We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great, but nice, especially the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #196 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Reasonably close to Penn Station and between a couple of subway lines - a good location if you're taking Amtrak or attending an event in Madison Square Garden. In the flower district, so it feels like you're walking through a garden on the way to Penn Station, though a little creepy at night, when everything's closed. Rooms on the smaller side, but I think pretty typical of New York. Convenience of having a microwave and fridge in the room. Good water pressure in the shower and nice counter space in the bathroom. Personal pet peeve - no glasses, just disposable cups. Reasonably fast internet service. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DragonLady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Dragonlady13,




Thanks so much for your kind review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed our location. We are thrilled to hear your wonderful service comments our staff constantly provides great service daily and look forward to sharing your comments with our team, we certainly hope you will choose to stay with us in the future the next time you are in New York City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

790 - 796 of 2,090 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Good: Easy access to the subway; close enough to walk to Chelsea, West Village and The Garden; comfortable and quiet rooms. Not great: expensive breakfast; inconsistent housekeeping (two drinking cups one day, one the next, and none the next); gritty and crowded street.
If there is a reason to be in the west 20's, this is a good choice. If not, there are likely better options for you.

Room Tip: X01-X03 are in the front, facing south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Dan B,


Please allow us to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay with us. Please be assured that all of our guests experiences are important to us and we do our best to ensure they have a memorable experience when staying with us , We appreciate the feedback our guests provide us with, so that we are able to pursue our goal to provide the highest quality service and experience to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel in April 2014. The check in process was quick and the staff was friendly. They gave us a welcome bag of two water bottles and a chocolate- nice touch. The hotel is situated in the heart of the " florist" area of New York, so when you walk out the door you are right in the middle of a jungle of plants and flowers, wonderful! You can see the Empire State Building from this hotel. Our room was 908, it was clean and modern but very small. There were 2 Queen beds in there, 3 people felt crowded in this room. All the rooms are small in this hotel. The room was quite at night which was good for sleeping. They had those sleep control beds where you dial your comfort levels, we tried it out but to be honest felt no difference. The beds were comfortable anyway. They even had a night light in the bathroom which was a nice touch for families with small kids. This hotel is close to the subway. We do not like doona/comforter on the beds, as they make us feel too hot, so we always ask for blankets. They either did not have blankets or maybe the housekeeping man did not understand me because they sent sheets first, followed by more doonas! We gave up asking and roasted that night. Nice hotel I would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivnoaln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Robert G,



Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm so glad and pleased that you enjoyed our location. We are thrilled to hear your wonderful service comments our staff constantly provides great service daily and look forward to sharing your comments with our team, we certainly hope you will choose to stay with us in the future the next time you are in New York City.


Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

outside is under construction. It is in the flower district, so there are trees, plants and flowers with deliveries on sides of streets everywhere making it difficult to even stop in front of the hotel. The fitted bed sheet was popping off of the corners of the bed because it didn't fit correctly, exposing the raw stuffing of the actual bed. Gross. Staff was nice, but I won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank B8097JMjenniferm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear B8097JMJenniferm,



It’s unfortunate to hear that your recent stay with us was not as comfortable as you would have liked it to be. We want nothing more but to provide our guests with the best service possible and a comfortable stay throughout, We appreciate the feedback our guests provide us with, so that we are able to pursue our goal to provide the highest quality service and experience to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel was a gem! The hotel itself was very nice - clean, comfortable, etc - but the real treasure is the kindness and attentiveness of the staff. Location was great for subway access and walking.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Dawn P,



Thank you for sharing your 5 star feedback with us! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay and would look forward to recommending us to your friends and family. We hope to welcome your back the next time you visit New York City,


Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Resort level service at this Hilton Garden Inn. Great spot. Great folks. The entire staff understands the hospitality business. So well run for a mid-scale hotel. It has become the only place we stay in New York.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Robert G,


Thanks so much for your kind review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed our location. We are thrilled to hear your wonderful service comments our staff constantly provides great service daily and look forward to sharing your comments with our team, we certainly hope you will choose to stay with us in the future the next time you are in New York City.


Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn from April 10th through April 13th. The hotel lobby is beautiful and the rooms are nice. With that being said, the reason I gave them a Poor rating is because my jeans stolen right off of the bed. When my mother and I returned from bridal gown shopping, I contacted the front desk right away and explained to them what happened. I gave the hotel staff the benefit of doubt and thought maybe my jeans got tangled up in the dirty sheets when the maid was changing the sheets on the bed-however, my jeans were never found. The girl at the front desk was very nice and said she would speak to the managers regarding the situation. What makes this even worse is they were my FAVORITE jeans, were NOT cheap, and the hotel managers did nothing about it. All they said was "We did not locate your jeans and we've already spoken to the cleaning staff. Sorry." Well I do not believe "Sorry" is good enough and that is why I am writing this review. I am now stuck with having to go purchase a new pair of jeans. Needless to say, I will not be staying at the Hilton Garden Inn in Chelsea ever again and I do not recommend staying here if you value your personal property!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
2  Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Jamie,

It is unfortunate that your jeans could not be found, but I can assure you the Executive Housekeeper did all that was humanly possible to find your jeans. He called the laundry to have them go through all our linen to try and find them. We did and on site inspection to make sure they were not on the hotel property.
The housekeeper who cleaned your room has been with us for quite a while and we have had no complaints concerning her or any of the staff members. In fact we have had almost no concerns expressed in this regard at the hotel in the last seven years.
We have turned in by the housekeepers on a daily basis I Pads, I phones, phone charges, shirts, pants, socks, dresses, ties, rings and other jewelry, and cameras to name a few items. If the owners call and want them back we ship them back to the guest. I am sorry the jeans could not be found, but we did try our best.

If I can be of further service please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

Barry M. Shatoff, CHA
General Manager
HGI NY/Chelsea
Direct line: 646-329-7222 || Fax: 212-564-6581

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#154 of 470 in New York City
1,949 reviews
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#326 of 470 in New York City
2,097 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#262 of 470 in New York City
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#49 of 470 in New York City
941 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#189 of 470 in New York City
3,515 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in New York City
#191 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#197 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £103 - £413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy's, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing