We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you need to be near Lincoln Center”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #341 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good if you need to be near Lincoln Center”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night because we needed to attend graduation at Lincoln Center. The hotel was fine but I'm not sure why it was 4 star. The bathroom was redone but the shower floor was kind of old and gross. The bar in the closet was so high you need a step ladder to reach it. The charge for coffee on the room was $3 but the cream is powder. Yuk. I would say stay there if you can book a premiere room under 300.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyislander3817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hello Happyislander3817,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel, and we are glad that you for the most part, enjoyed your stay. We would like to hear more about the gross bathroom floor; would you be so kind to email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com?

We feel strongly that there are many reasons to stay at The Empire Hotel, than simply our location. We have excellent restaurants and bars, great service and stylish, clean and comfortable guest rooms.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide an experience that aligns with what you believe to be a four-star stay.

Thank you and all the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,921
    1,847
    1,204
    667
    468
See reviews for
1,462
1,943
372
1,079
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (997)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We pulled in front of The Empire Hotel after a long drive from Buffalo,NY. The bellman helped us immediately with our luggage, valet parked the car, and had us checked in and up to our room in 5 minutes. With 4 children in our party, the family restaurants nearby, the proximity of Central Park, and the Rooftop Pool and Deck were all pluses! Most importantly: on a busy holiday weekend (Memorial Day) our room was blissfully quiet. We would recommend this hotel highly!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hello Zcakes,

Thank you for sharing your perfect experience with us! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel so much and the surrounding areas. With all of the great restaurants in the hotel and the immediate area, and with Central Park one block away, there really isn't much reason to travel far from the hotel!

We hope and trust you had a safe drive home back to Buffalo and look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire Hotel, in the near future. If there is anything we can assist with, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com

Thanks again and all the best!

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights, and the housekeeping was horrible. They never changed the linens, nor did we have clean towels, hand towels, and for the last couple of days there they did not even give us wash cloths. We did not have hot water for showers 3 out of the 5 days and the bathrooms are so small you really can't even turn around in them. We come to NY twice a year and have for about 5 years and this is by far the worst hotel we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hello Kim C,

Please accept our sincere apology for what turned out to be a very unfortunate experience for you. What you describe in your review is the polar opposite from what our standards are and what the vast majority of our guests have a great experience with us. It is a basic fundamental to provide fresh towels and linen on a daily basis and there is no excuse as to why this was not provided to you.

The Empire Hotel is over 125 years old and back in the late 1800's, size of bathroom was not a priority, much like it is today. This being said, we designed the bathrooms as best as possible with the real estate available and not affecting the size of the bedroom.

Sorry to hear that you will not be returning to The Empire Hotel. In the event your decision changes, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com and we'd be happy to ensure your next experience is much different.

All the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here with several friends on a girls weekend getaway. Hotel was recommended to us by someone who had stayed there on a few occasions. Very good location - Central Park across the street and Lincoln Center on other side of building. Easy access to subway. Walkable distance to shops, restaurants. Rooftop bar might be nice in summer but in April it was just a loud living episode of Jersey Shore...on second thought it probaly doesn't get any better in summer - just less clothes...as if that is even possible based on what I saw parading through the lobby every night! The laughable thing is one of my friends was refused entry to the bar because she had flip flop style shoes on - they were not rubber flops but they did have a toe thong, but doorman was insistent. Meanwhile other girls were being let in with half their anatomy hanging out of their dresses. Go figure. Our room was on the 8th floor and all you could hear until the wee hours was heavy base coming from the rooftop lounge. Glad I travel with earplugs. I did love our room though - 1 bedroom suite was great for sharing although the sleeping sofa was sorta brutal. No idea how my friend slept on it. Price is comparable with other similar style properties - not outrageous, but not budget friendly either. Next trip I would rather save my coin for shopping, going to theatre and dining so will look for something cheaper. Having a hotel with a nightclub just isn't my scene anymore! Oh and the elevators will drive you insane!! It's like they built a modern hotel around 1920's vintage elevators. Soooo slow and always one not working. Wifi in room sucked - never worked. Had to go to lobby to use it every time.

Room Tip: Travel with earplugs if you're a light sleeper. It's not a highrise hotel so I think anythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weeder34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hello Weeder34,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel. Hopefully you are your friends had a great experience in New York City. We are however, sorry that your experience failed to exceed your expectations.

Thank you for the extensive feedback about your perceptions of The Rooftop, we have little control over the type of crowd that expresses interest in spending the evening there. I cannot speak specifically to the interaction your friend had with the Security, but I can say that incident is isolated and is not the manner in which we handle the entry of our valued hotel guests. Guests are given priority access and I do apologize this was not the case with your party.

We are in the middle of a complete elevator overhaul and they are all getting replaced. The reason for extended delays is one of them is out of service until further notice and this will continue until the project is completed.

The Wi-Fi on the guest floors and in the guest rooms is commonly known to be very strong, sorry that you did not benefit from this and were forced to obtain a connection in the lobby.

if you do have any other feedback that we could learn from, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

Thank you and all the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Empire hotel is definitely my favorite place to stay in NYC. The location is fabulous and the staff is very helpful! I love the decor and the rooms are great. I also love that there is a Starbucks right at on the corner. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissWorldTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hello MissWorldTravel,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of The Empire Hotel! Our ultimate goal is for all staff members to be incredibly helpful and we're thrilled that you experienced this! Great to hear as well that you appreciated the design and decor of our very unique guest rooms.

We as well look forward to your return visit to The Empire Hotel. If there is anything we can assist with, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com as we'd be glad to assist!

All the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Verdes Peninsula
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Can't reach the shower head that is 7 feet above the tub; tub had no shower curtain or sliding door; water got the floor wet. wi-fi didn't work i the room - there was an additional charge for that. The employees were excellent - they shoul dget jobs at hotels that would appreciate them more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hello Maureen S,

Thank you for your recent stay with us here at The Empire Hotel. Your comments about what you perceive as design flaws, are appreciated. We do have very strong signals on our guest floors and in our guest rooms, sorry that you had challenges connecting, but there have been no recent outages in the hotel.

We do appreciate each and every associate here at The Empire Hotel. We would like to learn more from your comments that we do not appreciate them and what gives you this impression. Please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com with some further details.

We do hope that The Empire Hotel is among your consideration when planning your next trip to New York and we are confident that your next visit with us will be much improved.

All the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband really liked this hotel,was so close to everything:Times Square and Central Park,etc.The room Yes was small but we didn't stay in our room too much,we were there to visit not to sit in there.It was clean and modern.The staff was very friendly just the check in took a while because they were busy.We left our luggages in their storage room because we got there before 3,so that was really nice;we didn't have to walk with them everywhere.Nice hotel!!Enjoyed our stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EmiliaGlavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#172 of 466 in New York City
5,098 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#352 of 466 in New York City
4,295 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#388 of 466 in New York City
6,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#223 of 466 in New York City
3,651 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#67 of 466 in New York City
3,549 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#126 of 466 in New York City
5,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Property: Empire Hotel
Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #341 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. Fun fact, The Empire Hotel was featured in Gossip Girl. Join us for a Chuck Bass cocktail in the Lobby Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing