We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and roof top bar”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #339 of 467 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location and roof top bar”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Location and roof top bar are the great points about this hotel. It does require a make over in particular the elevators which are very slow but I hear they are dealing with this. The pool deck which is for guests only has a great view, the pool is small but to be expected as it was obviously installed after the hotel was built. My pet hat however is the 20% service charge added and the the bill saying gratuity ......... Rather than additional gratuity.......... I do think all locations should be banned from doing this as I for one after a few beers forget to double check. Good hotel other than that.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndrewF78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello AndrewF78,

Thanks so much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for your sharing your experience on our Trip Advisor page.

You're absolutely right, we are in the middle of a complete elevator replacement, so this occasionally can impact the efficiency of the operating cars and ultimately, the guests waiting. We do our best to minimize this impact, especially during peak demand times.

Thank you for your kind words about The Empire Rooftop as well as our Pool Deck. These two venues certainly are unique to a New York hotel experience and we're glad you enjoyed yourself.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire Hotel in the future. If there is anything we can assist with, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

Thanks again and all the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,919
    1,847
    1,199
    664
    464
See reviews for
1,452
1,942
371
1,079
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (997)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, great staff especially pasquelle. The guys at reception were always on hand to answer any questions or any advice on trips etc. very nice bar in the lobby. Only a short walk to Central Park. My only negative was the noise of the air con in my room but it didn't effect my sleep too much.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for sharing your experience on our Trip Advisor page. We are thrilled that Pasquale managed to exceed your expectations, along with his team mates at the Front Desk.

We are glad that you enjoyed the Lobby Bar as well; for those who prefer music that isn't as loud and/or the strong sun on our Pool Deck, the Lobby Bar is a great option.

Sorry to hear about your loud climate control unit, but we are happy to hear it did not disturb you too much. We do hope and trust that The Empire Hotel receives the privilege of welcoming you back in the near future. If there is anything we can assist with, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

All the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Answer phones!!!!!!!! speed up elevators or make them all work !!!!!!
If someone ask for upgrade and is willing to PAY for the upgrade why not offer that ?? I stay at your hotel cause i enjoy being across from lincoln center. My son is a soloist with American Ballet theater and from june they perform at the met for 8 weeks !!!!!! so i do come in different times with in that 8 week time frame to see him dance ! i have people come back that i like to entertain at your hotel , but not having any sitting area to speak of it was hard so 1 night i had to entertain in lobby rather then ordering up to the room .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello Howard S,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Empire and for your continued loyalty to us. We are very sorry that you experienced a few service challenges during your last visit.

We are in the middle of a complete elevator replacement and they are being overhauled one at a time. With this ongoing project, there are occasional times where testing is involved and this can temporarily impact the efficiency of the other three elevators. We do apologize about this and do thank you for your feedback.

We look forward to your next stay with us and encourage you to email us the next time you're planning your trip to NYC. We can be reached at gm@empriehotelnyc.com and will ensure that your next stay is much improved over your last.

Thanks again and all the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

As I mentioned on the previous page the only issue I have to mention is the overwhelming humidity in bathrooms! True there is a confined but there is no ventilation whatsoever! There is no shower door and the floor gets wet. No ceiling fans anywhere to help with the steam and humidity. The cloths on hangers get dumped. Sad to mention these issues when the rest of the service was excellent!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Felicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello Felicia T,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing your experience on our Trip Advisor page. We are very sorry about the lack of ventilation in the bathrooms. We are aware of this challenge and unfortunately when this building was erected over 100 years ago, ventilation was not a priority.

We are thrilled to hear that other than the ventilation, everything else was great! We strive to provide impeccable service to all guests, and are happy that this came to fruition with yourself.

We look forward to your next stay with us and invite you to email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com if there is anything we can assist with.

Thanks again and all the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Empire is at a perfect location. It is easy to get a cab. The doormen are extremely helpful as are all staff. There is an excellent dining room and lobby bar. Being away from the hectic activity of Times Square and the ease of getting a taxi or driver makes the Empire feel like home in NYC.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello Janis T,

Thanks so much for your recent stay with us and for having such kind words to share about your experience, on our Trip Advisor page.

Thank you as well for specifically mentioning the Doormen, Ed's Chowder House and the Lobby Bar. These three areas are great features of the hotel, especially from a service perspective. We as well think we have a great location, being away from the hectic Times Square, but also within walking distance if and when the desire surfaces to visit. We are in the immediate vicinity of Lincoln Center, Columbus Circle and Central Park which all happen to be more relaxing choices!

We do hope that The Empire Hotel becomes your home away from home. If we can assist with anything when planning your next trip to NYC, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com

Thanks again and all the best!

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We needed to be close to Lincoln Center and this hotel couldn't get any closer. The location was great. The movie theater is near by, Central Park and great restaurants. Our room was a superior room which was very quiet. We asked for a quiet room. The bar was good and the service also. Would recommend this hotel and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for superior room it is worth it and high floor and a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAXbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello LAXbuzz,

Thank you so much for choosing The Empire Hotel and we're glad to hear and see that you had a very good experience with us. Quiet, comfort and civility are great characteristics of a hotel stay and we're glad that this was the case with your visit.

The location of The Empire Hotel cannot be beat if you enjoy the arts at Lincoln Center, the serene Central Park or the swanky Shops at Columbus Circle.

We do hope and trust a return visit to New York and The Empire Hotel is in your deck of cards and should you need any assistance with reservations, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

Thanks again and all the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Good service and friendly people. Would go back for another stay. Close to a lot of attractions and nightlife. Good price for the rooms. Would recommend to friends and book another trip for the future.






  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello Christopher C,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for taking the time to share your great experience on our Trip Advisor page!

We do offer many options for guest entertainment; whether it be the Lobby Bar, Pool Deck, Rooftop Night Club and/or Ed's Chowder House! Simply put, there is not much reason to leave the hotel, but we well know what this great city has to offer, right outside our doors!

We do look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire Hotel in the future. Should you need any assistance, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com, as we would be glad to assist.

Thanks again and all the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 467 in New York City
5,085 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#390 of 467 in New York City
6,312 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#353 of 467 in New York City
4,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#223 of 467 in New York City
3,646 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#67 of 467 in New York City
3,544 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#129 of 467 in New York City
5,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Property: Empire Hotel
Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. Fun fact, The Empire Hotel was featured in Gossip Girl. Join us for a Chuck Bass cocktail in the Lobby Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing