to 85* to heat up the room!!!
And forget the bathroom... it was freezing....
But in the end, couldn't say enough good things about the front desk staff and the "concierge/parking people.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rakdanit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Rakdanit,



Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us! We are so pleased to hear you had a great experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. Our staff does a wonderful job exceeding expectations and making sure everything is spotless. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed that our breakfast was not complimentary. We offer a delicious full, cooked-to-order breakfast which is a step above other hotels' free breakfast offerings. Thus, we charge for it. Please take advantage of our bed and breakfast rate where breakfast is included with the room rate during your next stay. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Smack-dab in the heart of the flower district, the Hilton Garden Inn is a comfortable oasis in the heart of Chelsea. After a quick walk from Penn Station, our check-in was quick and painless, and every staff person we encountered was friendly, helpful and upbeat.

Our 18th-floor room had a decent view, was spacious for NYC, and included a fridge, microwave, and (most importantly) two layers of room-darkening window shades. The king-sized bed was comfortable and featured sort of sleep-number adjustment apparatus (we didn't change the settings). The bathroom was also fairly large and well-appointed, with the exception of the slightly moldy shower curtain.

The free WiFi was reliable and fast, and the room rates were very reasonable for a holiday weekend.

We definitely plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy_W_Roslindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Amy_W_Roslindale,



Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you had a great experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. We find our location and room amenities to be very convenient for our guests. Our employees do a great job of welcoming and taking good care of our guests as well. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is not a four star hotel - but given the cost, the quality of the room and the service, it is easily a four star place to stay - very good, just not excellent. The very good points - nice room, good WiFi, way above average breakfast for this kind of hotel, three minutes to check in, helpful and courteous staff, a good location. Here is why it is not excellent - the housekeeping staff held a mini-caucus outside our room in the morning and if we had been sleeping it would have been an issue; the valet parking is quite confusing; the bar closes too early; the frig in our room was noisy. All little things but enough to keep this a very good hotel for the money, not excellent for the money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Michael S,


Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! we are looking forward to see you during your next visit to New York! Thank you again for your kind words, and we are looking forward to seeing you during your next visit to New York!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Pros:
- Good location (really enjoyed the fact that it's a Hilton *Garden* in the middle of the flower district)
- Free and reasonably fast wifi
- Large (for New York) rooms
- Comfortable bed and desk chair
- Adequate (but not luxurious) bathroom

Cons:
- Noisy heating system
- Slow elevators

I was on the backside of the hotel, which had ugly views but was very quiet. Don't know if the side facing the street would have been noisier. I couldn't hear anyone in neighboring rooms, so perhaps it's well insulated.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeremyInFairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear JeremylnFairfax,


Thanks so much for the very nice review of your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! You and every other guest of ours are very important to us. The entire staff works very hard to exceed the expectations of every guest. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice, and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in New York!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#200 of 468 in New York City
828 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#165 of 468 in New York City
1,903 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#56 of 468 in New York City
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#263 of 468 in New York City
2,025 reviews
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#314 of 468 in New York City
2,025 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#114 of 468 in New York City
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in New York City
#191 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#197 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £116 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy's, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing