We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small room”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #349 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The hotel has 4 stars and I was disappointed with the room. A Superior double room with double beds sounds like a big room. The real room and bathroom are modern but very small. There was only one outlet in the bedroom that you could use. The outlet in the bathroom did not work. Wallpaper is coming off in the room and bathroom door need painting.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Callie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Callie M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Empire Hotel on Trip Advisor. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I will send you a message via TA so that I may locate the exact room number and take immediate action.
At The Empire, we offer different room types with various layouts all designed to meet the specific needs of our guests. If the space is really very important I would recommend booking a Deluxe category or above. If you need assistance, do not hesitate to contact me directly at gm@empirehotelnyc.com and I can help you select the best option for you. I sincerely hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to New York.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,015 - 4,021 of 6,222 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

small room,great tv,great bathroom..great location if going to Lincoln Center..however they do charge for coffee in the room..coffee machine in room but they charge!!! front desk very friendly..staff also very helpful

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Anthony V,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Empire Hotel on Trip Advisor. We welcome all guest feedback as it gives us an opportunity to improve what we offer and learn from our guests’ experiences. It is awesome to hear that the service of our team, location of the hotel and room features met your expectations. At The Empire we always offer competitive rates with various room options all designed to meet the needs of our guests. If you should ever need assistance, do not hesitate to reach me at gm@empirehotelnyc.com. I hope to welcome you back to The Empire Hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
gm@empirehotelnyc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Let's us start with the good: location location location. The room is laugh out loud small. Barely enough room for the bed- there is basically no place to stand or get dressed. One small person would fit well here. Charge 3 dollars for instant coffee when there is a Starbucks downstairs. Bathroom is ALL form over function. Shower sprays on the floor. Water damage on the door from too much water on the floor. No counter space. Two few towels. No garbage can. Sink sprays when you wash your hands. Weird (two) shower head that is not self explanatory and soaks you when you turn it on. AC heating system was on blowing hot and cold air simultaneously. Mini bar is cute if you are looking for a tote bag, a vibrator or a iPhone charger. Lots of alcohol for purchase and a fridge if you care. Hotel lobby is very dark and it is hard to see in there. Service is neutral- neither here nor there. Stay here for location and price and that is it unless you want to pretend you are cool enough to buy a 35 dollar vibrator in the mini bar. We will stay here again a la the location but with a sense of humor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room the faces the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FromDC2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear FromDC2901,

Thank for the review of your recent stay at The Empire Hotel. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I will send you a message via TA so that I may locate the exact room number and take immediate action.
Please note that our Standard rooms are approx. 191 square feet. At The Empire, we offer different room types with various layouts all designed to meet the specific needs of our guests. If the space is really very important I would recommend booking a Superior or a Deluxe category. If you need assistance, do not hesitate to contact me directly at gm@empirehotelnyc.com and I can help you select the best option for you. The next time you visit I will make sure you have a larger room with more space. I sincerely hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back as I am confident your next stay will be a great one.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Chose this one be cause of easy walk to Lincoln Center - no fighting for cabs needed. Elevators were broken Sunday morning a serious negative ! The price is high enough ($375) to cause me to shop around next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maurizio b, General Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Lee C,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share online your experience at the Hotel Empire.
I am happy to hear you had a great time and enjoyed your stay with us. Our commitment is to create special and memorable moments for our guests all the times.
We have experienced some elevators issue during your stay. Everything has been fixed and all guest elevators are functioning regularly.
I hope you found at the Empire your new home away from home!
Do not wait too long before you come back to visit us.
Please feel free to contact me directly at GM@empirehotelnyc.com and I will be more than happy to personally assist on your future reservation.
All the best,
Maurizio Bonivento
General Manager
GM@empirehotelnyc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Normally I love this hotel and the area. I was disappointed this trip around. Although the raw bar at the chowder house was very very good. As was the bartending staff. Very accomodating and friendly as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Lisa D

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Empire Hotel on Trip Advisor. We welcome all guest feedback as it gives us an opportunity to improve what we offer and learn from our guests’ experiences. I am disappointed that you did not completely enjoy your stay on this recent visit.
I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Thank you for your patience and understanding. Please contact me directly at gm@empirehotelnyc.com if you would like to discuss your experience or if you need any assistance. I have also sent you a private message via Trip Advisor and look forward to your reply. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Empire Hotel.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
gm@empirehotelnyc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

OK hotel, nothing to write home about. The elevators weren't working my last day there and there were no signs directing you on how to get down to the lobby (they were out for at least 6 hours). Our room keys stopped working twice (over 4 days). They said they demagnitized but I've never had this problem at other hotels. This was especially annoying on the last day when I had to take a second trip down the stairs to get a new key. The room was updated but the bed was uncomfortable and the walls were very thin. The bathrooms were very small. The lobby bar was nice. The hotel is in a convenient location and close to a subway which was great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Theresa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Theresa I,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Empire Hotel on Trip Advisor. We welcome all guest feedback as it gives us an opportunity to improve what we offer and learn from our guests’ experiences. I appreciate your patience in dealing with our brief elevator interruption. Travelers should always keep their room keys away from cell phones and credit cards as it could negatively effect the magnetic strip. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and had a chance to experience the lobby bar and phenomenal location of our hotel. Please contact me directly at gm@empirehotelnyc.com if you would like to discuss your experience or if you need any assistance. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Empire Hotel.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The Empire has a nice New York laid back atmosphere. The interior i loved as it had a cool boutique feel. The beds were comfortable to me as i enjoy a firm bed, the shower is awesome, with a moveable head and a giant head on the ceiling, just watch out as i managed to flood the bathroom as the built in shower guard was not so stable. Only down side we found was at check in where they expected a credit card.. i did not bring one to New York and had not been advised by Virgin Holidays however this was not the hotels fault and they did help me sort out an alternative using a family members in England whom had to email over details and photo i.d - apart from this i have nothing bad to say. Watch out drinks are extremely expensive here although that is expected in a hotel. The reception staff were always happy to answer questions and offer ideas about best places to eat. I highly recommend The West Side Restaurant for Breakfast - a short walk from hotel near The Lincoln Centre on the corner of 69th Street... the food was amazing. Although this hotel is not mentioned to be located near Times Square it is about a 15 min walk and has bonus of being a street away from Central Park. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bluewave92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph R, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear bluewave92

Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review from your most recent stay at The Empire Hotel. I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your experience. I appreciate the great tips on the area attractions and I am sure other travelers will as well. At The Empire Hotel we have many amenities and outlets all designed for the comfort and convenience of our guests. In addition, our hotel offers a phenomenal location steps away from Central Park in the middle of Lincoln Center. It is the Holiday Season and we are fortunate to be near some great New York locations. Thank you for staying at The Empire Hotel.

Happy Holidays,

Joseph Rauer
Assistant General Manager
gm@empirehotelnyc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#125 of 469 in New York City
5,392 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#358 of 469 in New York City
4,428 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#182 of 469 in New York City
5,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#63 of 469 in New York City
3,718 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#229 of 469 in New York City
3,753 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#272 of 469 in New York City
4,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £115 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. Fun fact, The Empire Hotel was featured in Gossip Girl. Join us for a Chuck Bass cocktail in the Lobby Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing