We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Experience”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #328 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Experience”
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Do not stay here!

We were there on a Saturday night. When we arrived, it had to have been over 80 degrees in the room and were told that the heat wasn't even on! Therefore, we were in for a very uncomfortable night of sleep - that was only the beginning...

The noise coming from the club/rooftop bar above us (we were on the 11th floor) from about 11pm-4am was unbearable. While I though the noise was bad, the pounding on our ceiling from the people above us dancing was even worse! We called the front desk around 2am and they told us they would bring ear plugs...those arrived at 4am once the club closed. Therefore we got 3 hours of sleep and had to host an event the next day half asleep. The next morning, all I wanted was a nice shower to wake me up but the water pressure was only a trickle and I'm surprised that the shampoo even rinsed out of my hair.

Why pay for a hotel in which it isn't possible to sleep? If Empire cares more about its nightlife operation than its residents, they don't deserve a clientele.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BosRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpireManagement, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2011
Dear BosRs,

My name is Jennifer Baldwin and I am the Assistant General Manager of the Empire Hotel. Thank you for posting your feedback on your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while a guest at our Hotel. Please be assured I have addressed your concerns with our Management Team so they can rectify the heating and noise issues you have identified. I hope you will consider returning to the Empire Hotel in the near future as your experience is certainly not respresentative of the level of service we strive to provide our guests.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,907
    1,830
    1,169
    653
    439
See reviews for
1,412
1,916
366
1,069
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (986)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Njivice, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2011

I stayed at the hotel over the weekend of March 11-13-20111.I had some issues with my room that I was not happy with, but when I went to the front desk I was greeted by two hotel employees leda and adriana who were amazingly helpful in solving my issues they really made my stay there amazing they were so quick to fix the issue i cant thank them enough ... and I cant wait to come baack...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank businessguy1067961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpireManagement, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Dear businessguy1067961,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback of the Empire Hotel on TripAdvisor. As the Assistant General Manager, I am pleased to read that Leda and Adrianna made such a postiive impression on you during your time with us. Please be assured I will be sharing your posting with both of them and recognizing them for a job well done. On behalf of the Empire Team, I look forward to welcoming you back as our guest in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Service was understated, but good when needed. (f.E. late checkout 82 p.m.) was no problem. Leda Popoviq from the front desk was very friendly and helpful (printing out a voucher). We had the only a problem to leave the hotel :-), because the lock of the "keycard" room door was out of order. But help and assitance to solve problem was perfect and fast. So we had no problem to get our shuttle (Thanks for it)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wsvklaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We were only in the city for a single night. I was very excited to stay in this hotel, it looked great and got good reviews. I got a decent rate that included parking (a obvious bonus in Manhattan).

We checked in at 3pm and were informed that our room was clean and ready, but that the linens were not on the beds yet and would be there shortly. We went to put our bags in the room. The hotel had described itself as "recently renovated" but it was obvious this was not exactly true. Aside from the missing linens, the room seemed fine. I did a beg bug inspection and didn't see any signs of an infestation.

We out to a museum - came back a few hours later ~5pm...NO SHEETS. Beds still unmade! I went down to the desk to tell them politely. I was shrugged off, and assured they would be there "soon"...the person at the desk didn't even write down my room number. Went out to dinner - came back ~9pm...STILL NO SHEETS. I went to talk to the front desk again. AGAIN I was brushed off, and assured they would be there "soon"...the person AGAIN at the desk didn't even write down my room number.

We went out to see some live music - came back at 11PM and no sheet. I went down to complain again. This time the staff told to go back to my room and the sheet would be there right away. I asked them for some kind of compensation and they offered me 2 breakfast vouchers. At this point I was annoyed, but still being patient. We went back up to the room...30 minutes later someone knocked on the door with 2 pillow cases. It is now close to midnight. We are exhausted, had been traveling all day and wanted to got to bed.

Went back down to the front desk to talk to a manager. We were informed that there were NO sheets...REALLY? A hotel with over 400 hundred rooms doesn't have a single set of extra sheets? I had to beg a hotel all day since check-in for sheets? He offered us a room with a single bed. My partner has restless leg syndrome and we can't share a beg - so the answer was no. I booked a room with 2 beds. I paid for a room with 2 beds. I want a room with 2 beds.

When we finally got this resolved it was well after 12:30 AM. The sheets were mismatched - and I am guessing the stripped down beds from other rooms and cobbled together 2 incomplete sets of sheets for us.

Although the night manager seemed genuinely sorry and willing fix the problem, I was appalled by the fact that no one from 3pm - 11:30 seemed to take me seriously. I would not stay in the hotel again.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank travel_joy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpireManagement, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Dear travel_joy_11,

My name is Jennifer Baldwin and I am the Assistant General Manager of The Empire Hotel. Thank you for your recent feedback on TripAdvisor outlining your experience at our Hotel. I am disappointed to hear of the challenges you encountered during your stay and would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you. We did have an issue with our linen on the night you stayed with us and have since rectified the issue with our service provider. Please be assured that I will follow up with my Front Office Team regarding your feedback as I am disaapointed to hear how we managed your requests for assistance that evening. I sincerely hope you will reconsider returning to the Empire Hotel the next time your travels bring you to NYC. I know we can do a much better job of providing you with the levels of service you deserve as our valuable guest.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Vienna, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Extremely convenient if you are attending a peformance at Lincoln Center (Met Opera). I give the 15 out of 10 for the reservation process. The staff were great. Nice clean, recently remodeled hotel in central location.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz-9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Excellent stay - This hotel is in a perfect location. Each staff member set the tone for an enjoyable trip. Daniel, Jose, and Mike greeted us with “Welcome to the Empire Hotel”, “Good Morning”, “Is there any thing I can do for you” as we left each day and as we returned, “Welcome back - Did you have a good day?” Arrived early and room was not ready got upgraded to the Broadway side and the view was great. Room was comfortable for NYC. The room was a little stuffy at first, but maintenance quickly resolved the problem. The front desk staff Mariana, Gabriel and Sean (Manager) offered excellent services with directions and all our needs during the stay. Indeed it was a great NYC get-away - would stay there again! Of course, a little partial I love CHOCOLATE!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getaway_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empiregmanager, General Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Dear getaway_v,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor. As General Manager of the Hotel, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to sharing your positive comments with our Bellman and Front Office team. They do an incredible job ensuring that they exceed our guest's expectations! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Empire in the near future.

Regards,

David McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2011

I have stayed at the Empire a couple of times and every time it delivers beyond my expectations. The hotel is hip and the rooms are very comfortable. What makes it really special is the service. At the front desk, Helena took my small requests and turned them into an overall great stay. You can also have a lot of fun at the nearby restaurants as well as the one in-house, not to mention the proximity to the Park and Lincoln Center. I highly recommend this hotel for both work and pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonofsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empiregmanager, General Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Dear tonofsnow,

As General Manager of The Empire Hotel, I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to post your feedback of your stay with us on TripAdvisor. Exceeding our guest's expectations and providing a high level of service is our number one priority and I am pleased to hear that Helena made such a lasting impression on you! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Empire the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Sincerely,

David McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#175 of 467 in New York City
4,965 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#235 of 467 in New York City
3,608 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#391 of 467 in New York City
6,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#350 of 467 in New York City
4,247 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
5,057 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 467 in New York City
3,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Property: Empire Hotel
Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. Fun fact, The Empire Hotel was featured in Gossip Girl. Join us for a Chuck Bass cocktail in the Lobby Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing