We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming - not updated”
Review of Lafayette House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lafayette House
Ranked #393 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“charming - not updated”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had read about the hotel in the New Yorker as a "must stay". It was significantly less expensive than the other "must stay" rooms that were between $500-$800 per night. Our room was $350. We stayed in room #4. A very large room with a little kitchenette and a private porch. It was like staying in your aged Aunt's home (Well, if you were a Rockefeller!) Antique furniture, chandaliers and mirrors....

The room is very large and incredibly charming. The bed is comfortable and the staff are helpful and responsive. The amenities are upscale and generous. Hotel is in the Bowery - a great location near lots of cool restaurants.

All that said - it is not updated. The bathroom is quite old with a plastic shower curtain sticking to you....a sluggish drain in the tub...nowhere to put your stuff to get ready - a very old fashioned sink and the small mirror is high above the rather dimly lit sink. The porch - while an incredibly rare and lovely NY feature has very uncomfortable chairs. And...you better be in shape if you have luggage! There are very steep stairs to get in and even steeper to the second floor.

So if you are up for a little quirky ...and want romantic or different - this might be the perfect place! If you are looking for modern and luxurious - perhaps not....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmmlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    18
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
27
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I found this place from a friends recommendation in desperation as the hotel I previously booked had a broken air conditioner (it was 97f out). I called last minute and they had two rooms to pick from. I needed four nights so this was welcome news. As I walked up to the front door I had to second guess myself as it looked just like a normal SoHo brownstone. It is perfect. The best thing is not having to deal with a front desk- just helpful staff that magically appears from under the stairs - the incredible privacy and amazing comfort of being surrounded by early century antiques. The restaurant next door (right next door) serves comfort food (to your room if you wish) and of course just steps away are so many other great places. Wonderful location. Wi-Fi was fast. Room was cool intemp. Very clean. I can't wait to try another room. Maybe in the winter so I can use a fireplace.... Keep in mind that this is a little expensive and for the same price you could stay in a very nice hotel with all the usual services (bar, front desk, concierge etc)

Room Tip: I stayed in the basement- had my own lovely patio. It was great for late night glasses of wine- woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janell V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed in room #10 at the top of 2 very steep staircases. It was the heat wave of all heat waves and the room simply would not cool down. Also, the water in the bath sink had no pressure at all. As the room would not cool with the standard unit, they brought a fan and we still sweated through the night. Forget getting cool in the shower as the bathroom got no air at all. I complained about that fact that I was spending $325 for each of 3 nites and they moved us down to room #1 with a private courtyard for our last 2 nights. Very lovely. They were very accommodating and brought us complimentary waters, a oscillating fan and extra pillows. All my requests were immediately attended to. That said, the bathroom needs some work. Old, very poor lighting and the tub wouldn't drain during our last morning's showers. (nothing worse then standing in 4 "of water while you shower). Would I stay there again? Maybe. I see the room we were upgraded to was $450 or so. No way would I spend that. $325 tops. We went over to see the sister property "The Bowery Hotel" and saw a standard Queen for about the same price. Much brighter, great bathroom and of course, hotel services. The Layfayette House was very cool if you can get the courtyard. We had wine and cheese with our family and some friends and sat out there a long time. Very private, quiet and very New York. Great location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 49406Re_Act
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This property is a real find if, like me, you've had enough of corporate mid-town hotels.
You just have a room and a key - no concierge / bar / restaurant etc. so it's more like staying in someone's house (although you can order room service from the bar next door).
The decor is quirky and quaint - shabby chic meets Victoriana - the bathroom is particularly unusual with a old claw footed tub and brass taps.
We stayed in December and were grateful for the fire that you can light as you wish (gas with flames, not real wood!) - it really adds ambiance to an already spacious room.
The usual amenities and mini bar are on offer, with a few thoughtful extras like maps.
The location is great as well - easy walking distance into Soho and of course the lovely Bowery just around the corner for drinks.
This place is edgy and cool and beats more traditional hotels hands down.

Only criticisms would be that the TV was very old and it took us a long time to get any channels on it at all and also the iPod dock / alarm clock didn't work - but technology didn't really seem appropriate in our old-school room anyway!

Room Tip: We booked the garden room which is in the basement and has a little private terrace with chair and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank JerseyEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I love this property, as it's really well located close to bowery/east village and all of the restaurants and bars that come with the neighbourhood. The rooms are a lot larger than almost anything else I've seen in the city, and it's got a laid-back feel.
The mini bar is very cool and well stocked, without being too overpriced, and the design has real character.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

After very upsetting experience at another neighborhood hotel, found this jewel of a hotel completely by accident. Beautiful 'row house' hotel built in 1848 and in excellent shape! The room was clean and comfortable furnished in elegant Victorian style. The bath was huge with an 'olympic sized' tub equipped with an overhead shower that reminded me of a tropical rain. All the room amenities (and more) of modern and more expensive hotels. The staff couldn't be more accommodating or pleasant. Great place to stay with great value, especially for NYC. Highly recommended and will definitely stay again!

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Anyone staying here needs to realize this is a guest house, not a hotel. You are paying for a room only. There is no common space, no lounge, no front desk, no doorman, and no staff whatsoever after 10 pm. To charge these prices for so little in the way of services, the rooms had better be pretty great, and they are – large, beautifully if quirkily furnished, with comfortable seating, good firm bed, luxy bathroom and working fireplace. The pictures on the website are accurate. The problem is that if something goes wrong after hours, you are basically out of luck. In our case, the issue was a noisy party in the room below us, perhaps not a big deal for some people but it was very annoying for us. We tried both the operator and the “after hours” number – no answer from either. Ultimately it proved impossible to get hold of anyone on the hotel staff. The party ended eventually, but it would have been a big concern had there been something more seriously wrong. It was well into the following week before we got a call back from the hotel about our complaint. The staff when they did finally get in touch was apologetic and comped the room for that night, which we appreciated. So just be aware – lovely place in a great neighborhood, but casually managed. More like living on your own (amidst gorgeous Victoriana) than being pampered by a full service hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMN27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#189 of 468 in New York City
675 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#111 of 468 in New York City
582 reviews
Manhattan
Hotel East Houston
Hotel East Houston
#341 of 468 in New York City
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#147 of 468 in New York City
1,405 reviews
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#186 of 468 in New York City
617 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#118 of 468 in New York City
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette House

Property: Lafayette House
Address: 38 E 4th St, New York City, NY 10003-7008
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoHo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #393 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lafayette House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Lafayette House Hotel New York City
Lafayette Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing