We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, clean and affordable hostel with nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
rachel1040
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, clean and affordable hostel with nice staff”
Reviewed 23 July 2009

I stayed at Broadway hotel and hostel for ten days in july. I was a bit ancious for the stay when i read in someones review that they only would recommend this hostel to homeless, my expectations were also very low. I traveled with three other friends, and we lived in to double rooms. The rooms was very nice, one double bed, TV, bathroom, air-condition and also a cooling fan in the ceiling. With other words: all we needed. The room was clean, and the housemaids cleaned the rooms every day if you wanted to (included in the price).

At the first floor, it was a small kitchen the guests could use with a micro, refridgerator and cookingplates if you have a strickt budget and can`t afford eating out every night.


If your`re planning a trip to New York, i would really recommend Broadway hostel and hotel:)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadwaymgt, Supervisor at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, 5 August 2009
I am very happy that you left our hostel with such a favorable impression of our facility. We really love to hear when our guests have had a good time here at the Broadway. We look forward to having you back as a guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    498
    262
    90
    97
See reviews for
110
336
229
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We decided to drive to NYC from Maryland and were looking for a cheap hotel as close as possible to Times Square. So keeping in mind that we reserved this hotel the day before, I can't complain. One thing I learned while shopping around for a hotel, is that NYC hotels have 2 different kinds of rooms: Either you get your own private bathroom or have to use a shared bathroom. This means that you have to use a public bathroom for the entire floor!

So when I called to book my room, I requested 2 rooms with 2 double beds in each room. Either I'm confused as to the meaning on double beds, or NY considers double beds to be twin beds!

After checking in, we were waiting a while for the elevator. Since it was taking too long, we opted to take the stairs. Boy was that the worst thing I could have done! It just put a sour taste in my mouth for this hotel! The stairway halls were very narrow, dark, and dirty! I kept praying that I stranger wouldn’t be waiting further up to rob me! I accidentally entered the wrong floor as the doors do not have a number to let you know which floor you are on. Boy what a mistake! I think I had entered the floor for people actually living here! It sort of reminded me of the hotel in the movie "Coming to America!" where it was filthy and had mice everywhere! (Not that I actually saw any-but can imagine just by the looks!) After hauling my luggage up to my room- I finally find the correct floor!! As I step into my room, I realize that it’s not the rooms that I had booked. I look for a phone to call the lobby- but to my surprise- there were no phones in the room! Just my luck I didn’t have the hotel number programmed to my cell phone, plus why would I have to waste my minutes calling them?!?!

I turn right back around and have to go right back down the filthy stairs! By then I was aggravated that no one had offered to help me carry my luggage to the third floor, and that I had to go all the way back down to inform them of the mistake. I tell the receptionist that she made a mistake. I had requested 2 rooms with 2 double beds in each since there were 4 people staying in each room. She then proceeded to tell me that those were double beds! I think I would have let it go under different circumstances, but I took her attitude as “Well, you’ve already paid- now you’re screwed!” I asked if we can get 2 additional rooms at a discounted price then and they were not very accommodating! But she did offer to provide extra blankets and pillows for someone to sleep on the floor!! (Isn’t that against fire code policy??)

We ended up staying there since I didn’t want the hassle of looking for another hotel on such short notice and the majority that I had previously looked up were already booked. We only needed the room to sleep and shower- and they did their purpose. In regards to the shower- either you need to get up extra early or wait until very late at night to take your shower as the hot water is very scarce here!

All in All- it all just goes back to the saying “You get what you pay for!”
But I was just so aggravated that the pictures on their website made it seem like they were such a nicer hotel! I felt really bad with my extended family for choosing this hotel!

So the big question is – would I stay there again? Definitely not! Next time I will definitely pay the extra bucks to stay in a cleaner hotel!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadwaymgt, Supervisor at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, 9 July 2009
At the Broadway we offer two different types of rooms, Shared Dormitory (Hostel Rooms) or Standard Hotel rooms (private bathroom, queen size bed). It sounds to me that you booked the twin private, which is a hostel room for just two people, bunk bed style. Even though you are "sharing" a bathroom, there is NOT just one bathroom per floor--there are 3-4 bathrooms per wing. We make sure our cleaning staff clean those facilites reguarly and thoroughly. Yes, we do only have one elevator but our stairwell is properly lit and is always in pristine order and very clean. Right above each door is a sign posted denoting which floor you are on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

The hostel was in a great location, walking distance to Central Park, great cheap restaurants close by. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. The had good amenities, and free movies in the common room every night.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria59066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

I stayed almost 3 weeks at the hostel in a 4 bed dorm. The staff were more than helpful, i always felt completely safe, especially since this was the first coed hostel i was staying in. The room was cold and the hot water not always working, however the bed was clean!!! that was a major factor in staying at this hostel. Yeah there are renovations but it just shows that the hotel is trying to make itself even better than it is. Definately recommend this hotel to anyone, including my grandparents and will be returning November 2009 for yet another wonderful stay. There is a common room - which always showed movies, very friendly atmosphere, location is far from most things but your in NY to sight see so walking everywhere is not a problem.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy-sydney09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2009

I am still waiting for a response to my review which is no longer posted. I checked my bag which contained text books and personal items; I handed it to an employee and that is the last time I saw it. It was a lap top bag although for me it contained expensive text books that I needed for my classes. No one was helpful when I tried to pick it up. I tried multiple calls once I returned to Minnesota, I faxed the requested form, Jeremy never got back to me. This left a very negative impression and caused a lot of hassles and expense to replace the stolen items.

Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank rippedf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadwaymgt, Supervisor at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, 9 July 2009
I am very distressed to read this review. We take pride in the fact that our storage system is very secure and very responsible. If you would like you can send an email to guestservices@broadwayhotelnyc.com with a list of items and I will personally look into this situation myself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

After searching the internet we found the Broadway Hotel to be one of the cheapest hotels in Manhatten, perfect for spending the extra money on sightseeing and shopping! Its located just 3 blocks from the nearest subway and in a lovely part of the island, surrounded by nice restaurants.The rooms were clean with comfy beds, air conditioning, nice powerful shower and were serviced everyday.Staff were really friendly too!Its basic but perfect for tourists who spend the day sightseeing!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday_queenWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2009

This is really not like a hostel as my husband and I know them...there is no common room and the kitchen is basically non-existent, which was very disappointing as this was one of the main ways we hoped to save $ in the expensive city of NY. There is only one fridge which ws always packed solid and hot water and access to showers was limited. Staff were ok, not overly friendly or interested in their customers. A suggestion to the establishment: at least put some decent curtains or blinds in rooms so you are not woken early by the first bit of light, some travellers have travelled far and need a good sleep, no matter if it is morning. Maybe you could find something better??

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trekking09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#401 of 468 in New York City
520 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#220 of 468 in New York City
1,531 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#230 of 468 in New York City
4,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 468 in New York City
1,356 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 468 in New York City
11,090 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Hotel and Hostel

Property: Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Address: 230 West 101 Street, (at 101st Street and Broadway), New York City, NY 10025-4905
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 162 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Broadway Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadway Hotel & Hostel is situated on the trendy Upper West Side. we offer clean, comfortable, and, most importantly, affordable New York City discount hotel rooms. A 15-minute ride from the heart of Times Square! Designed to satisfy even the smallest travel budgets, our chic yet inexpensive hotel provides wonderful value, in a colorful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Broadway Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel New York City
Broadway Hotel Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing