We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great staff, very helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Broadway Hotel and Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff, very helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

The hostel was in a great location, walking distance to Central Park, great cheap restaurants close by. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. The had good amenities, and free movies in the common room every night.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria59066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    490
    254
    89
    95
See reviews for
108
328
227
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

I stayed almost 3 weeks at the hostel in a 4 bed dorm. The staff were more than helpful, i always felt completely safe, especially since this was the first coed hostel i was staying in. The room was cold and the hot water not always working, however the bed was clean!!! that was a major factor in staying at this hostel. Yeah there are renovations but it just shows that the hotel is trying to make itself even better than it is. Definately recommend this hotel to anyone, including my grandparents and will be returning November 2009 for yet another wonderful stay. There is a common room - which always showed movies, very friendly atmosphere, location is far from most things but your in NY to sight see so walking everywhere is not a problem.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happy-sydney09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2009

I am still waiting for a response to my review which is no longer posted. I checked my bag which contained text books and personal items; I handed it to an employee and that is the last time I saw it. It was a lap top bag although for me it contained expensive text books that I needed for my classes. No one was helpful when I tried to pick it up. I tried multiple calls once I returned to Minnesota, I faxed the requested form, Jeremy never got back to me. This left a very negative impression and caused a lot of hassles and expense to replace the stolen items.

Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank rippedf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadwaymgt, Supervisor at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, 9 July 2009
I am very distressed to read this review. We take pride in the fact that our storage system is very secure and very responsible. If you would like you can send an email to guestservices@broadwayhotelnyc.com with a list of items and I will personally look into this situation myself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Wexford
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

After searching the internet we found the Broadway Hotel to be one of the cheapest hotels in Manhatten, perfect for spending the extra money on sightseeing and shopping! Its located just 3 blocks from the nearest subway and in a lovely part of the island, surrounded by nice restaurants.The rooms were clean with comfy beds, air conditioning, nice powerful shower and were serviced everyday.Staff were really friendly too!Its basic but perfect for tourists who spend the day sightseeing!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday_queenWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

This is really not like a hostel as my husband and I know them...there is no common room and the kitchen is basically non-existent, which was very disappointing as this was one of the main ways we hoped to save $ in the expensive city of NY. There is only one fridge which ws always packed solid and hot water and access to showers was limited. Staff were ok, not overly friendly or interested in their customers. A suggestion to the establishment: at least put some decent curtains or blinds in rooms so you are not woken early by the first bit of light, some travellers have travelled far and need a good sleep, no matter if it is morning. Maybe you could find something better??

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trekking09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2009

Stayed there for 4 nights in the middle of May, 2009. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful, at all hours of the day and night! The washrooms were very clean, though as in many hostels I've stayed at, on some days there was no hot water past 10am. We stayed in a 4 person room with (very basic) bunk beds (room 223). The room was rather gloomy and must have been located near a kitchen vent or something because there was a constant smell of cooking grease present (this provided us with a core inside joke of our trip, 'the french fry room').

The setup of the hostel was not very conducive to meeting other people and hanging out. There was an area with chairs and a few TVs and a bunch of computers for (paid) internet surfing, but nothing in the way of a place where you could have a drink with people and mingle.

The location was great with a great food place across the street (Broadway Bagel). Tons of options to choose from for every meal. We definitely enjoyed that. The hostel was also 2 blocks from a subway stop. It was a bit of a ride to places like Soho, but the lower price of the hostel was worth it.

Overall, it provided what we would expect from a hostel. It could improve on a couple of things like a bar or better lounge area, free internet, and the closing of french fry rooms :P Still, it was clean and in a good location. Recommended!

P.S. there is a parking garage just down the street.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kochampiwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadwaymgt, Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, 5 June 2009
Thank you for your review of the Broadway. We are happy to hear that your stay here was mostly enjoyable.

We always appreciate feedback (whether good or bad), so that we can use it as a guide to continually improve our services. We hope that your next stay will be even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2009

I've been there for 9 nights and it was ok. There are lots of people complaining about the pictures, but there are lots of places that the pictures are even better than the real place.

I stayed at the hostel part at a room with 4 beds and I was luck of having friendly roommates. The bathrooms at my floor were clean almost all the time and the linen and towels were changed everyday. The location is fine, close to places for eating and a small walking distance for the 103st station.

The only thing that I didn't like was the wifi connection, because you have to go to the lobby with the laptop, I think that for the future the staff should install some routers at the other floors... And the wifi signal was very poor, the connection failed lots of times... it was a little bit desapointing.

But if I come back to NY I will consider that place. It was fine for me.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank popdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#215 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,652 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#386 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#264 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Hotel and Hostel

Property: Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Address: 230 West 101 Street, (at 101st Street and Broadway), New York City, NY 10025-4905
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 166 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Broadway Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadway Hotel & Hostel is situated on the trendy Upper West Side. we offer clean, comfortable, and, most importantly, affordable New York City discount hotel rooms. A 15-minute ride from the heart of Times Square! Designed to satisfy even the smallest travel budgets, our chic yet inexpensive hotel provides wonderful value, in a colorful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Broadway Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel New York City
Broadway Hotel Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing