We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,969)
Filter reviews
6,969 results
Traveller rating
2,198
2,077
1,360
769
565
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,198
2,077
1,360
769
565
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lincoln center ed's chowder house gossip girl pool deck central park columbus circle great location rooftop bar new york upper west side junior suite rooms are small around the corner times square few blocks nyc starbucks
Filter
Updating list...
3,983 - 3,988 of 6,969 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Not in a good way. Elevators rarely worked. Housekeeping continuously tried to enter room around 8 am every morning not to clean room but to see what they could charge for items available in the room. Staff was not courteous. Location is only thing going for this place

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank nlwithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello nlwithers,

Sorry to hear that your stay with The Empire Hotel fell below your expectations. We are in the process of fully renovating and replacing our elevators which is why you would have experienced periodic extended wait times, during high demand times of the day.

We do provide "Do Not Disturb" and "Please Make Up Room" signs in all guest rooms for convenience and privacy. We encourage all guests to use these signs each day so we do not cause any inconvenience to their day.

We would appreciate learning more about our staff not being courteous. If you would be so kind to email some specific details to gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

Thank you and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I was in the city to tour colleges with my daughter and we came in exhausted from an early flight. Due to circumstances beyond our control there was in issue with my credit card that made checking in difficult. Pasquiale at the front desk worked with me until the issue was resolved. He held our room and we checked in without any additional problems. He was courteous and professional and never made me feel uncomfortable about the cc problems. Our 3 night stay was wonderful and Pasquiale and the entire staff at the Empire was without doubt the best service I have ever had at any hotel in NYC. Thank you Pasquiale & Empire staff!!! See you again soon!

Room Tip: Standard double bed average size for NYC room, but the upgrade charge for larger is very reasonable.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Renee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello Renee K,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for sharing your perfect experience with the Trip Advisor community!

It is clear that Pasquale made the difference with your stay and we understand how frustrating it can be with challenging credit card situations. Us being sensitive and as helpful as possible is critical and we're thrilled that Pasquale delivered this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire Hotel and kindly ask for your referrals to family, friends and colleagues. If there is any assistance we can provide, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

Thanks again and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Location and hotel are beautiful. One block northwest of Central Park.
Out of hustle and bustle, but steps away from everything.
Beautiful rooms and very nice, caring staff.
We visited this hotel as part of my daughters gossip girl tour and fell in love with it and moved from our room at the ROW NYC that day. Will stay here on our next visit.
Thank you Julie and Piasquiacle.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank can8v2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello can8v2014,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and we're thrilled that we were able to steal you from one of properties we compete against!

We strive to provide great service and to hear that Pasquale and Julia were the main contributors to this effort, is so nice to hear.

If we could request your recommendations to your family, friends and colleagues, this would be most appreciated. If you need any assistance with future reservations at The Empire Hotel, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

Thanks again and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very nice hotel and people and well located, I'll probably come back soon ! We had a problem concerning the beds, they've changed our room as soon as one was available with no extra fee, very satisfying !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pierre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello Pierre G,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for letting the Trip Advisor community know how much you enjoyed your stay!

It's always nice to get feedback about great service, great location and great hotel. It's just as rewarding when things don't go quite right, and we're able to resolve the situation immediately and maintain high levels of satisfaction.

We do look forward to welcoming you back and would appreciate any and all recommendations to your family, friends and colleagues. If there is any assistance we can provide, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

A wonderful hotel with an amazing location next to Central Park. The staff are very friendly and the hotel has everything you need. View and pool from the 11th floor was incredible along with the cocktails

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank adamwilson2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello adamwilson2312

Thank you so much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience on our Trip Advisor page!

We are truly thrilled that we exceeded your expectations in all areas of the hotel. Friendly and efficient service is critical to a providing a perfect stay, and we're glad we delivered this. The hotel has many features to ensure all guest stays are complete, including several restaurants and bars to choose from.

We thank you in advance for recommending The Empire Hotel to your family, friends and colleagues. We also look forward to welcoming you back and invite you to email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com, if there is anything we can assist with.

Thanks again and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews