We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #309 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

the stay was very pleasant and the staff were very helpful.
They even offered a late check out free of charge.
I wasnt happy with the sleep due to the pillows being uncomfortable. Other than that, i was very satisfied.
Kudos to the concierge in booking us a Broadway show. He was very familiar and very friendly.
Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Mohamed A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Empire Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled you enjoyed the comfort of your room and the service of our team met your expectations. I will be sure to share your feedback with them. They love to receive recognition for their efforts. I appreciate the comments on the pillows, we will address immediately. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire Hotel the next time your travels bring you to New York.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
gm@empirehotelnyc.com
(212) 265-7400 ext. 7343
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,867
    1,786
    1,134
    614
    394
See reviews for
1,344
1,861
352
1,028
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (971)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The location cannot be beat.
Friends have an apartment nearby, and we were able to enjoy their neighborhood favorite places simply by walking. Happy to be able to get so quickly into the park from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Joseph M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Empire Hotel on Trip Advisor. We welcome all guest feedback as it gives us an opportunity to improve what we offer and learn from our guests’ experiences. It is awesome to hear that the location of the hotel and service provided by our friendly staff met your expectations. I am glad you found us and we hope to see you the next time you visit your friends. Thank you for staying at The Empire Hotel.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
gm@empirehotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The Empire Hotel has been a mainstay for me and my family for 50 years and it has never failed to be more than satisfactory. The location across from Lincoln Center and a block from Central Park makes it extremely convenient. The rooms are clean, generous in size, and the staff helpful. There is often quite a party scene at night that makes it festive in the lobby and on the rooftop, but the rooms are quiet and private. The junior suite is an especially good value if you are a group of 3 or 4.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank oboela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear oboela,

Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review from your most recent stay at The Empire Hotel. I am glad that you and your family continue to enjoy the vibe of the hotel and ambiance of the Lobby Bar. At The Empire Hotel we have many amenities and outlets all designed for the comfort and convenience of our guests. In addition, our hotel offers a phenomenal location steps away from Central Park in the middle of Lincoln Center. Please contact me directly at gm@empirehotelnyc.com if you ever need assistance at The Empire. Thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel. We cannot wait to see you again.

Happy Holidays,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I travel back and forth between LA and NY and stay a week at a time at this hotel because I really enjoy it. Nick at the front desk is great - makes me feel welcome and VIP every time, even though I am just a regular traveler. very professional.
eric

Room Tip: great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1016Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear 1016Eric,

Thank you for the great comments in your review on Trip Advisor. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and the service provided by our staff. We are lucky to have great people like Nick on our team that are committed to providing personal and genuine service. It is awesome to see that The Empire is your home away from home when traveling to the East Coast. If you ever need assistance at our hotel, do not hesitate to reach me at gm@empirehotelnyc.com. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire Hotel the next time your travels bring you to New York.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The heating unit was totally uncontrollable. Had to unplug the unit completely to get the room down to a tolerable temperature. Guest closet was so poorly designed that you could not hang any long garments. There was no hot water in the shower for well over 20 minutes. And the glass panel in shower stall itself, which was European style, was not installed on the correct side of the stall. So, water during the shower went all over the small bathroom floor.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear John A,

Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review from your most recent stay at The Empire Hotel. I appreciate your candid comments which will allow us to correct deficiencies and make improvements. I appreciate you bringing the room challenges to our attention. I have also sent you a message via Trip Advisor so that I may locate the room number. Please contact me directly at gm@empirehotelnyc.com if you would like to discuss your experience or if you need any assistance. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Empire Hotel. We have many room options available and the next time you stay with us, I would be happy to personally find one that is best for you.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Los Angeles, California, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I wanted to like the place, due to it's excellent location, but couldn't. The positive things were Ed's Chowder House restaurant within the hotel, A+ food and service (waiter Luis). Also noteworthy is the black female bartender in the lobby's bar (makes a mean Cosmo). Other than that the facility does not have a professional staff nor are the staff attending to details like assisting with hailing a cab or opening the front door in bad weather. Accommodations were not what was promised. Pull-out sofa bed had a badly stained mattress. The staff is disorganized and the Concierge can't be a professional due to his condescending nature, in the long run wasn't helpful at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CandiGirl90266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear CandiGirl90266,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review from your most recent stay at The Empire Hotel. I am disappointed and concerned to hear of your negative experience. Your feedback is unusual and not typical for our staff.
I have shared your comments with our Front Office Management team and we will address accordingly. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Thank you for your patience and understanding. Please contact me directly at gm@empirehotelnyc.com if you would like to discuss your experience or if you need any assistance. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Empire Hotel.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Excellent location for events in Lincoln Center. Convenient to subway and taxis are always available. Can walk to the theater district on a good day. Restaurants nearby. Safe, excellent service. Rooms and bathrooms are small.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maurizio b, General Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear John J H,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share online your experience at the Hotel Empire.
I am happy to hear you had a great time and enjoyed your stay with us. Our commitment is to create special and memorable moments for our guests all the times.
I hope you found at the Empire your new home away from home!
Do not wait too long before you come back to visit us.
Please feel free to contact me directly at GM@empirehotelnyc.com and I will be more than happy to personally assist on your future reservation.
All the best,
Maurizio Bonivento
General Manager
GM@empirehotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,700 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,533 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#386 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,899 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,449 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Property: Empire Hotel
Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #309 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing