We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get the best of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“you get the best of everything”
Reviewed 16 October 2009

the nicest people work here! clean rooms,3 to 4 bathrooms on each floor,luggage storage, Americana restaurant beside the hostel open 24 hours, internet, tv room, kitchen, and if you need someone to drive you around ask for Marc he´ll take you around in new york, he has the nicest personality, best music, and great company. The reception desk is always open and the best people work here, tell them where you wanna go they help you find the way. you can borrow hairdryer, adapter so you don´t need to take with you!
than we have the awesome guys they´ll make you laugh and relaxed, ask for Julio or Ishmail! They´re the best, always ready to help. This is indeed the best hostel I ever been to, everyone is so professional and very very friendly and polite! And don´t forget the ladies who cleaning the rooms, they´re so friendly and believe me you´ll be so happy when you get back after a day out in the city and find your room fresh and clean, clean towels every day!! And of course Leslie, the receptionist, I call her JLO-- she´s the cutest and so professional! The tv is always on and they show movies, you can relax downstairs while you´re waiting for your friends. My daughter and I stayed for 12 days, very very satisfied and pleased, I felt at home, next year I´ll take my sons too...Thankyou everyone at the Broadway hostel for making my stay 100% enjoyable...love Teo and G

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank topaz200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    507
    264
    91
    99
See reviews for
114
341
234
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

I booked a private room for two nights and a room with two bunkbeds for another two so I've experienced both. There was a problem with the shower in the private room (no hot water) but housekeeping was able to fix it within fifteen minutes. Other than that the room was clean, large enough and came with airconditioning and a tv. The shower in (!) the room is all glass and the toilet semi see through so ye who enter here abandon all shame, or use the surprisingly clean and comfortable bathroom down the hall. There are three per wing per floor so they're seldomly all occupied and contain bath and/or shower, a toilet and a sink - you'll have it all to yourself.
The elevator is small, slow, and seems to have a mind of its own so you're better off taking the stairs unless you're on the sixth floor.
The staff is amazing. I was unlucky enough to share my bunkbed room with three noisy, smelly and scary guys so I asked whether I could book a private room instead in order to be able to get some sleep but they offered me another room, upgrading me to friendly and recently bathed roommates.
The walls in this hotel are a little thin so if your neighbours happen to be on a romantic weekend you'll need some earplugs but hey, chances are you'll be out on the town. It's NYC after all.
Be sure to ask them to book you the airlink shuttle to the airport. It's $20 so that will save you about $30- $40, depending on whether you're traveling to Newark or JFK.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Persephone83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2009

My cousin and I have now stayed here twice and would go again without a doubt. With the Subway one block away it is perfect for getting up in the morning, catching the sub, while grabbing a coffee on the way.

I never had a bad nights sleep here. The lobby is great as are the staff.

This hostel as everything one would need...internet access at good price, films every night/day and a nice clean kitchen.

If your going to NYC, stay here!!!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2009

I was certainly a bit wary about booking this since hostels in NY can be very hit and miss, but having spent almost 2 weeks in the Broadway Hostel I can safely say I won't be staying anywhere else in Manhattan again. I'm not sure why the overall rating on tripadvisor is so low (maybe the hostel was done up recently) but I found it great value.
The location is excellent - beside the main subway line (less than 10 mins into Time Sq) - and the hostel itself is very clean and comfortable. Bedding and towels are changed everyday and the bathrooms are also very well maintained. The staff are friendly and helpful (although checking in and out can take a while) and there is always security on the door to make sure only residents get in.
The only thing I would fault the hostel on is that there is no real communal area (like a canteen) where people could have a drink and some food. There is a very comfortable area where you can watch tv and check the internet but this is quite small and doesn't really encourage interaction with the other guests.
Aside from this small thing though it was perfect. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thekennymeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadwaymgt, Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, 8 October 2009
We are constantly thinking of ideas to improve our services for the guests. Our housekeeping staff takes great pride in providing daily services for all our guests.

We will be looking into upgrading our communal areas with new kitchen facilities and more added fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

We stayed here just before going home after a summer in america and it is brilliant! the rooms are very spacious with a sink in each & clean bedding & towels are brought every day! there is an awesome communal room with setees & films on all the time.. free wifi... & a kitchen for anyone to use! the reception staff are so kind & help with directions if you need any!! they come out with some funny stuff too!! theres always a bouncer on the door who helps with any bags or luggage & when you check out there is a room to keep your bags in for cheap!! the hostel is only a 2 minute walk from 103rd street subway & there are loads of shops & restaurants nearby!!! we even walked to times square a couple of times & it only took an hour!! ohh & central park is a 10 minute walk too.. you can go watch some early sunday morning baseball practice haha!! if you want to stay somewhere for cheap.. with great people & loads of amenities close by then this hostel is definately the place to stay in new york!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bexiecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Location is good, pretty near to the subway station. Price is cool in NY, I will go there again if I travel alone to NY.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Great hostel, great location (2 street from subway 1-2-3). We appreciated the individual AC in each bedroom.
Washrooms are clean, there is even a rain shower head !
Some hooks on the walls of the bedroom and maybe foam the reduce the noise of banging of the fire door at night would be greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyageureCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadwaymgt, Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, 8 October 2009
Thank you for your suggestions on The Broadway Hotel. Your Ideas and feedback is important to us. We will be adding hooks in our guest rooms very soon and the suggestion in regards to our fire doors is something we will be looking in to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#395 of 466 in New York City
533 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 466 in New York City
4,885 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 466 in New York City
11,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#224 of 466 in New York City
1,552 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 466 in New York City
7,073 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 466 in New York City
18,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Hotel and Hostel

Property: Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Address: 230 West 101 Street, (at 101st Street and Broadway), New York City, NY 10025-4905
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 164 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Broadway Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadway Hotel & Hostel is situated on the trendy Upper West Side. we offer clean, comfortable, and, most importantly, affordable New York City discount hotel rooms. A 15-minute ride from the heart of Times Square! Designed to satisfy even the smallest travel budgets, our chic yet inexpensive hotel provides wonderful value, in a colorful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Broadway Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel New York City
Broadway Hotel Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing