We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Empire” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #315 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Empire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

The Empire has a nice New York laid back atmosphere. The interior i loved as it had a cool boutique feel. The beds were comfortable to me as i enjoy a firm bed, the shower is awesome, with a moveable head and a giant head on the ceiling, just watch out as i managed to flood the bathroom as the built in shower guard was not so stable. Only down side we found was at check in where they expected a credit card.. i did not bring one to New York and had not been advised by Virgin Holidays however this was not the hotels fault and they did help me sort out an alternative using a family members in England whom had to email over details and photo i.d - apart from this i have nothing bad to say. Watch out drinks are extremely expensive here although that is expected in a hotel. The reception staff were always happy to answer questions and offer ideas about best places to eat. I highly recommend The West Side Restaurant for Breakfast - a short walk from hotel near The Lincoln Centre on the corner of 69th Street... the food was amazing. Although this hotel is not mentioned to be located near Times Square it is about a 15 min walk and has bonus of being a street away from Central Park. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bluewave92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear bluewave92

Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review from your most recent stay at The Empire Hotel. I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your experience. I appreciate the great tips on the area attractions and I am sure other travelers will as well. At The Empire Hotel we have many amenities and outlets all designed for the comfort and convenience of our guests. In addition, our hotel offers a phenomenal location steps away from Central Park in the middle of Lincoln Center. It is the Holiday Season and we are fortunate to be near some great New York locations. Thank you for staying at The Empire Hotel.

Happy Holidays,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
gm@empirehotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,780
    1,714
    1,103
    592
    378
See reviews for
1,277
1,799
338
980
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (953)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Having stayed at the Empire Hotel before and loved it, I knew it was the perfect location for a holiday gathering with my girlfriends. When I searched online for the Empire Hotel, beautiful room photos with rates came up. Turns out it was a third party booking website which I did not realize. The beautiful King Suite featured was listed at an amazing price, and I called the contact on the website to confirm the details. The woman I spoke with assured me that the King Suite featured was what I had purchased for my event, even after I made it clear that I would be hosting eight ladies for a champagne toast. Conceive of my shock, despair and disappointment upon arriving with finger sandwiches and a case of bubbly in tow...to discover that the Empire Hotel had me booked in a lovely Studio Suite that was simply too small for the evening I had planned with the girls. Upon seeing the space I contacted Zunachy (front desk) who was very professional and sympathetic to my situation. She conveyed my dilemma to her manager. The manager, Gunita, immediately began the process of verifying my reservation info which she determined was generated via a third party service (I should have paid closer attention...lesson learned!). She too was sympathetic, and although she was under no obligation to accommodate me beyond the Studio Suite for which I was registered, this amazing young woman, Gunita, decided to upgrade me...and since the suite I wanted was not available, she put me into a larger one. OMG it was my 'Miracle on 63rd Street'!!! Thank you Empire Hotel for the best customer service I have ever experienced in my life! Suite 1024 was the most beautiful suite I have ever seen and I now have a "1024 jar" to save for what will be my annual gift to me...a night in that gorgeous suite. In the interim, hubby and I will be back at the Empire, staying in that lovely Studio Suite because that size is perfect for the two of us. Everyone from the bellman to the housekeeping staff went above and beyond in hospitality. The Empire Hotel is the only place to stay in New York if you want PERFECTION!
--Donna W

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DB R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear DB R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Empire Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is awesome to see that Zunachy and Gunita were able to think outside the box and fix your reservation challenges. I will be sure to share your feedback with them. They are truly two of our best! At The Empire Hotel, we are fortunate to have a team of humble and genuine people dedicated to service. If you ever need assistance at The Empire, do not hesitate to contact me directly via email. I hope staying with us will now be a Holiday Tradition for you and your friends.

Happy Holidays,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
gm@empirehotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

front office staff were not just incompetent, they were rude as well. Never again!!!

i have been gifting this trip to my friends for 3 years. but this time, they really dropped the ball, refused to take accountability for their mistakes, and were rude on top of that.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carroll M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maurizio b, General Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Carroll M,
Thank you for sharing your experience and for giving me the opportunity to answer you online.
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay and that you would not come back. Our goal is to create memorable experiences for our hotel guest. It looks like we fail and I am very disappointed.
I appreciate your feedback, however I would like to have more details about your stay. Please feel free to email me directly at GM@empirehotelnyc.com
All the best,
Maurizio Bonivento
General Manager
GM@empirehotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Minneapolis
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

When I arrived I saw that the shower had no door. Did not bother to say anything since the rolls of towels on the floor told me they were aware of the condition. Also, they charge you for the coffee in the room and wifi which feels like being nickled and dimed, (charge a bit more and have that be covered). Decor was nice and staff friendly plus the location is very good. All said the good and the bad average out.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Ryan B,

Thank you for the review recent stay at The Empire Hotel. We take our guests’ feedback seriously and use it to improve the product and service that we offer. I am glad you enjoyed the décor of your room and found our staff to be helpful and friendly. Please note that wifi is always complimentary in the Lobby Bar, Mezzanine and all public spaces of our hotel. Our location cannot be beat right in the middle of Lincoln Center and just steps away from Central Park. In addition we have a staff of committed and genuine people with the common goal of creating memorable experiences by proving quality and personal guest service. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Empire Hotel.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
gm@empirehotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

the stay was very pleasant and the staff were very helpful.
They even offered a late check out free of charge.
I wasnt happy with the sleep due to the pillows being uncomfortable. Other than that, i was very satisfied.
Kudos to the concierge in booking us a Broadway show. He was very familiar and very friendly.
Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Mohamed A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Empire Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled you enjoyed the comfort of your room and the service of our team met your expectations. I will be sure to share your feedback with them. They love to receive recognition for their efforts. I appreciate the comments on the pillows, we will address immediately. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire Hotel the next time your travels bring you to New York.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
gm@empirehotelnyc.com
(212) 265-7400 ext. 7343
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

The location cannot be beat.
Friends have an apartment nearby, and we were able to enjoy their neighborhood favorite places simply by walking. Happy to be able to get so quickly into the park from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Joseph M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Empire Hotel on Trip Advisor. We welcome all guest feedback as it gives us an opportunity to improve what we offer and learn from our guests’ experiences. It is awesome to hear that the location of the hotel and service provided by our friendly staff met your expectations. I am glad you found us and we hope to see you the next time you visit your friends. Thank you for staying at The Empire Hotel.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
gm@empirehotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

The Empire Hotel has been a mainstay for me and my family for 50 years and it has never failed to be more than satisfactory. The location across from Lincoln Center and a block from Central Park makes it extremely convenient. The rooms are clean, generous in size, and the staff helpful. There is often quite a party scene at night that makes it festive in the lobby and on the rooftop, but the rooms are quiet and private. The junior suite is an especially good value if you are a group of 3 or 4.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank oboela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear oboela,

Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review from your most recent stay at The Empire Hotel. I am glad that you and your family continue to enjoy the vibe of the hotel and ambiance of the Lobby Bar. At The Empire Hotel we have many amenities and outlets all designed for the comfort and convenience of our guests. In addition, our hotel offers a phenomenal location steps away from Central Park in the middle of Lincoln Center. Please contact me directly at gm@empirehotelnyc.com if you ever need assistance at The Empire. Thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel. We cannot wait to see you again.

Happy Holidays,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#182 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#383 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,698 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#59 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
Midtown
The Roosevelt Hotel
The Roosevelt Hotel
#371 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Property: Empire Hotel
Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing