We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in NYC”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #332 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in NYC”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed at The Empire for 3 nights in March '14 in a Superior Double room. Check-in was quick and efficient and all staff encountered were very helpful and friendly.

The room (and entire hotel) is decorated to a lovely standard. Clean and modern throughout, maid service daily. The room was spacious and had everything that you needed; mini-fridge, hairdryer, iron etc. The beds were a little firm for my liking but overall rather comfortable and sleeping was not a problem. Prices for the in-room snacks and drinks are expensive, but there is a Starbucks and Duane Reeds right next door so just buy from there.

One thing that did bother me was the temperature of the hotel, it was too warm! It was too hot to sleep under the covers. However, I arrived just after the 'Polar Vortex' had hit and so maybe the hotel had raised the heating levels to combat this? Which is fair enough, just not sure what the hotel would be like during the summer as there wasn't any air con.

Location of hotel is great, 10-15min walk to Times Square and in a nice area of Manhattan.

Visited the the chowder house within the hotel and the meal and service was excellent, lovely food. Would definitely recommend a visit.

Overall, for the price paid I would certainly recommending staying at The Empire and will most likely stay here on my next visit to NYC.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagel_Anyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hello Bagel_Anyone,

Thanks so much so your generous feedback, regarding your recent Empire experience. We really appreciate your comments about the level of service and your guest room. We are sorry about your climate control unit not adjusting to your comfort level.

The location of the hotel and the food and beverage outlets in the hotel are other great highlights and we are very happy that you benefited from these features.

We do look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back and wish you all the best between now and then.

Kindest Regards,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,908
    1,830
    1,176
    656
    444
See reviews for
1,419
1,920
367
1,071
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (990)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Nice room, spacious for NYC with 2 doubles, good service, great location - walking distance to great shopping at Time Warner and Century 21 and to theater - right at Lincoln Center - convenient to multiple subway lines - will stay there again. We needed a replacement hairdryer and they brought one up right away. Once you stay there you are in the data base and they sometimes email out some specials or sale prices which are great prices that you can not get unless you have the email promo code.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marcia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hello Marcia K,

We truly appreciate your very kind review that you have posted on our Trip Advisor page. We most certainly agree about our spectacular location with major and historical New York attractions all within a 5-10 minute walk.

It is great that you were able to take advantage of our special offer, we will be sending another offer out prior to the summer, so stayed tuned for that!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire, if you need any assistance with a future reservation, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com

All the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Maybe we caught the hotel on a bad week? Stayed 3 nights for business. No heat 1st two nights. Bathroom sink was sloooooow to drain. Bug sightings in room & lobby. Other co-travelers did not have hot water for 2 days. Fitness center consists of 3 aging treadmills; one broken, one malfunctioning & the other more suited for walking, not running. Pros: Staff interactions were pleasant and very helpful, great location, contemporary decor, decent bar. All said, if they can work out the obvious and correctable shortcomings, it would be a decent and recommendable NYC hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hornchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hello hornchicago,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Empire and for your review on our Trip Advisor page. We had a rough 24 hours earlier this week, and we do apologize about the lack of heat and hot water. We had emergency repairs on our main boilers which caused some challenges. We were back to normal operating conditions by Wednesday afternoon.

Thank you for your feedback about the fitness center equipment, this is something we are looking at for property improvements. In addition, we appreciate your kind words about the associates and level of service and our lobby bar experience.

We do hope that you'll give us another try at some point in the near future as we're confident your next experience with us, will be much improved.

All the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Last May I began to plan a 75th birthday celebration with my two sons in New York City. I wanted to stay in a hotel close to Lincoln Center. Last May the folks at the Empire Hotel told me that, at that time, they did not know what the room rate would be because specials changed. Eventually I obtained a 40% off Superior Room with two double beds. As the time drew closer for my trip I received an email from the Empire Hotel telling me about a special room rate. I called the folks at the Empire Hotel and they graciously told me what I needed to do to obtain the new rate which saved me $450.00 on my four night stay. When I arrived I was warmly greeted by the courteous doormen as well as the folks at the desk. When I entered the room I found it to be a clean, stylish, and recently renovated. The folks who serviced my room were always wanting to know if everything was ok. On my last night my son and I had dinner at a lovely restaurant in the hotel "Ed's Chowder House." On the two occasions that I went to performances at the Metropolitan Opera all I had to do was to cross the street and I was on the Lincoln Center Plaza.
The room was so quiet at night. For me on this 75 birthday trip the Empire Hotel was the perfect place to stay and I would highly recommend it to anyone. It is in a lovely part of Manhattan and so centrally located to a subway stop at Columbus circle.
David from North Carolina.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank David p P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hello David p P,

Thank you so much for your "rave" review about The Empire Hotel! It is so rewarding to read reviews such as yours, and we are very happy that we exceeded your expectations!

We always want our guests to obtain the lowest available rate and I am glad that we assisted in getting you the lowest available rate! It is great that you were so impressed with the guest rooms, the service levels and your experience in Ed's Chowder House.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire Hotel in the near future. If there is anything we can do to assist with a future reservation, please do email us gm@empirehotelnyc.com

All the best!

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Not the best trip. My room had no water the first day and only cold water on the second day due to unforeseen problems with the water heaters. The staff was very apologetic. Rudy, was especially fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hello Selena C,

Again, please accept out sincere apology for the lack of hot water in your guest room. It was entirely unforeseen and required emergency repairs on the property's main boilers. The great news is we're back to normal operating conditions!

We're thrilled that Rudy was so empathetic and accommodating during your frustration. We do hope and trust you'll give us another try in the near future and we'll be sure that there's plenty of hot water to go around!

All the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of my honeymoon, Before we arrived requested a room with a view, we got a view of a building and a generator. Rooms were tiny and the skirting and carpets were quite dirty looking. The lobby is really nice and the staff were all lovely. Room was the only disappointing thing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hello Kristy B,

Thank you for choosing us to be part of your honeymoon, but we are sorry that we failed to meet and exceed your expectations. We do our absolute best to accommodate all special guest requests, occasionally, this is not possible and we do apologize your were impacted by the high demand of requests.

We are pleased however that you found the associates here at The Empire to very friendly and accommodating. We do hope that you'll give us another try after our renovation this summer as we're confident it'll be a much different experience for you and your husband.

All the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The room's looked great on the website but they were tiny, didn't have the amenities that were listed on website and, I got a "Sorry", it's overpriced and the only in room dining is 8am - 10am and 6pm.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hello Sarah R,

Sorry you felt as though our website photography did not accurately depict the guest rooms. This certainly is not what we aimed for when doing the photography. If you have any specific feedback about this, we would appreciate you emailing us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com

Our Room Service department is open from 6:00am - 10:00am and 6:00pm - 10:00pm, daily. Sorry if you were mislead in anyway about their opening time being at 8:00am.

We thank you for your feedback and again are sorry that we failed to exceed your expectations.

All the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 466 in New York City
4,995 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#390 of 466 in New York City
6,225 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#233 of 466 in New York City
3,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#349 of 466 in New York City
4,252 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#131 of 466 in New York City
5,071 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#58 of 466 in New York City
3,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Property: Empire Hotel
Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. Fun fact, The Empire Hotel was featured in Gossip Girl. Join us for a Chuck Bass cocktail in the Lobby Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing