We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Basso56

Basso56
Reserve with OpenTable
Basso56 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #74 of 13,554 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Description: Fine dinning restaurant
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We went surfing on trip advisor for our latest trip to the City and we were not dissappointed. We were able to snag a reservation a few days ahead, taking advantage of the fact that we didn't need to eat and then run to a show. My wife and I shared a pasta dish (Papardelle Con Gamberi E Punte Di Asparagi) and the grilled Branzino for our two course dinner. We were blown away. Everything was fresh and tasty.....as good as we've had on our many trips to Northern Italy......and we could not have asked for more attentive service.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,198
    496
    147
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, NH
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Many Happy Returns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

In New York for some opera, I saw no point in not returning to a favorite restaurant and had two lunches and three dinners at Basso 56. The branzino, a signature dish in one of the simplest preparations imaginable, was as good as always, and a special of a lamb shank over mushroom risotto was superb. The two-course prix fixe lunch for $18.95 is a real bargain and you can usually just come in off the street. Walking through the park, which starts three blocks away, is a great way to get rid of some of the calories you just put on. I will always eat at Basso 56 when in the city from New Hampshire.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PingConcordNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

For those of you searching for a restaurant in NYC near the theater district you need to check out Basso 56

We were celebrating our 28th wedding anniversary and selected Basso 56 after reading a number of reviews and checking their menu on-line

Special thanks to our waiter Alfredo

He took his time and had elegant charm ... And had a vested interest in our dining experience

He did not rush us and made some excellent recommendations

We enjoyed the atmosphere and the food

We will be sure to return in the future

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rbriotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We had a wonderful meal and great service at Basso56 before we going to the theatre. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We got married in New York recently and chose Basso56 for our dinner after the ceremony based on the reviews we had seen on Tripadvisor. We were delighted with our choice - they really helped to make it a lovely evening.

I e-mailed the restaurant about two months in advance about a table for 10. I traded messages with Alex who was very helpful. He greeted me on the door when we arrived which was a really nice touch.

We all really enjoyed our meals and I was very pleasantly surprised by the bill when it arrived - excellent value for money.

The service was extremely good and they even gave us a complementary bottle of prosecco and put candles in our desserts to help to make the occasion even more special.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basso56 also viewed

 

Been to Basso56? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing