We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally recommend ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of CitySights NY

CitySights NY
Book In Advance
More Info
US$109.00*
and up
Super New York Package including Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Observatory and Statue of...
Ranked #109 of 595 Tours in New York City
Type: City Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are acknowledged as New York City’s best-value double-decker sightseeing packages including major attractions and activities such as harbor cruises, museum visits, helicopter tours, shopping day trips and one-day escorted motorcoach tours to Boston, Washington, D.C. and Philadelphia & Amish Country.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Totally recommend ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Simply great. Fun tours, friendly guides and buses came every 15minutes as promised. The days ran like a well oiled machine. Really had a great time.

Helpful?
Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySightsNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at CitySights NY, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Glad you had a great time! We appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Thank you for choosing CitySights New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    446
    229
    186
    410
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Central Alberta
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Depends on who you get....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

we had hopped on/off these busses on the downtown tour over a couple of days. Some guides are more interesting and easy to understand than others. it is a good way to get an overall view of the city. Overall not a waste of your money.
The Brooklyn tour was about 2 hours. we got lucky as we had a long-term Brooklyn resident as a guide. He was funny and informative.
There was a bus accident while we were in NYC caused by one of the drivers of this company. Who according to the news had a spotty driving record - they should be more careful who they hire. Some tourists sustained minor injuries and it could have been worse.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank spagirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySightsNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at CitySights NY, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Although most of our tour guides are truly excellent, sometimes you may find one tour guide to be better than another. We carefully structure our tours to be very affordable and to provide great value and we are glad that your tour included the options that you were interested in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Unprofessional”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

It started off good during the downtown tour until the guide started talking. I was embarrassed by his English. A lady tried to plug her headset in and it wouldn't go in. Guides comment, "there's nothing I can do." How about an apology? Then he proceeded to tell us that he didn't get in until 5am only to wake up for work at 6. I didn't really appreciate the phrase "Christ's sakes" either. We were then given misinformation regarding which stops to get off for our desired destination. The only time he got animated was when he gave us his tips speech. It only got worse when we waited for over an hour to get a bus to show up for the uptown tour. When a bus did arrive, there were only 5 seats left for approximately 25 waiting customers. We were told another would be coming in 5 minutes. Another 15 minutes go by and one finally shows up. Now we are at Central Park and he's telling the waiting customers that there's no room. We have bypassed 2 additional stops due to no room. My suggestion is try a different company.

Helpful?
Thank Skipit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySightsNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at CitySights NY, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Although most of our tour guides are truly excellent, you may find one tour guide to be better than another. We are proud to offer the largest fleet in New York with many convenient stops along the way. As our tour tickets are sold giving you the flexibility to use them whenever you are ready, we can only estimate the number of actual buses that will be needed. We usually have an ample amount of buses running throughout the day, but we do realize that there may be a time when the passenger volume may be at an uncommonly higher number than usual.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
1 review
“Horrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Booked a boat trip with City Sights NY. Somehow ended up with tickets to a different boat trip. We were told in the confirmation e-mail to go pick up our voucher at 42nd Street. When we got there, we were told the printer was broken and we were responsible for getting our tickets printed. Nobody seemed to know where we had to be and at what time; three different people told us three different places. Nobody seemed eager to help us. Ended up wasting well over an hour. Avoid this place at all costs.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lilian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySightsNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at CitySights NY, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are sorry that you had difficulty understanding the schedule of the tour you booked. We prepare printed and web based materials that explain the content and schedule of each of our tours. We encourage our guests to call our phone sales team with any questions they may have before making any reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lots of quirky trivia knowledge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I loved hearing random tidbits about everything. I took the two day pass for all the tours and each tour guide had his/her unique personality to offer. Make sure to bring cash for tips!

I am taking off one star because the website says departures for the sight seeing ferry go until 3:30 but does not tell you that 3:30 is only for pickups from one of the islands. Just make sure to call in about this if you are concerned.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySightsNewYork, Guest Relations Manager at CitySights NY, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Glad you had great sightseeing experiences with our guides! We are sorry that you had difficulty understanding the schedule of the tour you booked. We prepare printed and web based materials that explain the content and schedule of each of our tours. We encourage our guests to call our phone sales team with any questions they may have before making any reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CitySights NY also viewed

 

Been to CitySights NY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing