We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hotel Alexander” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alexander
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Alexander”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed at Hotel Alexander in May for a short period, and I found it an excellent hotel. Our room was nice, renovated with a lovely bathroom, it was quiet and the beds were comfortable. It was large and had no trouble accommodating all our luggage. Our room was cleaned every day which we appreciated and the staff were friendly. We were lucky to find a great hotel at a last minute and were also lucky enough to be able to stay for a short period of time even though this is an extended stay hotel. Evan and his team are all very helpful and if we visit NYC again we will be staying at HA. Great location too, only a few blocks from the subway and delis, restaurants and other shops. thank you! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lfor1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    151
    73
    18
    50
See reviews for
34
138
69
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

This is not exactly a hotel. This is a long-term stay option (at least 30 days). The rate is very very good (I paid below 50 bucks a night for a room that could potentially sleep 2-4 people -- two double or queen beds).

I lived here for 8 to 9 months (2 school semesters). It is very affordable -- cheaper than NYU shared dorm -- and comfortable. The staff is nice and as a student who is preoccupied with work I appreciate the weekly cleaning. I had a room with a shared bathroom but that was no issue. I think at the most, 3 rooms share 2 bathrooms. A shared bathroom also means that it is cleaned daily. I am not sure how often private baths are cleaned.

The only downside is that there is no kitchen -- only a microwave -- but that is expected since it's a hotel. Laundry is also cheap at $1 a load.

The hotel is pretty flexible. For example, I went on a month-long vacation over winter and I could leave my stuff in the luggage room meaning I could save on the rent while I was gone.

The bad reviews here: understandable -- slow internet, may not be TOO clean (I saw one baby cockroach), slow elevator

BUT for students on tight budgets, it's perfect especially if the alternative is a dorm room (that would have worse beds, no cleaning, no fluffy towels.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Peixin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

I emailed the apparently part-time manager of the hotel for a rate, (the front desk does not know the rates and can't book rooms) after he sent us prices, I replied that I wanted to book. When I went to check in there was availbility but because the manager didn't enter us into the computer we couldn't check-in. Tracked down the manager, (only there until noon) he still would not let us take a room. It was like trying to book a room in a communist era hotel. This is an extended stay residence. They don't want you unless you are booking for 1 month or longer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raphael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is my second time at this hotel and I would repeat it. The rooms have everything you need for a nice comfortable stay. It is just one block away from the subway station, several restaurants, good gym and different stores and very close to a yoga center. The neighborhood is so nice and you also have the beautiful Riverside Park one block away. The staff is nice and helpful.
First time I stayed here for 5 weeks and everything went well. You should come and try this very nice place to stay. Ana

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Sorry for mistakes, I'm not American, but I know what I'm talking about because I lived 5 moths here.
This expensive Hotel promotes wi-fi, but is that slow that it's like don't have it, most of the time it doesn't even work.
I had problems even with the heating that wasn't working. When after some days they fixed the heating, they didn't want to turn it on because outside was 50 degrees (to me it's cold and there was a terrible wind that was entering from the windows that don't close very well).
If you ask for clean towels they tell you that in the contract they are supposed to give them to you no more than once per week.
If you have problems with something they don't help you.
The lights of my room, used to work some day yes some day not.
I saw 3 times cockroaches and they didn't want to send somebody to do something, but the just gave me a spray.
The elevator is terribly slow and once stuck at the second floor for about 3 minutes (I was so scared!), but luckily it started again.
Useless say that when I told them, they didn't even pay attention.
Last thing, but not less important, after the first month sleeping there, me and my husband started having strong back pain (the mattress is horrible!).
The ONLY positive thing is that is pretty close to the subway and that is not really dirty.

So if you are planning to stay here, I strongly suggest you to change plans!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Beatrice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Moved to New York and had problems finding an apartment and then had to wait for my apartment to become available. I stayed here for a month and a half, only complaint is that the rooms were a little small, but what isn’t in New York. Great value, staff were friendly, but not overbearing. Had an issue with my air conditioner and it was replaced within a couple hours. Area is great too: close to the 2-3 express train and Central Park. Lots of grocery shopping close by too. Would definitely recommend for anyone who needs a short term place to stay when moving to NYC.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Me and my girlfriend travelled to New York in December 2010. When we first arrived check in was quick and easy and only took a few minutes. we were given a room on the 6th floor which was basic but was perfect for us as we weren't planning on spending much time in it anyway! We were apprehensive about sharing a bathroom with other people as this was the first time we have ever done this. But to be honest it was no problem at all as the bathroom was always free and was right next to our room. So i wouldn't advise paying the extra for your own bathroom. The lift in the hotel was quite slow but thats just a minor rather picky observation. The hotel staff were also very friendly and helpful, we asked for advice a couple times about where to get off the subway and stuff, and they always went out of their way to explain everything to us. Also their was always someone on the reception 24 hours a day. Also they were quick to respond when we asked for clean towels, they were brought up really quickly. There was also internet available in the lounge area,you paid 1 Dollar and got 10 minutes which i thought was reasonable. The hotel was also in an ideal location for jumping on and off the subway as it was a two minute walk to the station. So overall i would definitely recommend this hotel to people looking to visit New York on a budget!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyRoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#305 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#299 of 463 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#422 of 463 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#387 of 463 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Upper West Side
Riverside Tower Hotel
Riverside Tower Hotel
#378 of 463 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel 99
Hotel 99
#50 of 168 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Property: Hotel Alexander
Address: 306 W 94th St, New York City, NY 10025-6828
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 168 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alexander 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel New York City
Hotel Alexander New York City
Hotel Alexander Nyc
Alexander New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing