We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a hostel than a hotel”
Review of The Soho Loft

The Soho Loft
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Soho Loft
Ranked #423 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 14 November 2007

I recommend this place for those who are comfortable with hostels.

You might think of it as a place where you'd live if you were new to Manhattan and didn't have much money:
- The rooms are small with no windows.
- There's no housekeeping.
- You might have to wait for a bathroom, there might not be hot water and some of the plumbing could be broken.
- The space may be used to host an event; you're expected to leave or stay in your room.
- It's very loud, due to the hardwood floors, thin walls, and the dance studio downstairs.

The biggest positive: the staff seemed fairly eager to please.

Note: This review is for Soho Loft at 199 Lafayette, whereas some of the other reviews seem to be for the unrelated Soho Loft at 153 Lafayette.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank dntla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2007

Do not stay here! This place is a disaster waiting to happen. We spent 5 long nights here in September. The guest rooms are tiny little spaces built out without windows, air, proper lighting, and any regard for inhabitation. The construction is scary; electrical wires without protective conduit, registers without air duct connections, a sliding glass door entry with a high threshold (a tripping hazard) NO LOCKS, 2 shared dirty bathrooms with exposed wires and hot water ONLY in one bathroom at a time. Additionally, one of the bathrooms had to have the hot water faucet in the sink running in order for the shower to work.

The pictures taken on this website in the public areas do show the design intent, although most of the wonderful furniture pieces photographed weren’t there. The rooms shown are gravely misrepresented. The “red” room is the only room with a real closet. The rest have cheap wardrobe boxes or hangers mounted on the wall, and one has an electrical/data closet being used as a closet. Each room has a double bed against one wall, thus the poor person sleeping against the wall has a challenge getting to the bathroom at night. One of the rooms has a tiny path around the bed, which a small child would struggle navigating around.

I don't understand how some of these reviews could be good. They must have stayed at a different place.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank LAtravelers007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2007

This hotel was great. The bed was really comfortable and the tv was nice as well. It is on the third floor without any elevators that I saw so you get a small workout - keep that in mind when carrying luggage. Never a lot of noise despite an event and being on top of a dance studio. Our room was not too hot or stuffy and I would prefer not having windows with that New York traffic outside. Simple small breakfast choices but for a single person or couple this place is great. Close to the subway and great location in SoHo - near great shops and food options.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pinkhurricane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2007

I went to the Soho Loft overnight for a business event in the area and found the experience to be really convenient for me. Some of the rooms are smaller than others, but it's not an uptown hotel, it's a downtown bed and breakfast. It's great if you're going to be in and out of town and just need a comfortable place to stay. I do plan on staying in the loft for future NY business visits.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2007

Staying at the Soho Loft was a wonderful experience. The people working there were extremely friendly. They made excellent restaurant recommendations and I felt like I was actually living in NYC. I would definately recommend this accomadation to friends, family and my business associates.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JRO79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2007

The writer who gave this hovel a rating of "5" was probably confusing it with another place called SoHo Loft a block or two south of this hole. My wife and I stayed at the SoHole Loft (the one at 199 Lafayette) the weekend of 10/5-10/7/07. We have done a great deal of traveling and have stayed at some of the best hotels and at some of the worst, but never have we encountered anything like this place. It was like a prison. The proprietess never cracked a smile, never said hello, and seemed very unhappy to be there. And who can blame her? Our bed was never made after our first night there, we had to ask for towels, the room itself was dank, poorly lit and had no ventilation (and no windows). Nor did any of the other rooms as far as we could tell. To get hot water in the shower, you had to keep the hot water faucet in the sink going. Lighting was...almost nonexistent! Our first night there, we overhead one "guest" (inmate) screaming at the proprietess, threatening to sue for fraud. I almost asked to join her in a class action suit. Really...this place was simply awful.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SteveKDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2007

My partner and I stayed for 5 nights. The main problem was there is NO LIGHT AND NO AIR to the bedrooms. They are dark stuffy closets that made us claustrophobic and depressed. Some guests came, took one look and ran screaming, while we had paid up in full and thought we'd stick it out.

There may be functions on during your stay, and you can't use the communal spaces when they are on. And if you're jet-lagged like we were it was torture lying in our hot room listening to constant party noise when we just needed to sleep.

Don't be seduced by the pictures on the website: there has been a new room built that fills in a big part of the open space, and the bedrooms are really not fit for humans, I don't know how they have gotten some positive reviews.

The kitchen and lounge are great but their style, light and air do not reach the bedrooms. Stay somewhere else in the area and enjoy new york properly.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NYfan_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#374 of 469 in New York City
483 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#97 of 469 in New York City
988 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#10 of 469 in New York City
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#181 of 469 in New York City
1,438 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#244 of 469 in New York City
1,077 reviews
SoHo
The Mercer Hotel
The Mercer Hotel
#356 of 469 in New York City
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Loft

Address: 199 Lafayette St, New York City, NY 10012-4279
Region: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #423 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Soho Loft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Soho Loft Hotel New York City
Soho Loft New York City
Soho Loft Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing