We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lafayette House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in New York City
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Bowery Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
St. Marks Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
The Gatsby Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
PUBLIC(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Ridge Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Mercer Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
SIXTY LES(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crosby Street Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Off Soho Suites(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
23
19
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
19
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsworking fireplaceeast villagegas fireplacecomplimentary bottle of winearound the cornerstove topgreat place to stayexcellent locationbrownstonefurnitureheatingbathtubmanhattansubway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I chose the Lafayette House because of it's location and it's charm that I read about on Tripadvisor. My daughter and I stayed in No. 10 which is on the 3rd floor, has a rear view and windows on 3 walls. This king bedded room has velvet drapes, antique rugs over wood floors, an antique armoire, a chest of drawers, a cafe table with chairs and a lovely seetee. The very small kitchenette area has a frig - circa, 1940 - and a new mini frog. There is a stove top that we did not use. The bath is comfortable and is as small or large as any 4 star hotel in the city.

Upon check in, Asia met us at the front door and helped up to our room. She is lovely. The services at Lafayette House are first class. They are only a phone call away. The property has no lobby or front desk. It feels as though you are coming home to a rooming house in the 1900th century --- only nicer. The manager, Dave Partee, was the most gracious host and took our calls no matter what time. It's owner, Sean MacPherson also owns the Bowery Hotel which is around the corner. Their restaurant, GEMMA, is wonderful. The Lobby Bar at the Bowery Hotel is lovely and you feel as though you are in your home.
As a guest of Lafayette House you are invited to use the gym at The Bowery Hotel. The room is very small, intimate and wonderful.
The B Bar, next door, will delver meals to your room. Great perk.

Room Tip: I chose the Lafayette House because of it's location and it's charm that I read about on Tripadvisor. My daughter and I stayed in No. 10 which is on the 3rd floor, has a rear view and windows on 3 walls. This king bedded room has velvet drapes, antique rugs over wood floors, an antique armoire, a chest of drawers, a cafe table with chairs and a lovely seetee. The very small kitchenette area has a frig - circa, 1940 - and a new mini frog. There is a stove top that we did not use. The bath is comfortable and is as small or large as any 4 star hotel in the city. Upon check in, Asia met us at the front door and helped up to our room. She is lovely. The services at Lafayette House are first class. They are only a phone call away. The property has no lobby or front desk. It feels as though you are coming home to a rooming house in the 1900th century --- only nicer. The manager, Dave Partee, was the most gracious host and took our calls no matter what time. It's owner, Sean MacPherson also owns the Bowery Hotel which is around the corner. Their restaurant, GEMMA, is wonderful. The Lobby Bar at the Bowery Hotel is lovely and you feel as though you are in your home. As a guest of Lafayette House you are invited to use the gym at The Bowery Hotel. The room is very small, intimate and wonderful. The B Bar, next door, will delver meals to your room. Great perk.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emmy6_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Manager at Lafayette House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review! We would love to welcome you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

When you step into the small entry hall of the Lafayette House, you've crossed the portal of a time machine taking you 100 years back into Old New York. The narrow staircase leads to a series of private rooms, each decorated with turn of the century furniture, many with working (gas) fireplaces.

It would be wrong to call it a hotel, though very accommodating and knowledgeable staff are on duty most hours of the day to take care of your needs. The furniture and fixtures are a bit run down, but that's part of the charm, and makes the place seem a bit more welcoming and relaxed. Nice big bathrooms with deep soaking tubs, a good shower, and the rooms are quite large by typical New York hotel standards.

Sure there's no hotel bar or restaurant - who needs one, you're in the East Village! There's a great diner, B-Bar, a few steps away on 4th St, and one of the best wine bars in the city, Aroma, is right next door. On top of all that, it's actually less expensive than your typical sterile NYC hotel. If you want to take a trip to New York and want the feeling of actually living in the East Village rather than staying in a hotel, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This hotel has loads of charm and character and I love it. It's not the slick and shiny experience that you get at the big high rise hotels (and of those, I love the Standard High Line) but a stay at Lafayette House is a completely different view of NY. It feels like you're staying with some incredibly wealthy long-lost relative, in rooms that have a gorgeous decadence to them. It's in a great location in the East Village, and the B-Bar Grill downstairs does an amazing brunch. And all the character and charm doesn't compromise the facilities - the bathroom had a great shower and an enormous bathtub, and all the rooms have working fireplaces. The room was also so quiet, it was the best night's sleep I've ever had in NY - the secondary glazing must be completely soundproof. I would go back tomorrow and stay for a week if I could!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zeffer_Relli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The Lafayette House is a true TREASURE conveniently located to shopping and restaurants in the East Village. ATTENTION TO DETAIL is apparent immediately when you enter this well-kept brownstone. The mid-10th Century furniture offers a restful ambiance uncommon in NYC. Our room had a gas fire place adding additional charm. The bathroom tub and sink are likewise vintage, with an ingenious brass shower fixture (Barber Wilsons, London 1908). Additionally, the tub rim was capped with seemless marble. A relaxing bath in the copious tub is a real treat after a busy day in the City.

Room Tip: Room #5 has easy access from the front entrance and a nice view of the patio. Access to the patio is available on the lower floor.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carriagehouse37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We booked last minute on a Friday, and the staff quickly gave us the key and prepared the room, the French King Suite. We needed somewhere clean and quiet, and the Lafayette House was both. The original windows had another interior window installed overtop, so the room was quiet (the windows could still be opened). The bathroom was vintage, but clean and charming. The gas fireplace was a nice touch. We were concerned that smoking is allowed in the rooms, but a staff member said that an ionizer is used in all the rooms. We were surprised to smell no evidence of cigarette smoke. Linens were nice.There is a great bar and grill next door and fun Irish pub two doors down, so we thought the location was great. All in all, less expensive for our family for a place with lots of character.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanMaire_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews