We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place to stay to experience NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Toronto
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Place to stay to experience NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Do you want to see NYC or stay spend hours in your Hotel Room?

If you wait to spend hours in your Hotel Room then this is not the accomodation for you.

Broadway Hotel and Hostel is the best of its kind and best bang for your buck.
1. Clean. Safe. Small but I had with a bathroom. This is all I need.
2. Very helpfull staff.
3. They have Kitchens and everything you need to save some money exploring NYC
4. Very close to the subway and minutes walk from Central Park.
5. Close to great restaurants and stores and plces to visit.
6. It is not smack central but blanace that with the room prices then it is worth it.
7. The people are patrons are young, vibrant and energetic. Its a friendly place.

Spend your money seeing things and dining out. Dont spend it in an expensive accomodation. This is the best reason to choose Broadway Hostel.

Room Tip: Your own bathroom is a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelosToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    494
    255
    89
    96
See reviews for
108
331
228
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

While the hostel check-in area is nice, there is great free wifi and TVs to watch, the actual rooms are very basic and the bathroom area average. I had another friend who ended up not coming and when I told the check-in staff they said it was fine but when I came home late at night they had put someone else in my room without notifying me. The other guest was very strange and made the stay quite uncomfortable. Lastly, while the location is ok there are much better locations in NYC. By NY standards very good value for money but that is about all the value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EFBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Check in - friendly staff, quick process, need to pay upfront though.
Room - tidy, clean. It is well known that their rooms are basic and small, so I have no complaints.
Toilet/shower - relatively tidy considering the number of people using the toilet. Would do much much better with some hangers though!
Hairdryer - available upon request but need to deposit your passport to get it.
Taxi - booked a taxi to travel to the airport from hotel. The staff was extremely helpful.
Price - while more expensive than most other European countries (except France), it is definitely good value for money for NYC (which is just too expensive to travel to).
Location - short walk to closest subway station, but the station itself is actually far away from the main tourist spots.

Overall - good value for money, but don't expect a lot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC-relax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
135 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

In the city for a couple days solo, main objective was to see the Armory Show at 100 at the New York Historical Museum. Didn't want to spend a fortune on a room I knew I wouldn't spend much time in. Searching found this place in the right part of Manhattan and the price for a room with shared bathroom was very reasonable. Nothing fancy but fairly quiet. Saturday night was a little noisy and required a search down the hall for a farther bathroom but the other 2 nights it was quiet and almost felt like I had the place, or at least the 5th floor, to myself.

This is not a plush stay but perfectly fine... adequate.... for the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MspTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

When it comes to accommodation I'm fairly OCD, I like a certain level of cleanliness, and don't like finding dirt or stray hair around the place. My mum and I were in NY for nine days to visit my sister, so budget was extremely important to us, and that led us to this place. We were extremely impressed with it (and had nine days to find a fault, but couldn't!). The bathrooms and rooms are cleaned every day, the room (we had two double beds) was a good size, with mattresses/pillows etc quite comfortable.

Best bits were the fact that there was a sink and a mirror in the room, meaning we were able to do things like brush our teeth without having to tie up a bathroom all the time. The only "downside" is definitely the noise at night. Even with the window closed you can hear sirens and people all night long. I can't compare it to other forms of accommodation in NY (if you can hear city noise there), so it's not something I am holding against this place. I would definitely stay here again because the staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was fantastic for those on a budget. Earplugs would be recommended, or really tiring yourself out during the day so you're extremely tired at night!

There was free wi-fi in the lobby, and I found I could access it from my room on the fifth floor as well, but only if you're in a room right near the elevator. Speaking of the elevator, it is quite old and slow, so I got quite a good workout with the stairs.

Overall, the hotel and the location is fantastic. It's a couple of streets down from the subway stop on 103rd St, and also near some wonderful little food places. We would definitely stay here again if we were to visit NY another time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's on a quiet side, and try and shower around 11pm - bathrooms seemed to be l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel is inexpensive, the staff are always friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and the shared bathrooms are always well-maintained. Free wi-fi access is available in the lobby and lounge, though not yet in the rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms on 101st street are quieter than those that look onto Broadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

If you are looking for a hotel, don't go to this place, this is a hostel, with basic but clean rooms, much noise during the day and a shared bathroom.
I've been in this hotel/hostel 2 times, and never had a bad experience. Everything is clean (not shining but clean enough), beds are old but comfortable, staff is friendly and the hostel is close to central park and the subway.
Bring some ear plugs though, there can be some noise in the hallway or on the street.

Conclusion, if you are planning a budget trip to NYC, and if you are looking for a good place to sleep, nothing fancy but clean enough and nice, this is a fantastic choice!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Korolyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#389 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#309 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,846 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Hotel and Hostel

Property: Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Address: 230 West 101 Street, (at 101st Street and Broadway), New York City, NY 10025-4905
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Broadway Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadway Hotel & Hostel is situated on the trendy Upper West Side. we offer clean, comfortable, and, most importantly, affordable New York City discount hotel rooms. A 15-minute ride from the heart of Times Square! Designed to satisfy even the smallest travel budgets, our chic yet inexpensive hotel provides wonderful value, in a colorful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Broadway Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel New York City
Broadway Hotel Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing