We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Front Office Manager”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #223 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Front Office Manager”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at the HGI-Chelsea this past weekend. I made a mistake in booking the reservation and Terry Chin, the Front Office Manager, was very, very helpful. He corrected my mistake for my benefit. Thank you Terry! The stay was very enjoyable. The location of the hotel is perfect for getting anywhere uptown or downtown.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Wendywal,

Thanks so much for your kind review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed our location. We are thrilled to hear your wonderful service comments our staff constantly provides great service daily and look forward to sharing your comments with our team, we certainly hope you will choose to stay with us in the future the next time you are in New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    842
    796
    219
    66
    47
See reviews for
627
500
147
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It's always concerning to book an NYC hotel sight unseen. After studying the reviews and the location we decided on this one. It has a very intimate feel with only 6 rooms on each floor. We were mid way up in the building and had no issues at any point with the elevators. The in room AC unit is loud but works well. The room was small but normal for NYC. There is a fridge and microwave. The bathroom tile grout and caulk was showing its wear but was not offensive or moldy. An easy chair in addition to the desk chair would have made the room a little more comfortable. Everything else was well maintained and the maid staff was attentive every day. The room was made up every day by 4:30pm and I never saw or heard anyone before 9am. We booked a breakfast rate for the week and while the price seems high - its not for NYC. The food was well presented and a variety of choices available each day. Chef and wait staff were very accommodating and attentive. If you have used Hilton Garden Inn's before be aware that there is not restaurant service beyond breakfast. They do offer in room dining which is brought in from a local restaurant. There is also a market area in the lobby that sells snacks and drinks. There are also vending soda machines on the floors. The lobby is small but there is a mini lounge area and water/coffee service. The front desk staff was quick and helpful. The bell staff are attentive -calling elevators, storing/transporting luggage, as well as hailing cabs. We needed a location that was convenient to both uptown and downtown. If you head right out of the hotel, the subway is on the corner of 7th Ave (1,2,3). We also walked down to Chelsea and sampled a few of the restaurants and we walked uptown to Times Square and beyond. The price was great and we appreciated the quiet, intimate feel. We stayed for 6 nights.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Jennifer V,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review. We are very happy to know that your stay at the Hotel met your expectations and forward to hosting you again should you return to the city. Your kind words regarding the friendly service of our Staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that!
We look forward to seeing you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were looking for a nice, but not too expensive, hotel in the Chelsea area of NYC. This hotel fit the bill. We were pleased with the quality of the room, quiet for a city, and friendly staff. Didn't partake of the breakfast, but appreciated the free wifi and the offer of a free water bottle on check-out. Not fancy, but a nice clean place to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Lauraloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review. We are very happy to know that your stay at the Hotel met your expectations and forward to hosting you again should you return to the city. Your kind words regarding the friendly service of our Staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that!
We look forward to seeing you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at this location July 2014. This was the end of a 9 day stay in NYC with multiple Hilton properties. While SOHO is my favorite location, this is a close second. The hotel is located on the Flower street, so when you walk out in the morning the entire street is full of plants.

The best coffee in town is located across the street towards 7th Ave at A Little Taste. Go there. Trust me.

The subway is also at the end of the street on 7th Avenue. Great walking to almost anywhere.

The room was a bit small but not as small as another hotel we stayed. It did not feel claustrophobic. We had a king bed and there was plenty of counter space in the bathroom. The actual room could use more counter space. We had a comfortable quiet sleep. The bed is tempurpedic or something. It did not feel like a regular mattress, very nice.

The service was excellent, from the Bell Man to the Front Desk. Just great service. They have free coffee service in the morning and snacks in the afternoon. The lobby was comfortable to enjoy visiting friends.

We would stay at this hotel again. I only dinged it one star because I like downtown locations better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauraloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Lauraloha,
Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review. We are very happy to know that your stay at the Hotel met your expectations and forward to hosting you again should you return to the city. Your kind words regarding the friendly service of our Staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that!
We look forward to seeing you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great hotel great rooms the service is great food is pretty good in a great part of New York great affordable price lovely staff there's not a doubt about it it is a great place for I short stay would highly recommend

Room Tip: U should chose a room on the south side it is peacefull and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear PearceM,
Thank you for sharing your 5 star feedback with us! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay and would look forward to recommending us to your friends and family. We hope to welcome your back the next time you visit New York City,
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Of the many times we have stayed in NYC, this hotel has been the most "affordable" by NYC standards. The hotel is perfectly situated to the subway as well as walking distance from different attractions. The staff is very helpful and understanding (we had to extend our stay by one night since a particular airline decided to cancel our flight at last moments notice!). The hotel is clean, well maintained although there is a bit of construction happening next door to the hotel which I am sure is temporary but does not detract from the overall quality of the hotel. I would attempt to book directly on the hotel website since this seemed to yield a better price than searching through the hotel/travel websites.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms facing away from the street due to construction. The higher up you are, bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El Gaby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear El Gaby M ,

Thank you for posting 5 star review We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed the location of the Hotel and appreciate your feedback to future travelers. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville North Carolina
Level Contributor
174 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Small, but comfy rooms, the AC you either froze or were hot but since it was summer freezing was somewhat acceptable. It is in the floral district so the streets are very crowded and lots of construction. It is 1 block from subway so that is really nice. The bellman are extremely nice and helpful. The folks at the desk or ok not rude just not very helpful, if you need anything ask one of the bellman nicest I have ever met. They have an all you can eat breakfast, but a bit pricey if you are with family McDonalds right up the block. The gym is small but clean and suitable for a quick work out. Lobby is also very small. Nice hotel for a business trip.

Room Tip: If you get a room facing the street you will hear the traffic and sirens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncnut18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Ncnut18,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments both positive and constructive, as it is an excellent way to continually improve our processes and afford a better experience for our future guests. Please be assured that your feedback has been shared with the team so that we may look into addressing your concerns. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#151 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#187 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#316 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#120 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#167 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Family Hotel in New York City
#195 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#201 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy's, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing