We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC Wedding”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #345 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great location, beautiful period building next to the Lincoln Ctr.
Our booking agent arranged a Queen size room, ordinarily this would have been great but with getting married in the city and the need to prepare at the hotel the room was a little small and dark. The staff responded to our need by moving us to a bigger brighter room. Just perfect :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thepog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hello Thepog,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials! The Empire Hotel was thrilled and privileged to be part of your life-changing and incredibly special occasion! The least we could have done is upgraded your room to give you more space!

Thank you for choosing The Empire Hotel to host you and we truly hope that you schedule a return visit for your 1st anniversary! We would be happy to welcome you back and invite you to email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com if you need any assistance. We'll strive to make your return experience as special as your initial experience!

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,489 - 3,495 of 6,330 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

The room was small and very dark, the internet was slow, TV remote was missing, bathroom wasn't totally clean, each day it seemed as if a different elevator was broken, the door men were less than friendly (barely said hello) and at checkout they weren't able to give me a copy of the bill (which I needed to submit since it was a business trip...). I was here on business and it was a very convenient location for meetings and overall the stay was fine but I wouldn't recommend staying here if you can find an alternative.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hello M D,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel. We sorry to see / hear that your stay managed to fall below your expectations. Depending on which category of room that you booked, we can understand why you felt it was on the small side. Lighting in the guest rooms was strategically designed and provides the desired level of ambiance.

We are renovating our elevators currently, which is why the same elevator was out of service during your stay. While I can appreciate your concern about elevator efficiency, by no means was a different elevator broken each day.

Sorry about your unfriendly perception with the Door Attendants. This is certainly contrary to what we typically hear through our feedback channels, but we do appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

We are confident that if you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations, we will achieve this. Please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com and we'd be pleased to take good care of you.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Came into NYC for a conference. Empire hotel was a pleasant surprise- right next to the Lincoln Center, easy access to transportation. Enjoyed my stay and likely to return to this hotel on subsequent trips to NYC.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Russel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hello Russell B,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for your brief, precise and positive review on our Trip Advisor page!

Our location to many major attractions is 2nd to none and we are incredibly accessible to the city's transit system, allowing all guests to get anywhere in the city in a very brief amount of time.

We look forward to welcoming you back and invite you to email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com if there is anything we can assist with leading up to your next stay. In addition, we kindly request that you recommend us to your friends and family, as a great place to stay!

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel is awesome !! The location is very convenient , the front desk staff very helpful and the lobby is very nice (traditional New York) the junior suite is very very spacious overlooking broadway and the beds are very comfortable and the pool lounge is nice with magnificent views of NY The only major complain was that they use plastic cups on the pool deck which looks very cheap .
The Kallini family

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karimelkallini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hello Karimelkallini,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for sharing your experience on our Trip Advisor page! We agree that the location of the hotel is perfect and good for you for upgrading to a Junior Suite category; as you know these rooms are on the corners of the building and provide great additional square footage, for a nominal per night extra fee.

It's great that you enjoyed the pool deck. Safety first when it comes to the serving beverages on the pool deck. We simply cannot have glass breaking around a pool and people walking around in bare feet. Also, in the unlikely event that cup went over the edge of the building, no one will get injured on street level.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Empire Hotel! Please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com and we'll be sure to provide the same and hopefully better experience than last time.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The quality of the room was less than standard. Cold showers and poor room service. Upon arrival, the room was not ready. A call was promised when available. I arrived prior to my business partner, but her room was prepared and she was notified before I was.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ViraGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hello ViraGirl,

We do apologize that you left the property in an "unhappy" state. This is far from our goal and we prefer to address any and all guest concerns while they are still with us, so guests leave in a happy state.

Our standard check in time is 3:00 pm and if and when guests arrive prior to 3:00 pm, we can preregister guests and contact them when their assigned room is available. In all likelihood, your rooms were in different sections of the hotel and different room attendants servicing the rooms. All of them work at varying paces.

We would like to understand further what you are specifically referencing about the "quality" of the room. Please email us at your convenience at gm@empirehotelnyc.com, so we can understand where we need to improve.

Thank you.

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My late April stay at the Empire in NYC was my first visit to this famous hotel. The staff was exceedingly professional and courteous, and my stay was made most memorable by Nicole Agnello who personally organized my reservation and made herself available to greet me upon my arrival. The location is unbeatable, adjacent to the Lincoln Center and two blocks from Columbus Circle Central Park South. My corner room was clean, spacious, elegant and richly appointed. The hotel graciously complimented me with a fruit, cheese and wine basket greeting me upon arrival. The rooftop bar is unique and enjoyable. I can't wait to return and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for sumptuous accommodations conveniently located in Mid-Town

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hello Thomas B,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community.

So great of you to recognize the staff and specifically Nicole and how they exceeded your expectations. Our location, we agree, is a gem, and we are thrilled that you took full advantage of it's convenience and accessibility.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire Hotel in the near future. I'm sure you'll be reaching out to Nicole directly, but we are also available at gm@empirehotelnyc.com, if you need any assistance.

Thanks again and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed at The Empire Hotel for a weekend with two girlfriends and we had the best time. It was my first time in NYC and I loved it. The hotel was absolutely perfect, the room had a great view and it was clean and spacious and the beds were so comfy. Location was also a plus! All three of us loved the atmosphere inside the hotel and people at the front desk were very helpful and kind. I will definitely book at The Empire again on my next visit to NYC.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LaurySZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Hello LaurySZ,

Thank you very much for including The Empire Hotel in your girls weekend in New York City! We appreciate you labeling the hotel as "perfect" and are thrilled that you enjoyed the service, location and atmosphere of the hotel.

We kindly ask for your recommendations to your family, friends and colleagues to come and stay at The Empire Hotel and we do look forward to your next stay with us. If you have any other feedback that you'd like to share or need assistance with future reservations, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

Thanks again and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#125 of 471 in New York City
5,564 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#275 of 471 in New York City
5,009 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#356 of 471 in New York City
4,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#395 of 471 in New York City
6,890 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#186 of 471 in New York City
5,672 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#203 of 471 in New York City
4,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £81 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. Fun fact, The Empire Hotel was featured in Gossip Girl. Join us for a Chuck Bass cocktail in the Lobby Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing