We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing first experience in NYC!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #315 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Amazing first experience in NYC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

The empire hotel was very picturesque, did not feel like any other chain hotel! The location is perfect-- right in beautiful manhattan and only a 5 minute walk from magical Central Park. From the moment we arrived, the staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. We spent most of our weekend days hanging by the gorgeous rooftop pool and got to meet Gabriel & Joe (2 of the managers) Gabriel & Joe gave us great recommendations on the hotspots and restaurants to go to and went above and beyond to ensure we had a great experience at the Empire. They are the reasons every time we come back to New York, the empire will always have our business :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurenalexisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hello Laurenalexisb,

We were thrilled to hear and read about your perfect experience with us recently! Sounds as though Gabe and Joe played a significant role in contributing to your stay and we're glad they had such a positive impact.

The Pool Deck certainly is a great feature of the The Empire Hotel and we invite you back anytime to enjoy more cocktails or simply enjoy the sun!

We do look forward to your return visit to The Empire Hotel and please do not hesitate to email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com if we can assist in anyway leading up to your next visit.

All the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,780
    1,714
    1,103
    592
    378
See reviews for
1,277
1,799
338
980
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (953)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Setauket
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

The location was great and the hotel pleasant. I was given worng information about the timing of breakfast despite asking twice, and this led me to miss out on having breakfast which was included in the price. Paying for coffee in the room in a hotel of this expense is ridiculous.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hello Judith C,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback on our Trip Advisor page.

We are very sorry that you were given inaccurate information on a couple of occasions. The breakfast times have not changed here in quite some time, so it is rather concerning that this happened. I do hope and trust that you being billed for services not rendered was resolved; if it wasn't to your full satisfaction, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

We are hopeful that we'll see you back at The Empire Hotel for a return visit and are confident that your next experience will be much better.

All the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The service we got from the front desk was excellent and so personal. They gave amazing recommendations for restaurants and sites to see. The home decor on the room was great, it didn't feel like another chain hotel room and the view was great! The rooftop pool is very relaxing and the bar service was fantastic. Lastly the rooftop lounge is the hottest place to be in the evenings, good music, great vibes, good people, and great for spotting celebs.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomek04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello Tomek04,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for taking the time to write such a kind review about the staff and your overall experience.

We are thrilled that you took the time to enjoy The Rooftop Bar as well as The Pool Deck. Although very different vibes and ambiance, both are thoroughly enjoyable and great to enjoy a cocktail or two.

We do hope and trust that we'll receive the privilege to welcome you back to The Empire Hotel. If there is anything we can assist with, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

Thanks again and all the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

My two best friends and I were visiting from Chicago and we decided we would stay at the world-known "Chuck Bass" hotel. To our surprise, it was so much more than that. On our first day there, we met two of the best/most friendly/most accomidating staff members. I think if i remember correctly, there names were "Joey and Gabriel" They were the main reason why I would come back to this hotel in the future. They showed the best customer service imaginable and made me really feel the New York welcome. I highly reccomend eating/staying/visiting the Empire Hotel...don't forget to ask for Joey and Gabriel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My sister and I stayed for 5 nights. Our 1st time in the USA and we were so impressed with the hotel. Double double room was lovely. Was worried it may be tiny judging from some reviews, but we weren't disappointed. City view, plenty of space, huge tv, comfy, clean beds, clean bathroom.
Obviously the minibar and tray of provisions are well overpriced, as they are in all hotels. Tons of shops within one block so no need to touch the room supplies.
The reception, housekeeping and door staff were very helpful and polite.
The location is amazing! 2 min walk to Central Park, Lincoln Centre or the subway. Lots of fab local shops! A few stops away from Times Square on subway.
Rooftop pool is small but the rest of the seating/bar area is fabulous with great views!
I read a lot of reviews about problems with the lifts/elevators. (Long waits and only 2 lifts) Absolutely untrue! 6 lifts all working and very fast! Never waited more than a min or 2.
The decor is calming after the hustle and bustle of the city and the lobby/bar area is very
classy and comfortable.
One small thing is why they charge for wifi when a lot of similarly priced hotels give it for free. I questioned them on this and they were very helpful and offered free wifi on my next visit. We emailed a couple of questions before we arrived and they responded straight away with lots of info.
Overall, a wonderful stay and we would most definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SaraLM444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello SaraLM444,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel. We feel privileged that you chose us for your first trip to the United States!

Your comments about your assigned guest room are most appreciated, often the many features that our guest rooms offer are taken for granted and we're pleased that this was not the case with you. Our location, pool deck and the efficiency of our elevators are just a few of the many great benefits of staying at The Empire Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your 2nd trip to the United States. If there is anything we can assist with in the meantime, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

Thank you and all the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Please see note on Keurig use. Shocked that we did not get one free cup of coffee like majority of hotels. And when cup was placed in machine it did not work and we paid $3.00. What are your thoughts?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pamela K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello Pamela K R,

Thank you for choosing The Empire Hotel for your recent business trip to New York. In addition, we appreciate you taking the time to share your very good experience with us, on our Trip Advisor page!

My thoughts are that no one should be charged for anything that is not used or consumed, that has a charge associated with it. I do see that you were initially charged for the coffee, but it was credited to your card, on 06.04.14. My apology is extended for this oversight and the Honor Bar Attendant should have recognized the defective coffeee machine. If you have any further concerns, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

We look forward to welcoming you back and regaining your loyalty and stay frequency from 2011!!!

All the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great location, comfortable and inviting. However, if you are a light sleeper, make sure you stay on mid level floors, since there is a really nice and popular bar on the top floor that is busy. Loved the Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello Deborah B,

Thank you for sharing your recent PERFECT experience with us! The Rooftop Bar can get rather busy on the weekends and we do our best to keep the noise levels to a minimum, in the best interest of all other guests not attending this venue.

We appreciate your generous comments about our location, level of comfort and your experience in The Rooftop bar. We are confident that a return visit from you is highly likely and if there is anything we can assist with, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

Thanks again and all the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#182 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#383 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,698 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#59 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
Midtown
The Roosevelt Hotel
The Roosevelt Hotel
#371 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Property: Empire Hotel
Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing