We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #347 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Not in a good way. Elevators rarely worked. Housekeeping continuously tried to enter room around 8 am every morning not to clean room but to see what they could charge for items available in the room. Staff was not courteous. Location is only thing going for this place

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank nlwithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello nlwithers,

Sorry to hear that your stay with The Empire Hotel fell below your expectations. We are in the process of fully renovating and replacing our elevators which is why you would have experienced periodic extended wait times, during high demand times of the day.

We do provide "Do Not Disturb" and "Please Make Up Room" signs in all guest rooms for convenience and privacy. We encourage all guests to use these signs each day so we do not cause any inconvenience to their day.

We would appreciate learning more about our staff not being courteous. If you would be so kind to email some specific details to gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

Thank you and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,405 - 3,411 of 6,325 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

I was in the city to tour colleges with my daughter and we came in exhausted from an early flight. Due to circumstances beyond our control there was in issue with my credit card that made checking in difficult. Pasquiale at the front desk worked with me until the issue was resolved. He held our room and we checked in without any additional problems. He was courteous and professional and never made me feel uncomfortable about the cc problems. Our 3 night stay was wonderful and Pasquiale and the entire staff at the Empire was without doubt the best service I have ever had at any hotel in NYC. Thank you Pasquiale & Empire staff!!! See you again soon!

Room Tip: Standard double bed average size for NYC room, but the upgrade charge for larger is very reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Renee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello Renee K,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for sharing your perfect experience with the Trip Advisor community!

It is clear that Pasquale made the difference with your stay and we understand how frustrating it can be with challenging credit card situations. Us being sensitive and as helpful as possible is critical and we're thrilled that Pasquale delivered this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire Hotel and kindly ask for your referrals to family, friends and colleagues. If there is any assistance we can provide, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

Thanks again and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Location and hotel are beautiful. One block northwest of Central Park.
Out of hustle and bustle, but steps away from everything.
Beautiful rooms and very nice, caring staff.
We visited this hotel as part of my daughters gossip girl tour and fell in love with it and moved from our room at the ROW NYC that day. Will stay here on our next visit.
Thank you Julie and Piasquiacle.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank can8v2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello can8v2014,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and we're thrilled that we were able to steal you from one of properties we compete against!

We strive to provide great service and to hear that Pasquale and Julia were the main contributors to this effort, is so nice to hear.

If we could request your recommendations to your family, friends and colleagues, this would be most appreciated. If you need any assistance with future reservations at The Empire Hotel, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

Thanks again and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very nice hotel and people and well located, I'll probably come back soon ! We had a problem concerning the beds, they've changed our room as soon as one was available with no extra fee, very satisfying !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pierre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello Pierre G,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for letting the Trip Advisor community know how much you enjoyed your stay!

It's always nice to get feedback about great service, great location and great hotel. It's just as rewarding when things don't go quite right, and we're able to resolve the situation immediately and maintain high levels of satisfaction.

We do look forward to welcoming you back and would appreciate any and all recommendations to your family, friends and colleagues. If there is any assistance we can provide, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

A wonderful hotel with an amazing location next to Central Park. The staff are very friendly and the hotel has everything you need. View and pool from the 11th floor was incredible along with the cocktails

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank adamwilson2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello adamwilson2312

Thank you so much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience on our Trip Advisor page!

We are truly thrilled that we exceeded your expectations in all areas of the hotel. Friendly and efficient service is critical to a providing a perfect stay, and we're glad we delivered this. The hotel has many features to ensure all guest stays are complete, including several restaurants and bars to choose from.

We thank you in advance for recommending The Empire Hotel to your family, friends and colleagues. We also look forward to welcoming you back and invite you to email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com, if there is anything we can assist with.

Thanks again and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We came to NYC to visit colleges and the Empire Hotel was centrally located for our visits. Staff and facility were great. Lobby is very fun and uniquely decorated. Room was nice and very clean - not huge but very comfortable (remember, you're in NYC where space is at a premium) Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others!


  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MichDon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello MichDon5,

Thanks so much for choosing The Empire Hotel and for sharing your great experience with the Trip Advisor community.

From our service levels to the style / design and cleanliness, we strive to exceed the expectations of all guests and we're thrilled this came to fruition with you and your family. Thank you in advance for your recommendations to your family and friends.

We look forward to welcoming you back and your family and friends for the first time. If there is anything we can assist with, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

Thanks again and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I cannot believe I have never heard of this gem. A perfect location. Pasquale at the front desk was more than friendly and accommodating. We will be back!**********************************************

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeannie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello Jeannie B,

Thanks so much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience on our Trip Advisor page!

We cannot believe you hadn't heard of us either! In many ways, The Empire Hotel is legendary here in Manhattan, with its existence spanning over 100 years! We are thrilled that you loved the location and service levels, specifically the service delivery from Pasquale!

We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you in advance for recommending us to your family, friends and colleagues! If there is anything we can assist with for your future stay, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#126 of 471 in New York City
5,557 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#275 of 471 in New York City
5,004 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#395 of 471 in New York City
6,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#187 of 471 in New York City
5,669 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#356 of 471 in New York City
4,500 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#59 of 471 in New York City
3,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £79 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. Fun fact, The Empire Hotel was featured in Gossip Girl. Join us for a Chuck Bass cocktail in the Lobby Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing