We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #207 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeenshire
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“excellent location and value for money”
Reviewed 11 December 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights while on a girls shopping trip. Four of us shared a room and there was enough room for us all, The hotel was only a 10min walk from Times Square. Theres an underground stop just at the end of the road from the hotel. Plenty restaurants and shops all around.
The staff were extremely polite and helpful. I would definetely recommend this hotel, and i will DEFINETALY go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honey40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    813
    228
    66
    47
See reviews for
643
511
149
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, NY
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2009

We just got back from a one night stay at this charming hotel. From the moment we stepped into this tastefully decorated inn we were treated exceptionally by all the staff . Terry Chin, the Manager on duty was "top notch". His cheerful and positive demeanor was totally appreciated.
We experienced a wonderful breakfast buffet the next morning. Everything was fresh and delicious with a wide assortment of foods.
While this inn is slightly out of the way of the hustle and bustle of NYC, personally my husband and I appreciated that fact. We love the excitement of the city however we really appreciate having a peaceful, quiet night''s sleep which we thoroughly enjoyed at the Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn. PS...the beds were beyond comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrownPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

This hotel was very nice and reasonably priced for NYC. The room was clean, modern and a good size by NYC hotel standards. It's not your typical HGI -- more contemporary and stylish. I booked the hotel in part based on other TripAdvisor reviews and was not disappointed! In fact, it's nicer than the Doubletree Hotel on W 29th street.

The only negative is that it's very hard to catch a cab from the hotel and there was no doorman to assist hailing a cab in the evening. However, in the morning, the doorman took my luggage all the way to the main intersection (the hotel is mid-block) and hailed a cab for me there!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLTraveler1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syndey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2009

The hotel is in a perfect location with Time Sqaure within walking distance. Also there are two subway stops down the road (W28th) which take you all arounf manhattan in a matter of minutes. The hotel service is great and hihghly recommended. We really missed this place and did not want to leave.

They offer free internet and printing services, and if you come at the right time there are complimentary cookies. The hotel was very clean and modern and had a fridge and microwave aswell as a HD TV within many channels.

The perfect stay for a New York holiday, well worth the price.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenji_Ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights over thanksgiving. The hotel is absolutely fantastic- rooms were super clean and spacious and everything was of high quality- the bed was really comfortable and the bedding was nice and soft. Bathroom was also really nice- it was big and the complimentary toiletries were great- they were neutrogena and got replaced every day. The staff were sensational- they knew the answer to any questions we had on how to get places, where the best deals for shopping were, where to stand for the parade etc. They even had flyers for 3 different price options on where to go for a traditional thanksgiving dinner. The only bugbear was that we had someone knocking on our door and attempt to come into our room at 9am on the day we were leaving to ask when we were checking out- this just seems ridiculous and hopefully they will change this for future guests. Will stay here again though without hesitation we had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank downunderthunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall, Wirral, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Chelsea for 5 nights in November and it was absolutely brilliant. A great central location for all attractions especially Madison Square Garden were my wife and i watched Metallica. It was a five minute walk.
As it was located on a street and not an Avenue it was fairly quite during the night. I would have not liked to have stayed at any hotel located on an Avenue. Far to noisy.
The hotel itself was only a few years old so everthing was pretty much brand new. We were on the 20th floor and had a King Evolution City View Room with Breakfast. Could not have asked for better. The room was well spaced and had everything we needed. The bed was amazing.
Our breakfast was just perfect and there was everything you needed to get you started for the day. We paid £130 per night with breakfast and booked directly with Hilton.
There is a subway at the end of the street and you can purchase a metro card there for less than $10 and ride all day.
Penn Station is located under Madison Square Garden and the train takes you straight to Newark Airport for $15. Takes about 20 - 30 minutes. Very easy.
Make sure you check out 'Real New York Tours' an absolute must for a great sight seeing day in New York. Ask for Luke.
Whenever i come bak to visit i will be staying in this hotel and this hotel only.
Well done Hilton.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Metallica01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea has had excellent reviews in Tripadvisor and that was one of the biggest reasons I chose it too. I would describe the hotel to be quite nice but not excellent.

+ nice and helpful staff
+ clean and new hotel
+ nice view from 23rd floor
+ microwave and fridge
+ close to metro stations
+ large bed and large room too for a solo traveller

- the location is not ideal, you need to take metro to go to Statue of Liberty or Central Park. I would prefer some other location during my next visit even though the hotel was ok.
- daily cleaning done at 4.30PM
- the bathroom sink was broken and had been fixed (but did not look very elegant)
- during the check out day cleaning personnel came to ask me 3 times when I am about to leave (first one at 9AM)
- hotel breakfast is rather expensive and the quality is not as good as it could be
- they promised the gym to be open 24/7 but actually it opened at 6AM every morning

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FemaleFinnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#163 of 467 in New York City
1,884 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#210 of 467 in New York City
821 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#57 of 467 in New York City
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#312 of 467 in New York City
1,998 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#114 of 467 in New York City
843 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#263 of 467 in New York City
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#148 Family Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#198 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy's, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing