We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #345 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Location is great, rooms are a bit dated, and my bathroom was hilariously tiny.

They still charge for wifi (seriously guys, it's 2014) and if you want to drink the Fiji water in your room, it's $7.50. I'm not joking, $7.50 for the little bottle of Fiji (not even the large one).

Every single time I left my room my key card became demagnetized. Every. Single. Time. As if that weren't frustrating enough, there was usually a 5-10 minute line at the front desk so I had to stand there and wait just to get my key working so I could return to my room. No, it wasn't next to my credit cards or my cellphone (I must've said that 100 times over 48 hours).

There is a great roof deck, but it was pretty much always closed for a private party.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank travelbug_lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Hello travelbug_lo,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel, we are sorry that was only "okay" and did not exceed your expectations.

Sorry that you felt the rooms were dated and the found the bathrooms to be tiny. 125 years ago when this hotel was built, clearly size of the bathroom was not a priority. Our mini bar pricing strategy is competitively decided upon that of the hotels we compete against for market share. Yes, $7.50 could very well be perceived as expensive, but ultimately what are you willing to pay for convenience?

Cannot speak to your room keys getting demagnetized multiple times during your stay. We encode over 400 keys on a daily basis with no issues; we are however sorry about this inconvenience.

Thanks for your feedback and we welcome you to give us another try as I'm confident that we'll exceed your expectations, on your next visit!

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,564 - 3,570 of 6,188 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel is incredibly nice and a great location. My front desk rep, Zyanachy, was able to upgrade me to a jr suite! This made my stay that much more enjoyable. If you can get reservations, try it! s

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hello Shari L,

So nice of you to share your perfect experience with us, on our Trip Advisor page! Great news that Zunachy was able to upgrade you, this is rarely an available option! The service at The Empire Hotel is one of our strengths and we are always working towards new processes and solutions to improve the guest experience.

We would request that you recommend The Empire Hotel to your family, friends and colleagues, this is the greatest reward for us. We also look forward to your next stay at The Empire Hotel and please feel free to email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com if you need any assistance.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Ask for a room n the back side of the hotel -- mine was 6 floors up but the traffic noise was very audible all night (remember New York never sleeps.)

Lobby bar is great for a cocktail or two. Roof bar is fine, but rents out sections (or the whole thing) for private events, so don't set your heart on a drink with a view. $18-20 for a cocktail in a plastic glass is what you're missing.

Room Tip: Gym is in the basement -- elevator was out of service, had to walk through some pretty sketchy servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hello Mary Beth C,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for sharing your experience on our Trip Advisor page!

Which is the better of two evils? Unfortunately in the city that never sleeps, if guests choose to have a view, they could be subject to street traffic noise, if they are a light sleeper. If a guest chooses to have an interior room, it'll much quieter, but you lose the view!

The Roof Top is a very popular choice for groups and private events, especially with the summer season approaching. The Lobby Bar is a great alternative, if you're looking for something a little more relaxed.

As you mentioned, we do only have one elevator that accesses the fitness center, and when this on the rare occasion, goes out of service, the only alternative is the stairs to the lower level of the hotel.

We are confident that your next stay with us will be much improved. We invite you to email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com and we'll ensure that you're well taken care of.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great location close to Lincoln Center & Fordham University, The hotel is in need of updating, One thing I can't understand. Is that they which to paper cups in the room from very nice glass glasses! The have a mini bar stocked and bottles of wine, water. Does the hotel think that there customer with to share a cocktail in paper cups? When asked my concerns were addressed quickly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hello Penny C,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience on our Trip Advisor page.

We understand your concerns about the paper vs. glass. We would have gladly sent up glassware to your room to enjoy a cocktail or two! The vast majority of our guests prefer the paper cups and simply use them for drinking water.

We will be entering into a renovation in the coming months and the result of this renovation will be a fresh new look in all of our guest rooms and corridors. We do hope and trust that The Empire Hotel is among your consideration when planning your next trip to New York and we invite you to email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com if you need any assistance.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed for one night at this hotel last minute for work at a cost of $350. The only positive thing I can say is its location near Lincoln center. I arrived at around 10 pm and was give probably the worst room in the hotel, smaller than my closet on the lowest floor. The elevator on this floor had no button- not one that didnt work- but actually no button so I had to take the stairs to the lobby with my luggage. The floor I was on was moldy and old- as was the room. The water was luke warm in the shower with too much water pressure (the opposite is usually true). The worst part was the front desk staff- snooty with a could not care less attitude. The woman that checked me out didnt even look at me when I tried to settle my bill and would not give me a bill since she said I prepaid my stay. I told the woman at check out about the elevator and she shrugged her shoulders and sais I guess they are working on it. She was VERY rude with far too much attitude so I just left. Worst service ever in a NYC hotel and certainly not worth $350.00

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sguntupalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hello sguntupalli,

Thank you for choosing The Empire Hotel for your last minute hotel needs. We are very sorry that your stay fell far below your expectations. It is unclear which floor you stayed on, but if there is one thing that is definite, all of our guest floors have hall call buttons to go up and/or down. Sorry that you felt there was a need to take the stairs.

We most certainly do not have mold in the hallways and/or the guest room, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com so we can see for ourselves the areas of the hotel that you are referring to.

Lastly, I am very sorry about the lack of empathy from the front desk agent as it relates to your unsatisfactory hotel room and overall stay. This is not our intention and our goal is to provide great service, across the board.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here over Easter to celebrate a big birthday.
When we arrived we found that we had been upgraded to a bigger room, great!
However this room was at the back of the hotel with no view and quite a lot of noise from all the air conditioning units. When we mentioned this to the front desk they offered to move us straight away.The new room was on the front elevation of the hotel with super view of Broadway and The Lincoln centre.
The Hotel is just across the road from the Lincoln centre, close to shops, restaurants and the subway.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms at the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hello Elaine M,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and we appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience on our Trip Advisor page.

We are glad that you eventually got settled in a guest room that exceeded your expectations! It is great that you enjoyed the location of the hotel so much and we can count on a return visit from you. If there is anything we can assist with in the meantime, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

We look forward to welcoming you back and hopefully establishing your loyalty!

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The location of this hotel is amazing - but the small bathroom and peeling paint, broken fixtures, and slow housekeeping service took away from the experience. The overall room (superior double double) was ok for the 3 of us, but the bathroom is so tiny and impractical. Also, found the response time for housekeeping requests (e.g. replacing an iron whose cord didn't come out) to be very slow.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ScarboroughFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hello Johnna M,

Thank you for your return visit to The Empire Hotel. We are very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and must have been a far cry from when you stayed with us last October, how was your stay then?

The conditions of your guest room are very surprising, we will have some one check room 722 immediately, kindly confirm by emailing us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com that this was your assigned room. We will be starting a full guest room renovation in the coming months that will freshen up the hotel overall and specifically the guest room experience.

We do have three service calls they were placed by someone in your room, during the time that you occupied it.

1) Towels requested on 05.10.14 which were delivered in 6 minutes
2) Cream and Sugar requested on 05.10.14 which were delivered in 22 minutes
3) Sewing kit requested on 05.12.14 which was delivered in 12 minutes

We did not have any calls from you for a replacement iron.

We thank you for your feedback and do hope that The Empire remains among your consideration when planning a return trip to New York City.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#180 of 469 in New York City
5,330 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#307 of 469 in New York City
1,113 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#391 of 469 in New York City
6,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#355 of 469 in New York City
4,379 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#67 of 469 in New York City
3,636 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 469 in New York City
3,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £126 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. Fun fact, The Empire Hotel was featured in Gossip Girl. Join us for a Chuck Bass cocktail in the Lobby Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing