We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, great location, clean room and the best hotel staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great location, clean room and the best hotel staff.”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed in a dorm room with a friend. The room is basic but very clean and more than sufficient for our needs. We had fresh linen every day and the shared bathrooms were clean and there were a few of them on our floor so we never had to queue for one.

The common areas were really good, with tables and chairs and comfy sofas to chat with other guests, eat, watch movies or use the WiFi.

The location is fantastic considering the rooms rates. Only a few stops away from Times Square and the area around the hotel has plenty of restaurants, diners, shops etc as well.

And the best thing about the hotel is the staff. They were all very friendly and helpful. They're there 24 hours a day and always ready to help, advice, chat.
The customer care was excellent and the hotel has the best staff I've ever met, and I worked in hotels when I was at Uni!
They were absolutely lovely and I would definitely love to go back to New York and stay at the hotel and meet them all again!

I will recommend this hotel to anyone I know who's going to NY and I most definitely would consider going there again.

(Erica, London)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eri1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    507
    264
    91
    99
See reviews for
114
341
234
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We were thrilled that we found a place with reasonable reviews and affordable prizes in NY but we still didn't expect too much. So we were positively surprised when we saw the hostel. Friendly and helpfull staff, a very compfy "living room" area and a big room. We stayed in a twin room with shared bath outside. From the very start we felt at home...the room is nothing too special but still has a nice atmosphere. The location was better than expected, since the underground was just around the corner and that line (forgot what number) basically takes you to every important sight. I really loved the area, it wasn't as touristy as further downtown but still within walking distance to central park. So we often walked downtown through Central Park, which is quite a walk but definitely worth it.
I have also recommended this hostel to a friend of mine and she enjoyed her stay as well!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I staid in Broadway Hotel and Hostel for 4 days in July/2012, the hostel was a very good experience. Location is great, close to Central Park and to the subway lines west from it. We had no problem getting around Manhattan with the subway in a nice walking distance from the Hostel.
Front desk was nice and helpful, always helped us out when needed. There is a wide common area in the ground floor where you can eat and whatch television and access wifi
The room was nice, with lots of space and a locker inside, which is good for safety, Bathrooms were always clean and we never had to wait in line to use it.
Bad parts about the hostel: No Breakfast, No internet in the rooms. Only ONE elevator and it is really slow and takes forever to show up.

Room Tip: The elevator is really slow and it takes forever to arrive. Chosse a room in the lower floors so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank João M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

On our trip to America we stayed at this hotel twice. The first time we arivved straight from flying in, we were tired and hot. We were greated by very effecient receptionists, dont let their your fool you. They were wwelcoming and helpful. Great so far.

We had decided to stay in one of the rooms with it's on en suite facilities. The room was great, huge walk in shower, ample room in the w.c. There were no wardrobes as such, but there was a hanging rail with hangers, plenty or drawers, all in all a pretty good room.

We didnt eat in the hotel so we cant comment on the food, but we did take advantage of the free wifi downstairs.

We loved the location of the hotel, less than a 5 minute walk from the nearest subway, less than ten minutes to central park and lots of places to eat for all budgets in the area. The rooms themselves were quiet, we werent disturbed by any internal noise, the noice of the traffic eases at night and it becomes quite a quiet area.

We had a couple of late nights out and didnt feel uncomfortable in the area.

Our second stay was just as good, the people on reception were effecient and friendly.

We loved both our stays, the hotel is an absolute bargian for being on Manhattan Island, so close to all the sights. We would stay here again when we next vistit new york

Room Tip: I would definetly pick one with a private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank niaandjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

After staying in a really awful hostel previously it was nice to find a good one. We had a private room with shared bathroom. The room was clean and done up everyday by the maid service. There were two shared bathrooms on our side of the floor which meant you basically never had to wait long for a bathroom. The location is good on the upper west side. It is close to the subway and within walking distance of lots of good restaurants. The only negative is that you can't pick up wifi in the rooms, you have to go into the lobby/lounge area and it can be quite slow at times.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

When I was planning my trip to Syracuse N.Y., I wanted to find a hostel. I found one. I then called the hostel and management was very nice. They were very friendly and I decide to book a stay.I discovered that the hostel was located on Oak Street and intersected with James Street.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MusicMom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We chose this place based upon online reviews and price. We were a little concerned because it was quite cheap in comparison to the competition, but were pleasantly surprised.

The place is well located on the Upper West Side, close to Central Park and the subway, so getting in and out of downtown is easy. The staff are very friendly and are happy to provide assistance or give advice if needed. The reservation was correct, which is even better.

The stairs are slow, but that's no problem because the stairs are available. The only other problem is that there is no to dry one's hands in the bathroom - you have to go back to your room or remember to take a towel with you - hand dryers would go a long way.

Ultimately, if you're looking for a very basic room in a good location, I'd recommend this place. Good location, good basic rooms, friendly staff, what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IndustryBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#395 of 466 in New York City
533 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 466 in New York City
4,885 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 466 in New York City
11,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#226 of 466 in New York City
1,552 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 466 in New York City
7,072 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 466 in New York City
18,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Hotel and Hostel

Property: Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Address: 230 West 101 Street, (at 101st Street and Broadway), New York City, NY 10025-4905
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 164 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Broadway Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadway Hotel & Hostel is situated on the trendy Upper West Side. we offer clean, comfortable, and, most importantly, affordable New York City discount hotel rooms. A 15-minute ride from the heart of Times Square! Designed to satisfy even the smallest travel budgets, our chic yet inexpensive hotel provides wonderful value, in a colorful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Broadway Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel New York City
Broadway Hotel Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing