We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Up to Expectations”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #308 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Ramsey
1 review
“Not Up to Expectations”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The heating unit was totally uncontrollable. Had to unplug the unit completely to get the room down to a tolerable temperature. Guest closet was so poorly designed that you could not hang any long garments. There was no hot water in the shower for well over 20 minutes. And the glass panel in shower stall itself, which was European style, was not installed on the correct side of the stall. So, water during the shower went all over the small bathroom floor.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear John A,

Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review from your most recent stay at The Empire Hotel. I appreciate your candid comments which will allow us to correct deficiencies and make improvements. I appreciate you bringing the room challenges to our attention. I have also sent you a message via Trip Advisor so that I may locate the room number. Please contact me directly at gm@empirehotelnyc.com if you would like to discuss your experience or if you need any assistance. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Empire Hotel. We have many room options available and the next time you stay with us, I would be happy to personally find one that is best for you.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,863
    1,782
    1,132
    614
    394
See reviews for
1,340
1,859
351
1,026
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (969)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I wanted to like the place, due to it's excellent location, but couldn't. The positive things were Ed's Chowder House restaurant within the hotel, A+ food and service (waiter Luis). Also noteworthy is the black female bartender in the lobby's bar (makes a mean Cosmo). Other than that the facility does not have a professional staff nor are the staff attending to details like assisting with hailing a cab or opening the front door in bad weather. Accommodations were not what was promised. Pull-out sofa bed had a badly stained mattress. The staff is disorganized and the Concierge can't be a professional due to his condescending nature, in the long run wasn't helpful at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CandiGirl90266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear CandiGirl90266,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review from your most recent stay at The Empire Hotel. I am disappointed and concerned to hear of your negative experience. Your feedback is unusual and not typical for our staff.
I have shared your comments with our Front Office Management team and we will address accordingly. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Thank you for your patience and understanding. Please contact me directly at gm@empirehotelnyc.com if you would like to discuss your experience or if you need any assistance. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Empire Hotel.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cincinnati
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Excellent location for events in Lincoln Center. Convenient to subway and taxis are always available. Can walk to the theater district on a good day. Restaurants nearby. Safe, excellent service. Rooms and bathrooms are small.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maurizio b, General Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear John J H,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share online your experience at the Hotel Empire.
I am happy to hear you had a great time and enjoyed your stay with us. Our commitment is to create special and memorable moments for our guests all the times.
I hope you found at the Empire your new home away from home!
Do not wait too long before you come back to visit us.
Please feel free to contact me directly at GM@empirehotelnyc.com and I will be more than happy to personally assist on your future reservation.
All the best,
Maurizio Bonivento
General Manager
GM@empirehotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

It appears the hotel finally figured out how to stop the shower flooding with redesigning the shower space with a little wall. or maybe I just got a lucky room this time. Either way, no flooding this time.
Love the atmosphere at the property and for the price, it is an NYC deal!
Employees are super helpful and nice.
Love the apples at the front desk and special black/white cookies I get when I check in.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CindyCLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I have stayed at the Empire for many years. The rooms are extremely nice and well maintained. The management and staff are a delight. I cannot imagine staying at another hotel in new York City.
Thank you Empire.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Jim M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Empire Hotel on Trip Advisor. We welcome all guest feedback as it gives us an opportunity to improve what we offer and learn from our guests’ experiences. It is awesome to hear that the location of the hotel and service provided by our friendly staff met your expectations. I am glad you found us and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you for staying at The Empire Hotel.

Happy Holidays,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
gm@empirehotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Hook
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We booked our reservations on the phone through hotel. My husband and I were traveling with my two children ages 4 and 1. We were promised a suite connecting to a room. When we checked in (after waiting over 2 hrs for our room to be ready) we found rooms were on opposite ends of the hotel. After speaking with the manager his very rude suggestion was to say "well can't you split the children up?"- I cannot believe this was their idea of a fix. The wasn't the only problem, but the worst of them. Will NEVER stay here again. DO not stay here with a family. Apparently there is a night club we were not told of and heard booming music through the walls until the wee hours of the morning. Ridiculous!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Convenient & enjoyable for a Lincoln Center visit. Staff friendly, accommodating. Rooms complete with amenities and quick response for any needs. Hoping to make this my home when visiting my Juilliard student.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sharzwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,678 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,526 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#386 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,883 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Property: Empire Hotel
Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing